Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 18, 2022 10:45 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes near Agia Varvara, Heraklion, Crete, Greece: past 7 days

Updated Jan 18, 2022 10:45 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Agia Varvara was shaken by 13 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 49 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 84 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.8 quake Crete, Crete, Greece, Jan 17, 2022 2:47 pm (GMT +2)
Most recent quake: 2.2 quake 13 km east of Heraklion, Crete, Greece, Jan 18, 2022 4:18 am (GMT +2)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 2 or higher (63 out of 146 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, January 18, 2022 02:18 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 18, 2022 4:18 am (GMT +2) (Jan 18, 2022 02:18 GMT)
2.2

23 km
13 km east of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Monday, January 17, 2022 22:26 GMT (31 earthquakes)
Jan 18, 2022 12:26 am (GMT +2) (Jan 17, 2022 22:26 GMT)
2.0

22 km
12 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Jan 18, 2022 12:00 am (GMT +2) (Jan 17, 2022 22:00 GMT)
2.0

22 km
Crete, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Jan 17, 2022 7:38 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 17, 2022 17:38 GMT)
2.1

23 km
14 km east of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Jan 17, 2022 7:04 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 17, 2022 17:04 GMT)
2.6

26 km
13 km east of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Jan 17, 2022 6:54 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 17, 2022 16:54 GMT)
2.1

21 km
Crete, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Jan 17, 2022 5:59 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 17, 2022 15:59 GMT)
2.1

21 km
14 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Jan 17, 2022 5:34 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 17, 2022 15:34 GMT)
2.5

10.7 km
21 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Jan 17, 2022 5:16 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 17, 2022 15:16 GMT)
2.1

23 km
13 km east of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Jan 17, 2022 4:50 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 17, 2022 14:50 GMT)
2.9

24 km
13 km east of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Jan 17, 2022 4:14 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 17, 2022 14:14 GMT)
2.8

22 km
13 km east of Heraklion, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Jan 17, 2022 4:12 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 17, 2022 14:12 GMT)
2.4

21 km
Crete, Crete, Greece MoreMap
Jan 17, 2022 4:08 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 17, 2022 14:08 GMT)
3.4

25 km
Crete, Crete, Greece
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Jan 17, 2022 4:04 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 17, 2022 14:04 GMT)
3.5

24 km
Crete, Crete, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jan 17, 2022 4:03 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 17, 2022 14:03 GMT)
3.3

24 km
13 km east of Heraklion, Crete, Greece
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jan 17, 2022 3:52 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 17, 2022 13:52 GMT)
3.7

21 km
13 km southeast of Heraklion, Crete, Greece
I FELT IT - 7 reports
MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.6 x 1011 joules (43.8 megawatt hours, equivalent to 37.7 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel