Help Ukraine

Largest earthquakes in or near Las Lajas, Provincia de Chiriqui, Panama, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated never
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 7
  • 47 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 131 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
Since 1900, Las Lajas has had 3 quakes of magnitude 7.0 or above, 47 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, and 131 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 5.0 | Provincia de Puntarenas, 93 km SE of San Isidro, Costa Rica -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.5 | 59 km S of David, Provincia de Chiriqui, Panama -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Filter by age:
all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 5 or higher (181 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
May 7, 2022 6:25 pm (GMT -6) (May 8, 2022 00:25 GMT)
5.0

18 km
71 km (44 mi)Near Daniel Flores, San José, Costa Rica 49 reportsMoreMap
Sep 21, 2021 8:25 pm (GMT -5) (Sep 22, 2021 01:25 GMT)
5.1

10 km
168 km (104 mi)South of Panama 26 reportsMoreMap
21 Jul 4:26 pm (GMT -6) (Jul 21, 2021 22:26 GMT)
5.0

10 km
192 km (119 mi)Near La Concepcion, Chiriquí, Panama 21 reportsMoreMap
21 Jul 3:15 pm (GMT -6) (Jul 21, 2021 21:15 GMT)
6.7

10 km
160 km (99 mi)South of Panama 336 reportsMoreMap
17 Jul 2:56 pm (GMT -6) (Jul 17, 2021 20:56 GMT)
6.1

10 km
40 km (25 mi)South of Panama 276 reportsMoreMap
Jan 29, 2021 7:14 am (GMT -6) (Jan 29, 2021 13:14 GMT)
5.7

3 km
94 km (58 mi)13 Km Al Oeste De Limones, Distrito Barú, Panamá, Costa Rica 11 reportsMoreMap
Jan 29, 2021 6:41 am (GMT -6) (Jan 29, 2021 12:41 GMT)
5.6

10 km
77 km (48 mi)PANAMA-COSTA RICA BORDER REGION 9 reportsMoreMap
04 de septiembre del 2020 11:48 am (Sep 4, 2020 17:48 GMT)
5.0

15 km
56 km (35 mi)4 Km Al Norte De Laurel, Corredores. (Costa Rica) 3 reportsMoreMap
2020-09-04 11:45:20 (Sep 4, 2020 17:45 GMT)
5.6

6 km
58 km (36 mi)15 Km al oeste de Puerto Armuelles, Panamá (Panama) 39 reportsMoreMap
Jul 15, 2020 21:39 GMT
5.6

10 km
168 km (104 mi)Panama 46 reportsMoreMap
Mar 7, 2020 02:40 GMT
5.2

43 km
44 km (27 mi)Costa Rica 221 reportsMoreMap
26 de junio del 2019 1:12 pm (Jun 26, 2019 19:12 GMT)
5.0

24 km
61 km (38 mi)9 km al Noreste de Puerto Armuelles, Panama. 6 reportsMoreMap
Jun 26, 2019 05:23 GMT
6.3

34 km
55 km (34 mi)Panama-Costa Rica Border Region 599 reportsMoreMap
May 12, 2019 19:24 GMT
6.0

10 km
41 km (25 mi)Panama-Costa Rica Border Region 202 reportsMoreMap
01 de abril del 2019 7:44 am (Apr 1, 2019 13:44 GMT)
5.3

13 km
76 km (47 mi)2 km al Sur de Sixaola, Talamanca. (Panama) 34 reportsMoreMap
Nov 9, 2018 09:20 GMT
5.3

10 km
84 km (52 mi)Costa Rica 108 reportsMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.1 x 1016 joules (8726 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 7.5 x 106 tons of TNT or 469.3 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Las Lajas Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Las Lajas?

The last earthquake in Las Lajas occurred 2 weeks ago: Strong mag. 5.0 earthquake - Provincia de Puntarenas, 93 km southeast of San Isidro, Costa Rica, on Saturday, May 7, 2022 at 6:25 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Las Lajas since 1900?

Since 1900, Las Lajas, Provincia de Chiriqui, Panama had 181 quakes up to magnitude 7.5.

What was the strongest quake in Las Lajas since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Las Lajas since 1900 occurred 88 years ago: Major magnitude 7.5 earthquake - 59 km south of David, Provincia de Chiriqui, Panama, on Wednesday, July 18, 1934 at 01:36 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 23, 2022 09:13 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.