Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near San Juan, Provincia de San José, Costa Rica, in the past 24 hours on Saturday, December 3, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 3, 2022 07:15 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 24 hours, San Juan was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 4 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 5 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
A light magnitude 4.1 earthquake occurred in Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica, 6 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.1 | 4.5 km SE of San Jose, Upala, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.1 | 5.6 km W of San Jose, Upala, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near San Juan, Provincia de San José, Costa Rica (updated )

Past 24 hours11 quakes5 quakes M2+4 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+
Past 7 days58 quakes42 quakes M2+13 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+
Past 30 days246 quakes148 quakes M2+84 quakes M3+9 quakes M4+
Past 90 days674 quakes428 quakes M2+217 quakes M3+19 quakes M4+
Past 365 days1,768 quakes963 quakes M2+723 quakes M3+58 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (11 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, December 3, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 7:40 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 3, 2022 01:40 GMT)
3.1

193 km
4.5 km southeast of San Jose, Upala, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 7:40 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 3, 2022 01:40 GMT)
4.1

196 km
5.6 km west of San Jose, Upala, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 6:35 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 3, 2022 00:35 GMT)
3.3

21 km
34 km west of Changuinola, Provincia de Bocas del Toro, Panama
I FELT IT
More
Friday, December 2, 2022 GMT (8 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 5:25 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 2, 2022 23:25 GMT)
2.7

7 km
30 km southeast of San Jose, Upala, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Dec 2, 2022 5:25 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 2, 2022 23:25 GMT)
3.6

6 km
Provincia de Alajuela, 44 km east of Liberia, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 5:15 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 2, 2022 23:15 GMT)
3.0

5 km
Provincia de Alajuela, 47 km east of Liberia, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 5:15 pm (GMT -6) (Dec 2, 2022 23:15 GMT)
4.0

6 km
Provincia de Alajuela, 44 km east of Liberia, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Dec 2, 2022 9:49 am (GMT -6) (Dec 2, 2022 15:49 GMT)
2.5

6 km
Provincia de Alajuela, 26 km northeast of Canas, Costa Rica More
Dec 2, 2022 4:06 am (GMT -6) (Dec 2, 2022 10:06 GMT)
2.2

3 km
Provincia de Cartago, 18 km southeast of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica More
Dec 2, 2022 1:29 am (GMT -6) (Dec 2, 2022 07:29 GMT)
2.2

8 km
14 km south of Cartago, Costa Rica More
Dec 2, 2022 1:17 am (GMT -6) (Dec 2, 2022 07:17 GMT)
2.4

16 km
Provincia de Puntarenas, 51 km southwest of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.8 x 1011 joules (50 megawatt hours, equivalent to 43 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Heredia, Costa Rica (HDC/G network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Heredia, Costa Rica: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

San Juan Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in San Juan?

The last earthquake in San Juan occurred 6 hours ago: Minor mag. 3.1 earthquake - 4.5 km southeast of San Jose, Upala, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica, on Friday, Dec 2, 2022 at 7:40 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in San Juan today?

In the past 24 hours, San Juan, Provincia de San José, Costa Rica had 11 quakes up to magnitude 4.1.

What was the strongest quake in San Juan today?

The strongest earthquake in San Juan today occurred 6 hours ago: Light mag. 4.1 earthquake - 5.6 km west of San Jose, Upala, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica, on Friday, Dec 2, 2022 at 7:40 pm (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 3, 2022 07:15 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings