Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near La Union, El Salvador, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 17, 2022 16:43 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 7 quakes above magnitude 7
  • 27 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 267 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
Since 1900, La Union has had 7 quakes of magnitude 7.0 or above, 27 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, and 267 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 5.3 | North Pacific Ocean, 74 km W of Chinandega, Nicaragua -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.7 | 91 km SE of San Salvador, El Salvador -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 5 or higher (301 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sep 14, 2022 2:44 am (GMT -6) (Sep 14, 2022 08:44 GMT)
5.3

69 km
56 km (35 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 74 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua 52 reportsMore
Sep 6, 2022 1:35 am (GMT -6) (Sep 6, 2022 07:35 GMT)
5.2

10 km
23 km (14 mi)42 km northwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua 151 reportsMore
Aug 3, 2022 3:55 pm (GMT -6) (Aug 3, 2022 21:55 GMT)
5.3

138 km
20 km (12 mi)23 km southeast of Leon, Nicaragua 18 reportsMore
Jul 28, 2022 3:23 am (GMT -6) (Jul 28, 2022 09:23 GMT)
5.2

58 km
65 km (40 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 66 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua 94 reportsMore
Apr 15, 2022 4:53 pm (GMT -6) (Apr 15, 2022 22:53 GMT)
5.0

69 km
71 km (44 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 88 km south of San Miguel, El Salvador 16 reportsMore
Feb 17, 2022 5:36 pm (GMT -6) (Feb 17, 2022 23:36 GMT)
5.2

69 km
72 km (45 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 78 km south of San Miguel, El Salvador 10 reportsMore
Jan 7, 2022 11:04 am (GMT -6) (Jan 7, 2022 17:04 GMT)
5.0

43 km
77 km (48 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 100 km west of Managua, Nicaragua More
Jan 6, 2022 10:25 am (GMT -6) (Jan 6, 2022 16:25 GMT)
6.1

27 km
78 km (48 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 99 km west of Managua, Nicaragua 143 reportsMore
Nov 2, 2021 1:58 am (GMT -6) (Nov 2, 2021 07:58 GMT)
5.0

10 km
99 km (62 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 99 km west of Corinto, Chinandega, Nicaragua More
Oct 31, 2021 9:07 pm (GMT -6) (Nov 1, 2021 03:07 GMT)
5.0

77 km
20 km (12 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 55 km south of Usulutan, El Salvador 49 reportsMore
Sep 22, 2021 6:57 am (GMT -6) (Sep 22, 2021 12:57 GMT)
5.6

56 km
9 km (5.6 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 69 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua 9 reportsMore
Sep 22, 2021 6:27 am (GMT -6) (Sep 22, 2021 12:27 GMT)
5.1

54 km
8 km (5 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 75 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua 2 reportsMore
Sep 22, 2021 3:57 am (GMT -6) (Sep 22, 2021 09:57 GMT)
6.5

22 km
10 km (6.2 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 82 km southwest of Chinandega, Nicaragua 126 reportsMore
Aug 13, 2021 3:04 am (GMT -6) (Aug 13, 2021 09:04 GMT)
5.0

19 km
105 km (65 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Nicaragua More
21 May 4:19 pm (GMT -6) (May 21, 2021 22:19 GMT)
5.6

55 km
64 km (40 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 50 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua 25 reportsMore
2021-04-14 06:48:50 (Apr 14, 2021 12:48 GMT)
5.0

36 km
67 km (42 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 98 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua 2 reportsMore
Feb 10, 2021 2:47 am (GMT -6) (Feb 10, 2021 08:47 GMT)
5.0

65 km
62 km (39 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 82 km southeast of San Salvador, El Salvador 40 reportsMore
Jan 29, 2021 11:35 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 30, 2021 05:35 GMT)
5.0

80 km
86 km (53 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 89 km west of El Viejo, Chinandega, Nicaragua 2 reportsMore
Jan 15, 2021 11:09 am (GMT -6) (Jan 15, 2021 17:09 GMT)
5.0

30 km
73 km (45 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 70 km southwest of Usulutan, El Salvador 6 reportsMore
2020-09-16 12:14:09 (Sep 16, 2020 18:14 GMT)
5.0

40 km
69 km (43 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 77 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua More
2020-08-11 21:25:10 (Aug 12, 2020 03:25 GMT)
5.2

35 km
91 km (57 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 82 km south of Usulutan, El Salvador 20 reportsMore
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.7 x 1016 joules (15706 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1.4 x 107 tons of TNT or 844.6 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Tegucigalpa, Honduras (TGUH/CU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Tegucigalpa, Honduras: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

La Union Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in La Union?

The last earthquake in La Union occurred 2 weeks ago: Moderate mag. 5.3 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 74 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua, on Wednesday, Sep 14, 2022 at 2:44 am (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in La Union since 1900?

Since 1900, La Union, El Salvador had 301 quakes up to magnitude 7.7.

What was the strongest quake in La Union since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in La Union since 1900 occurred 22 years ago: Major magnitude 7.7 earthquake - 91 km southeast of San Salvador, El Salvador, on Saturday, January 13, 2001 at 17:33 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Sep 28, 2022 16:45 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings