Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Capo, Sicily, Italy, in the past 7 days - list, stats and map

Updated May 17, 2022 19:57 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 7 days:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 8 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 18 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 7 days, Capo had 1 quake of magnitude 3.8 and 8 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 18 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!
A weak magnitude 2.5 earthquake occurred in Tyrrhenian Sea, Italy, 23 hours ago.

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.8 | Tyrrhenian Sea, 97 km NE of Bagheria, Provincia de Palermo, Sicily, Italy -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Capo, Sicily, Italy (updated )

Past 24 hours:1 quake | 1 quake M2+
Past 7 days:25 quakes | 8 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 30 days:97 quakes | 30 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+
Past 90 days:256 quakes | 87 quakes M2+ | 6 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:1,325 quakes | 389 quakes M2+ | 45 quakes M3+ | 7 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (29 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, May 16, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
May 16, 2022 11:25 pm (GMT +2) (May 16, 2022 21:25 GMT)
2.5

12 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, 57 km northwest of Capo d'Orlando, Italy MoreMap
May 16, 2022 12:55 pm (GMT +2) (May 16, 2022 10:55 GMT)
2.2

132 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, 15 km north of Capo d'Orlando, Italy MoreMap
May 16, 2022 7:36 am (GMT +2) (May 16, 2022 05:36 GMT)
1.7

8.7 km
Ionian Sea, 21 km east of Acireale, Catania, Sicily, Italy 1 reportMoreMap
Sunday, May 15, 2022 GMT (7 quakes)
May 15, 2022 5:06 pm (GMT +1) (May 15, 2022 16:06 GMT)
1.6

7.8 km
Ionian Sea, 47 km south of Reggio Calabria, Italy MoreMap
May 15, 2022 3:34 pm (GMT +2) (May 15, 2022 13:34 GMT)
2.2

12 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, 50 km northwest of Capo d'Orlando, Italy MoreMap
May 15, 2022 9:46 am (GMT +2) (May 15, 2022 07:46 GMT)
1.5

8.5 km
Ionian Sea, 4.4 km south of Syracuse, Sicily, Italy MoreMap
May 15, 2022 9:21 am (GMT +2) (May 15, 2022 07:21 GMT)
1.9

8.9 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, 52 km northwest of Capo d'Orlando, Italy MoreMap
May 15, 2022 8:09 am (GMT +2) (May 15, 2022 06:09 GMT)
1.9

1.8 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, 46 km northwest of Capo d'Orlando, Italy MoreMap
May 15, 2022 8:09 am (GMT +2) (May 15, 2022 06:09 GMT)
2.3

12 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, 51 km northwest of Capo d'Orlando, Italy MoreMap
May 15, 2022 5:13 am (GMT +2) (May 15, 2022 03:13 GMT)
2.1

9 km
4 km west of Barcellona Pozzo di Gotto, Province of Messina, Sicily, Italy MoreMap
Saturday, May 14, 2022 GMT (8 quakes)
May 15, 2022 1:09 am (GMT +2) (May 14, 2022 23:09 GMT)
1.7

12 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, 56 km northwest of Capo d'Orlando, Italy MoreMap
May 15, 2022 12:53 am (GMT +2) (May 14, 2022 22:53 GMT)
1.5

4 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, 88 km northeast of Bagheria, Provincia de Palermo, Sicily, Italy MoreMap
May 14, 2022 9:29 pm (GMT +2) (May 14, 2022 19:29 GMT)
1.0

9.7 km
Sicily, Italy MoreMap
May 14, 2022 4:25 pm (GMT +2) (May 14, 2022 14:25 GMT)
2.0

9.3 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, 53 km northwest of Capo d'Orlando, Italy MoreMap
May 14, 2022 2:33 pm (GMT +2) (May 14, 2022 12:33 GMT)
1.9

12 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, 93 km northeast of Bagheria, Provincia de Palermo, Sicily, Italy MoreMap
May 14, 2022 2:18 pm (GMT +2) (May 14, 2022 12:18 GMT)
1.6

4.7 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, 53 km northwest of Capo d'Orlando, Italy MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.4 x 1010 joules (9.31 megawatt hours, equivalent to 8.01 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Capo Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Capo?

The last earthquake in Capo occurred 23 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.5 earthquake - Tyrrhenian Sea, 57 km northwest of Capo d'Orlando, Italy, on Monday, May 16, 2022 at 11:25 pm (GMT +2).

How many quakes were there in Capo past week?

In the past 7 days, Capo, Sicily, Italy had 29 quakes up to magnitude 3.8.

What was the strongest quake in Capo past week?

The strongest earthquake in Capo past week occurred 3 days ago: Light mag. 3.8 earthquake - Tyrrhenian Sea, 97 km northeast of Bagheria, Provincia de Palermo, Sicily, Italy, on Saturday, May 14, 2022 at 1:57 pm (GMT +2).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 17, 2022 19:57 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.