Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near La Union, El Salvador, in the past 30 days - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 6, 2022 23:52 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 30 days:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 17 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 73 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 237 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 144 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 30 days, La Union was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 17 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 73 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 237 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 144 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.2 | North Pacific Ocean, El Salvador, 121 km W of Chinandega, Nicaragua -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near La Union, El Salvador (updated )

Past 24 hours2 quakes | 1 quake M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 7 days43 quakes | 21 quakes M2+ | 15 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 30 days470 quakes | 237 quakes M2+ | 73 quakes M3+ | 17 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+
Past 90 days856 quakes | 432 quakes M2+ | 190 quakes M3+ | 32 quakes M4+ | 5 quakes M5+
Past 365 days2,518 quakes | 1,329 quakes M2+ | 697 quakes M3+ | 102 quakes M4+ | 10 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 3.2 or higher (20 out of 473 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, October 6, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Oct 5, 2022 6:52 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 6, 2022 00:52 GMT)
3.2

30 km
North Pacific Ocean, 91 km southeast of San Salvador, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Monday, October 3, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Oct 3, 2022 12:36 am (GMT -6) (Oct 3, 2022 06:36 GMT)
3.3

19 km
North Pacific Ocean, 126 km south of Usulutan, El Salvador
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Oct 2, 2022 7:28 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 3, 2022 01:28 GMT)
3.4

25 km
North Pacific Ocean, 157 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
More
Sunday, October 2, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Oct 1, 2022 8:16 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 2, 2022 02:16 GMT)
3.5

34 km
North Pacific Ocean, 78 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
More
Friday, September 30, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Sep 30, 2022 12:17 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 30, 2022 18:17 GMT)
3.4

19 km
North Pacific Ocean, 156 km south of San Miguel, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Sep 30, 2022 11:32 am (GMT -6) (Sep 30, 2022 17:32 GMT)
5.2

13 km
North Pacific Ocean, El Salvador, 121 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 30, 2022 10:13 am (GMT -6) (Sep 30, 2022 16:13 GMT)
3.7

33 km
North Pacific Ocean, 96 km southeast of San Salvador, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Sep 30, 2022 7:02 am (GMT -6) (Sep 30, 2022 13:02 GMT)
3.2

13 km
North Pacific Ocean, 148 km south of San Miguel, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Sep 30, 2022 6:21 am (GMT -6) (Sep 30, 2022 12:21 GMT)
4.0

20 km
North Pacific Ocean, 112 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
More
Sep 30, 2022 6:14 am (GMT -6) (Sep 30, 2022 12:14 GMT)
3.8

31 km
North Pacific Ocean, 179 km southeast of San Salvador, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Thursday, October 6, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Oct 5, 2022 6:52 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 6, 2022 00:52 GMT)
3.2

30 km
North Pacific Ocean, 91 km southeast of San Salvador, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Monday, October 3, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Oct 3, 2022 12:36 am (GMT -6) (Oct 3, 2022 06:36 GMT)
3.3

19 km
North Pacific Ocean, 126 km south of Usulutan, El Salvador
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Oct 2, 2022 7:28 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 3, 2022 01:28 GMT)
3.4

25 km
North Pacific Ocean, 157 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
More
Sunday, October 2, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Oct 1, 2022 8:16 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 2, 2022 02:16 GMT)
3.5

34 km
North Pacific Ocean, 78 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
More
Friday, September 30, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Sep 30, 2022 12:17 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 30, 2022 18:17 GMT)
3.4

19 km
North Pacific Ocean, 156 km south of San Miguel, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Sep 30, 2022 11:32 am (GMT -6) (Sep 30, 2022 17:32 GMT)
5.2

13 km
North Pacific Ocean, El Salvador, 121 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Sep 30, 2022 10:13 am (GMT -6) (Sep 30, 2022 16:13 GMT)
3.7

33 km
North Pacific Ocean, 96 km southeast of San Salvador, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Sep 30, 2022 7:02 am (GMT -6) (Sep 30, 2022 13:02 GMT)
3.2

13 km
North Pacific Ocean, 148 km south of San Miguel, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Sep 30, 2022 6:21 am (GMT -6) (Sep 30, 2022 12:21 GMT)
4.0

20 km
North Pacific Ocean, 112 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
More
Sep 30, 2022 6:14 am (GMT -6) (Sep 30, 2022 12:14 GMT)
3.8

31 km
North Pacific Ocean, 179 km southeast of San Salvador, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.3 x 1012 joules (2.3 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1978 tons of TNT or 0.1 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Tegucigalpa, Honduras (TGUH/CU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Tegucigalpa, Honduras: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

La Union Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in La Union?

The last earthquake in La Union occurred 23 hours ago: Weak mag. 3.2 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 91 km southeast of San Salvador, El Salvador, on Wednesday, Oct 5, 2022 at 6:52 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in La Union past month?

In the past 30 days, La Union, El Salvador had 20 quakes up to magnitude 5.2.

What was the strongest quake in La Union past month?

The strongest earthquake in La Union past month occurred 6 days ago: Strong mag. 5.2 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, El Salvador, 121 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua, on Friday, Sep 30, 2022 at 11:32 am (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 6, 2022 23:52 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings