Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Neiafu, Vava'u, Tonga, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Nov 13, 2022 04:27 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 8
  • 2 quakes between magnitude 7 and 8
  • 43 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 733 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
Since 1900, Neiafu has had 1 quake of magnitude 8.1, 2 quakes between 7.0 and 8.0, 43 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, and 733 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 5.0 | South Pacific Ocean, 47 km N of Neiafu, Vava'u, Tonga -

Strongest quake: Mag. 8.1 | 158 km E of Neiafu, Vava'u, Tonga -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
8.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
8.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 5 or higher (779 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Nov 30, 2022 1:58 am (GMT +13) (Nov 29, 2022 12:58 GMT)
5.0

138 km
32 km (20 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 47 km north of Neiafu, Vava'u, Tonga
I FELT IT
More
Oct 21, 2022 10:18 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 21, 2022 09:18 GMT)
5.2

151 km
46 km (29 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 40 km southwest of Bangai, Pangai, Ha‘apai, Tonga More
Oct 15, 2022 3:41 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2022 02:41 GMT)
5.2

10 km
205 km (127 mi)South Pacific Ocean, Tonga More
Jul 27, 2022 10:36 pm (GMT +13) (Jul 27, 2022 09:36 GMT)
5.6

10 km
70 km (43 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 16 km southeast of Neiafu, Vava'u, Tonga 2 reportsMore
Jul 16, 2022 4:25 pm (GMT +13) (Jul 16, 2022 03:25 GMT)
5.3

10 km
162 km (101 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 165 km northeast of Neiafu, Vava'u, Tonga More
Jun 6, 2022 4:47 pm (GMT +13) (Jun 6, 2022 03:47 GMT)
5.0

10 km
145 km (90 mi)South Pacific Ocean, Tonga More
Jun 5, 2022 2:07 am (GMT +13) (Jun 4, 2022 13:07 GMT)
6.3

237 km
68 km (42 mi)South Pacific Ocean, Tonga 4 reportsMore
May 29, 2022 4:32 am (GMT +13) (May 28, 2022 15:32 GMT)
5.7

10 km
203 km (126 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 247 km northeast of Nukalofa, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu More
May 26, 2022 12:41 pm (GMT +13) (May 25, 2022 23:41 GMT)
5.0

10 km
20 km (12 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 99 km northwest of Neiafu, Vava'u, Tonga More
May 4, 2022 10:42 am (GMT +13) (May 3, 2022 21:42 GMT)
5.0

10 km
198 km (123 mi)South Pacific Ocean, Tonga More
May 2, 2022 9:10 am (GMT +13) (May 1, 2022 20:10 GMT)
5.2

10 km
164 km (102 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 92 km east of Bangai, Pangai, Ha‘apai, Tonga More
Apr 21, 2022 4:16 am (GMT +13) (Apr 20, 2022 15:16 GMT)
5.1

10 km
182 km (113 mi)South Pacific Ocean, Tonga More
Mar 2, 2022 11:14 pm (GMT +13) (Mar 2, 2022 10:14 GMT)
5.0

35 km
83 km (52 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 53 km northeast of Neiafu, Vava'u, Tonga More
Jan 3, 2022 3:17 am (GMT +13) (Jan 2, 2022 14:17 GMT)
5.0

44 km
12 km (7.5 mi)South Pacific Ocean, Tonga More
Nov 7, 2021 4:39 pm (GMT +13) (Nov 7, 2021 03:39 GMT)
5.4

80 km
178 km (111 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 89 km southeast of Neiafu, Vava'u, Tonga More
Sep 1, 2021 9:21 pm (GMT +13) (Sep 1, 2021 08:21 GMT)
5.5

10 km
54 km (34 mi)3.5 km southwest of Neiafu, Vava'u, Tonga 2 reportsMore
Aug 29, 2021 9:50 pm (GMT +13) (Aug 29, 2021 08:50 GMT)
5.1

2 km
138 km (86 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 82 km east of Neiafu, Vava'u, Tonga More
18 Jul 1:36 pm (GMT +13) (Jul 18, 2021 00:36 GMT)
5.4

197 km
45 km (28 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 205 km north of Nukalofa, Nuku'alofa, Tongatapu 2 reportsMore
16 Jul 11:02 pm (GMT +13) (Jul 16, 2021 10:02 GMT)
5.4

10 km
140 km (87 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 136 km northeast of Neiafu, Vava'u, Tonga More
14 Jul 3:08 pm (GMT +13) (Jul 14, 2021 02:08 GMT)
5.0

52 km
60 km (37 mi)South Pacific Ocean, 27 km north of Neiafu, Vava'u, Tonga More
26 May 10:36 am (GMT +13) (May 25, 2021 21:36 GMT)
5.8

202 km
66 km (41 mi)South Pacific Ocean, Tonga More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.1 x 1017 joules (31848 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 2.7 x 107 tons of TNT or 1712.7 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Folaha (Nukuhetulu) (TNG1/YC network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Folaha (Nukuhetulu): seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Neiafu Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Neiafu?

The last earthquake in Neiafu occurred 2 days ago: Moderate mag. 5.0 earthquake - South Pacific Ocean, 47 km north of Neiafu, Vava'u, Tonga, on Wednesday, Nov 30, 2022 at 1:58 am (GMT +13).

How many quakes were there in Neiafu since 1900?

Since 1900, Neiafu, Vava'u, Tonga had 779 quakes up to magnitude 8.1.

What was the strongest quake in Neiafu since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Neiafu since 1900 occurred 104 years ago: Major magnitude 8.1 earthquake - 158 km east of Neiafu, Vava'u, Tonga, on Wednesday, April 30, 1919 at 07:17 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 1, 2022 21:11 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings