Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near La Union, El Salvador, in the past 7 days - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 6, 2022 08:20 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 7 days:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 5
  • 1 quake between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 16 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 22 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 7 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 7 days, La Union was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.2, 1 quake of magnitude 4.0, 16 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 22 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 7 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!
A weak magnitude 3.2 earthquake occurred in North Pacific Ocean, El Salvador, 7 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.8 | North Pacific Ocean, 99 km S of San Salvador, El Salvador -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.2 | North Pacific Ocean, El Salvador, 121 km W of Chinandega, Nicaragua -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near La Union, El Salvador (updated )

Past 24 hours5 quakes | 3 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+
Past 7 days46 quakes | 22 quakes M2+ | 16 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 30 days488 quakes | 247 quakes M2+ | 74 quakes M3+ | 17 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+
Past 90 days861 quakes | 435 quakes M2+ | 190 quakes M3+ | 32 quakes M4+ | 5 quakes M5+
Past 365 days2,520 quakes | 1,330 quakes M2+ | 698 quakes M3+ | 102 quakes M4+ | 10 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 4 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (51 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, October 6, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Oct 5, 2022 11:34 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 6, 2022 05:34 GMT)
2.8

21 km
49 Km Al Sur De Delta Del Rio Lempa, El Salvador More
Oct 5, 2022 6:52 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 6, 2022 00:52 GMT)
3.2

30 km
36 Km Al Sur De Delta Del Rio Lempa, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Oct 5, 2022 2:52 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 20:52 GMT)
2.9

33 km
40 Km Al Suroeste De Mechapa, Chinandega, Nicaragua More
Oct 5, 2022 5:42 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 11:42 GMT)
3.0

29 km
124 Km Al Suroeste De Mechapa, Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
More
Oct 5, 2022 2:30 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 08:30 GMT)
2.9

182 km
19 Km Al Sur De La Union, El Salvador More
Oct 5, 2022 12:49 am (GMT -6) (Oct 5, 2022 06:49 GMT)
2.0

53 km
12 Km Al Suroeste De El Transito, Nicaragua More
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Oct 4, 2022 4:58 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 4, 2022 22:58 GMT)
2.7

12 km
NEAR COAST OF NICARAGUA More
Oct 4, 2022 12:31 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 4, 2022 18:31 GMT)
1.9

6 km
13 Km Al Norte De Volcán Telica, Nicaragua More
Oct 4, 2022 7:08 am (GMT -6) (Oct 4, 2022 13:08 GMT)
2.9

25 km
83 Km Al Suroeste De Jiquilillo, Nicaragua More
Oct 4, 2022 3:03 am (GMT -6) (Oct 4, 2022 09:03 GMT)
3.0

37 km
49 Km Al Sur De Delta Del Rio Lempa, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Monday, October 3, 2022 GMT (8 quakes)
Oct 3, 2022 3:42 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 3, 2022 21:42 GMT)
2.5

89 km
2 Km Al Sur De El Transito, Nicaragua More
Oct 3, 2022 7:37 am (GMT -6) (Oct 3, 2022 13:37 GMT)
3.1

34 km
37 Km Al Sur De Delta Del Rio Lempa, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Oct 3, 2022 5:20 am (GMT -6) (Oct 3, 2022 11:20 GMT)
?

n/a
Near Yoro, Yoro, Honduras (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Oct 3, 2022 1:35 am (GMT -6) (Oct 3, 2022 07:35 GMT)
3.1

14 km
121 Km Al Suroeste De Playa El Cuco, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Oct 3, 2022 1:23 am (GMT -6) (Oct 3, 2022 07:23 GMT)
3.0

17 km
99 Km Al Sur De Playa El Cuco, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Oct 3, 2022 12:40 am (GMT -6) (Oct 3, 2022 06:40 GMT)
1.7

4 km
6 Km Al Norte De Ilopango, El Salvador More
Oct 3, 2022 12:36 am (GMT -6) (Oct 3, 2022 06:36 GMT)
3.3

19 km
118 Km Al Sur De Playa El Cuco, El Salvador
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Oct 2, 2022 7:28 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 3, 2022 01:28 GMT)
3.4

25 km
127 Km Al Suroeste De Punta Cosigüina, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
More
Sunday, October 2, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Oct 2, 2022 3:01 am (GMT -6) (Oct 2, 2022 09:01 GMT)
3.0

29 km
36 Km Al Suroeste De Delta Del Rio Lempa, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Oct 2, 2022 2:16 am (GMT -6) (Oct 2, 2022 08:16 GMT)
1.6

5 km
11 Km Al Norte De San Ramón, Chinandega, Nicaragua More
Oct 2, 2022 12:04 am (GMT -6) (Oct 2, 2022 06:04 GMT)
2.2

10 km
4 Km Al Oeste De Pasocaballos, El Realejo, Nicaragua More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.2 x 1012 joules (1.16 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 998 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Tegucigalpa, Honduras (TGUH/CU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Tegucigalpa, Honduras: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

La Union Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in La Union?

The last earthquake in La Union occurred 2 hours and 46 minutes ago: Weak mag. 2.8 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 99 km south of San Salvador, El Salvador, on Wednesday, Oct 5, 2022 at 11:34 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in La Union past week?

In the past 7 days, La Union, El Salvador had 51 quakes up to magnitude 5.2.

What was the strongest quake in La Union past week?

The strongest earthquake in La Union past week occurred 6 days ago: Strong mag. 5.2 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, El Salvador, 121 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua, on Friday, Sep 30, 2022 at 11:32 am (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 6, 2022 08:20 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings