Help Ukraine

Past earthquakes in Capo, Sicily, Italy: 2021 - list, stats and map

Updated May 21, 2022 16:20 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in 2021:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 56 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 497 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 1339 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In 2021, Capo was shaken by 4 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 56 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 497 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 1339 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.5 | Tyrrhenian Sea, 57 km W of Lamezia Terme, Italy -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Hide unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 2.6 or higher (229 out of 1896 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, December 31, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 31, 2021 10:38 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 31, 2021 21:38 GMT)
2.6

160 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, Italy MoreMap
Dec 31, 2021 5:05 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 31, 2021 16:05 GMT)
?

n/a
Sicily, Italy (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Thursday, December 30, 2021 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 30, 2021 1:56 am (GMT +1) (Dec 30, 2021 00:56 GMT)
?

n/a
30 km north of Catania, Sicily, Italy (unconfirmed) 2 reportsMoreMap
Wednesday, December 29, 2021 GMT (3 quakes)
Dec 29, 2021 10:40 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 29, 2021 21:40 GMT)
2.8

42 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, 78 km northeast of Palerm, Sicily, Italy MoreMap
Dec 29, 2021 3:50 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 29, 2021 14:50 GMT)
?

n/a
30 km north of Catania, Sicily, Italy (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 29, 2021 6:14 am (GMT +1) (Dec 29, 2021 05:14 GMT)
?

n/a
30 km north of Catania, Sicily, Italy (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Sunday, December 26, 2021 GMT (3 quakes)
Dec 26, 2021 10:47 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 26, 2021 21:47 GMT)
?

n/a
30 km north of Catania, Sicily, Italy (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 26, 2021 11:13 am (GMT +1) (Dec 26, 2021 10:13 GMT)
?

n/a
Isola delle Femmine, 15 km west of Palerm, Sicily, Italy (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 26, 2021 9:50 am (GMT +1) (Dec 26, 2021 08:50 GMT)
?

n/a
30 km north of Catania, Sicily, Italy (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Saturday, December 25, 2021 GMT (2 quakes)
Dec 25, 2021 6:02 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 25, 2021 17:02 GMT)
3.4

10.7 km
Tyrrhenian Sea, 69 km north of Palerm, Sicily, Italy MoreMap
Dec 25, 2021 8:21 am (GMT +1) (Dec 25, 2021 07:21 GMT)
?

n/a
30 km north of Catania, Sicily, Italy (unconfirmed) 1 reportMoreMap
Friday, December 24, 2021 GMT (3 quakes)
Dec 24, 2021 10:23 am (GMT +1) (Dec 24, 2021 09:23 GMT)
2.1

5.4 km
13 km northwest of Acireale, Catania, Sicily, Italy 3 reportsMoreMap
Dec 24, 2021 10:19 am (GMT +1) (Dec 24, 2021 09:19 GMT)
3.6

7 km
12 km north of Acireale, Catania, Sicily, Italy 6 reportsMoreMap
Dec 24, 2021 7:14 am (GMT +1) (Dec 24, 2021 06:14 GMT)
3.1

10.2 km
14 km west of Catania, Sicily, Italy 7 reportsMoreMap
Thursday, December 23, 2021 GMT (10 quakes)
Dec 23, 2021 11:53 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 23, 2021 22:53 GMT)
2.8

10.6 km
17 km west of Catania, Sicily, Italy MoreMap
Dec 23, 2021 11:21 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 23, 2021 22:21 GMT)
2.8

9.9 km
15 km west of Catania, Sicily, Italy MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.3 x 1012 joules (375 megawatt hours, equivalent to 322 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 21, 2022 16:20 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.