Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 19, 2021 09:28 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes near Shelter Cove, Humboldt County, California, USA: past 30 days

Updated Oct 19, 2021 09:28 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Shelter Cove was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 13 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 6 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.8 quake North Pacific Ocean, 40 mi southwest of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA, Oct 12, 2021 4:29 am (GMT -7)
Biggest quake today: 2.6 quake 52km WNW of Petrolia, CA, Oct 18, 2021 2:00 pm (GMT -8)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (21 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, October 18, 2021 22:00 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 18, 2021 2:00 pm (GMT -8) (Oct 18, 2021 22:00 GMT)
2.6

26 km
229 km (142 mi)52km WNW of Petrolia, CA MoreMap
Saturday, October 16, 2021 06:19 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 15, 2021 11:19 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 16, 2021 06:19 GMT)
1.9

17 km
147 km (91 mi)8km SSE of Redway, CA MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 11:18 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 16, 2021 06:18 GMT)
2.0

17 km
148 km (92 mi)10km S of Redway, CA MoreMap
Thursday, October 14, 2021 12:45 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 14, 2021 5:45 am (GMT -7) (Oct 14, 2021 12:45 GMT)
1.7

24 km
175 km (109 mi)13km E of Hydesville, CA MoreMap
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 11:29 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 12, 2021 4:29 am (GMT -7) (Oct 12, 2021 11:29 GMT)
3.8

21 km
209 km (130 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 40 mi southwest of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Saturday, October 9, 2021 06:16 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 8, 2021 11:16 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 9, 2021 06:16 GMT)
1.6

6 km
71 km (44 mi)6km NE of Willits, CA MoreMap
Friday, October 8, 2021 20:05 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 8, 2021 1:05 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 8, 2021 20:05 GMT)
1.6

12 km
187 km (116 mi)12km SE of Petrolia, CA MoreMap
Thursday, October 7, 2021 15:37 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 7, 2021 8:37 am (GMT -7) (Oct 7, 2021 15:37 GMT)
1.8

20 km
179 km (111 mi)18km E of Rio Dell, CA MoreMap
Oct 6, 2021 7:40 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 7, 2021 02:40 GMT)
2.0

20 km
176 km (109 mi)18km E of Rio Dell, CA MoreMap
Tuesday, October 5, 2021 18:21 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 5, 2021 10:21 am (GMT -8) (Oct 5, 2021 18:21 GMT)
2.4

23 km
223 km (139 mi)32km W of Ferndale, CA MoreMap
Saturday, October 2, 2021 11:44 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Oct 2, 2021 4:44 am (GMT -7) (Oct 2, 2021 11:44 GMT)
2.3

4.2 km
108 km (67 mi)16km SE of Rockport, CA 1 reportMoreMap
Oct 2, 2021 1:10 am (GMT -7) (Oct 2, 2021 08:10 GMT)
2.3

27 km
203 km (126 mi)7km W of Petrolia, CA MoreMap
Thursday, September 30, 2021 06:37 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 29, 2021 11:37 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 30, 2021 06:37 GMT)
2.8

30 km
199 km (124 mi)North Pacific Ocean, 36 mi south of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA 3 reportsMoreMap
Monday, September 27, 2021 22:27 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 27, 2021 3:27 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 27, 2021 22:27 GMT)
2.8

10.9 km
187 km (116 mi)37 mi south of Eureka, Humboldt County, California, USA MoreMap
Sunday, September 26, 2021 19:54 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 26, 2021 12:54 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2021 19:54 GMT)
2.4

19 km
200 km (124 mi)11km SW of Petrolia, CA 1 reportMoreMap
Sep 26, 2021 1:51 am (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2021 08:51 GMT)
3.6

12 km
186 km (116 mi)24 mi south of Fortuna, Humboldt County, California, USA 3 reportsMoreMap
Sep 25, 2021 7:06 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 26, 2021 02:06 GMT)
1.6

21 km
210 km (130 mi)21km WSW of Petrolia, CA MoreMap
Friday, September 24, 2021 17:31 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 24, 2021 10:31 am (GMT -7) (Sep 24, 2021 17:31 GMT)
2.4

18 km
199 km (124 mi)5km SW of Petrolia, CA MoreMap
Thursday, September 23, 2021 20:24 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 23, 2021 1:24 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 23, 2021 20:24 GMT)
2.1

3.5 km
99 km (62 mi)6km SSW of Laytonville, CA MoreMap
Sep 23, 2021 12:46 am (GMT -7) (Sep 23, 2021 07:46 GMT)
2.6

20 km
206 km (128 mi)17km WSW of Petrolia, CA MoreMap
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 00:08 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 21, 2021 5:08 pm (GMT -7) (Sep 22, 2021 00:08 GMT)
2.5

28 km
204 km (127 mi)10km W of Petrolia, CA MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.2 x 1010 joules (14.5 megawatt hours, equivalent to 12.5 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.