Help Ukraine

Largest earthquakes in or near Punta Umbria, Andalusia, Spain, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated Mar 29, 2022 05:04 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 6
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 66 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 518 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
Since 1900, Punta Umbria has had 1 quake of magnitude 6.6, 4 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 66 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, and 518 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 3.2 | North Atlantic Ocean, 135 km S of Faro, Portugal -

Strongest quake: Mag. 6.6 | 309 km SE of Lissabon, Lisboa, Portugal -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Filter by age:
all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 3 or higher (589 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
May 24, 2022 11:45 pm (GMT -1) (May 25, 2022 00:45 GMT)
3.2

23 km
452 km (281 mi)Portugal: STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Apr 13, 2022 3:28 pm (GMT +2) (Apr 13, 2022 13:28 GMT)
3.0
245 km (152 mi)SPAIN 2 reportsMoreMap
Apr 11, 2022 3:05 am (GMT +0) (Apr 11, 2022 03:05 GMT)
3.1

40 km
382 km (237 mi)Portugal: STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR MoreMap
Mar 13, 2022 9:08 pm (GMT +1) (Mar 13, 2022 20:08 GMT)
4.4

60 km
332 km (206 mi)Spain: NE BARBATE.CA MoreMap
Feb 27, 2022 8:03 pm (GMT -1) (Feb 27, 2022 21:03 GMT)
3.6

25 km
515 km (320 mi)Portugal: GOLFO DE C MoreMap
Feb 24, 2022 9:49 pm (GMT +1) (Feb 24, 2022 20:49 GMT)
3.5

62 km
353 km (219 mi)Spain: STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR MoreMap
Jan 1, 2022 8:03 pm (GMT -1) (Jan 1, 2022 21:03 GMT)
4.3

7 km
429 km (267 mi)79 Km S of Olhão, Portugal 627 reportsMoreMap
Dec 11, 2021 9:15 pm (GMT -1) (Dec 11, 2021 22:15 GMT)
3.1

24 km
416 km (258 mi)Portugal: STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR MoreMap
Dec 3, 2021 10:46 pm (GMT -1) (Dec 3, 2021 23:46 GMT)
3.0

25 km
388 km (241 mi)Portugal: STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR 1 reportMoreMap
Nov 26, 2021 3:46 pm (GMT -1) (Nov 26, 2021 16:46 GMT)
3.2

40 km
421 km (262 mi)Portugal: STRAIT OF GIBRALTAR MoreMap
Nov 3, 2021 7:52 pm (GMT -1) (Nov 3, 2021 20:52 GMT)
3.1

10 km
494 km (307 mi)Portugal: WEST OF GIBRALTAR MoreMap
Oct 30, 2021 7:50 pm (GMT +0) (Oct 30, 2021 19:50 GMT)
3.0

20 km
362 km (225 mi)Spain: GOLFO DE C 1 reportMoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 8:23 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 19, 2021 18:23 GMT)
3.1

9 km
241 km (150 mi)Spain: NW OLVERA.CA 2 reportsMoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 7:43 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 19, 2021 17:43 GMT)
4.1

1 km
239 km (149 mi)Spain: NW PRUNA.SE 28 reportsMoreMap
Oct 6, 2021 5:08 am (GMT -1) (Oct 6, 2021 06:08 GMT)
3.4

10 km
420 km (261 mi)PORTUGAL 3 reportsMoreMap
Oct 4, 2021 4:43 pm (GMT +2) (Oct 4, 2021 14:43 GMT)
3.1

1 km
235 km (146 mi)Spain: NW PRUNA.SE MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.3 x 1014 joules (149 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1.3 x 105 tons of TNT or 8 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Punta Umbria Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Punta Umbria?

The last earthquake in Punta Umbria occurred 3 days ago: Weak mag. 3.2 earthquake - North Atlantic Ocean, 135 km south of Faro, Portugal, on Tuesday, May 24, 2022 at 11:45 pm (GMT -1).

How many quakes were there in Punta Umbria since 1900?

Since 1900, Punta Umbria, Andalusia, Spain had 589 quakes up to magnitude 6.6.

What was the strongest quake in Punta Umbria since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Punta Umbria since 1900 occurred 58 years ago: Very strong mag. 6.6 earthquake - 309 km southeast of Lissabon, Lisboa, Portugal, on Sunday, March 15, 1964 at 22:30 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 28, 2022 04:49 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.