Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 27, 2021 19:18 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Past earthquakes near Vaston, Gevaş, Van, Turkey: August 2021

Updated Oct 27, 2021 19:18 GMT -
During Aug 2021, Vaston was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 11 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 7 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.1 quake 17 km south of Van, Turkey, Aug 26, 2021 12:54 am (GMT +3)
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (20 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, August 31, 2021 21:58 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 1, 2021 12:58 am (GMT +3) (Aug 31, 2021 21:58 GMT)
2.1

7.7 km
86 km (53 mi)15 km east of Bahçesaray, Van, Turkey MoreMap
Thursday, August 26, 2021 16:28 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 26, 2021 7:28 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 26, 2021 16:28 GMT)
2.5

12 km
60 km (37 mi)55 km southwest of Van, Turkey MoreMap
Wednesday, August 25, 2021 21:54 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 26, 2021 12:54 am (GMT +3) (Aug 25, 2021 21:54 GMT)
3.1

10 km
77 km (48 mi)17 km south of Van, Turkey MoreMap
Sunday, August 22, 2021 18:25 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Aug 22, 2021 9:25 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 22, 2021 18:25 GMT)
1.8

32 km
48 km (30 mi)23 km west of Van, Turkey MoreMap
Aug 22, 2021 3:10 am (GMT +3) (Aug 22, 2021 00:10 GMT)
2.2

7.7 km
38 km (24 mi)31 km northwest of Van, Turkey MoreMap
Wednesday, August 18, 2021 23:08 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 19, 2021 2:08 am (GMT +3) (Aug 18, 2021 23:08 GMT)
1.8

31 km
73 km (45 mi)21 km northeast of Van, Turkey MoreMap
Tuesday, August 17, 2021 10:04 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Aug 17, 2021 1:04 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 17, 2021 10:04 GMT)
1.1

32 km
55 km (34 mi)Turkey: BARDAKCI-(VAN) MoreMap
Aug 17, 2021 6:02 am (GMT +3) (Aug 17, 2021 03:02 GMT)
2.5

2 km
39 km (24 mi)30 km northwest of Van, Turkey MoreMap
Aug 17, 2021 4:40 am (GMT +3) (Aug 17, 2021 01:40 GMT)
2.1

5 km
38 km (24 mi)31 km northwest of Van, Turkey MoreMap
Monday, August 16, 2021 12:20 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Aug 16, 2021 3:20 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 16, 2021 12:20 GMT)
2.0

7 km
62 km (39 mi)25 km west of Vaston, Gevaş, Van, Turkey MoreMap
Aug 16, 2021 3:20 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 16, 2021 12:20 GMT)
1.5

10.5 km
64 km (40 mi)58 km southwest of Van, Turkey MoreMap
Aug 16, 2021 1:05 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 16, 2021 10:05 GMT)
2.0

15 km
66 km (41 mi)6.9 km north of Bahçesaray, Van, Turkey MoreMap
Aug 16, 2021 12:58 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 16, 2021 09:58 GMT)
2.2

7 km
63 km (39 mi)Van, 34 km east of Hizan, Bitlis, Turkey MoreMap
Thursday, August 12, 2021 08:19 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Aug 12, 2021 11:19 am (GMT +3) (Aug 12, 2021 08:19 GMT)
1.2

5 km
34 km (21 mi)Turkey: VAN GOLU MoreMap
Aug 12, 2021 10:29 am (GMT +3) (Aug 12, 2021 07:29 GMT)
3.0

7 km
35 km (22 mi)34 km northwest of Van, Turkey MoreMap
Wednesday, August 11, 2021 22:43 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 12, 2021 1:43 am (GMT +3) (Aug 11, 2021 22:43 GMT)
2.3

7 km
45 km (28 mi)21 km southeast of Erciş, Van, Turkey MoreMap
Wednesday, August 4, 2021 17:56 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Aug 4, 2021 17:56 GMT
2.0

7 km
81 km (50 mi)12 km east of Bahçesaray, Van, Turkey MoreMap
Aug 4, 2021 17:56 GMT
1.5

6.4 km
52 km (32 mi)17 km east of Hizan, Bitlis, Turkey MoreMap
Aug 4, 2021 16:36 GMT
1.8

9.8 km
51 km (32 mi)16 km east of Hizan, Bitlis, Turkey MoreMap
Sunday, August 1, 2021 20:54 GMT (1 earthquake)
Aug 1, 2021 20:54 GMT
2.3

9 km
42 km (26 mi)18 km southeast of Erciş, Van, Turkey MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.6 x 109 joules (1.84 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.58 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.