Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Sanliurfa, Şanlıurfa, Turkey, in the past 24 hours on Sunday, March 3, 2024 - list, stats and map

Latest quake today
See all
Mag. 1.5 earthquake 4.6 km north of Kırıkhan, Hatay, Turkey -
Strongest todayMag. 3.7 33 km southeast of Malatya, Malatya, Turkey -
Updated: Mar 3, 2024 13:12 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Sanliurfa, Şanlıurfa, Turkey, in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake near Sanliurfa, find out which quakes are happening right now!
In the past 24 hours, Sanliurfa has had 0 quakes of magnitude 3.0+, the largest largest being a 3.7 quake.
Latest today: Mag. 1.5 Earthquake 4.6 km N of Kırıkhan, Hatay, Turkey -
Strongest today: Mag. 3.7 Earthquake 33 km SE of Malatya, Malatya, Turkey -

Number of quakes per year

Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Check for new quakes now!
in sec
Pause automatic refreshing
Showing most recent quakes and quakes magnitude 0.5 or higher, within up to 300 km (186 mi) distance (45 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Mar 3, 03:47 pm (Istanbul)
Mar 3, 12:47 GMT
1.5

7 km
227 km (141 mi) to the W 4.6 km north of Kırıkhan, Hatay, Turkey Info
Mar 3, 03:26 pm (Istanbul)
Mar 3, 12:26 GMT
2.2

2.7 km
271 km (168 mi) to the W 19 km north of Kozan, Adana, Turkey Info
Mar 3, 03:23 pm (Istanbul)
Mar 3, 12:23 GMT
2.2

7.2 km
104 km (64 mi) to the N 35 km northeast of Antigiaman, Adıyaman, Turkey Info
Mar 3, 03:17 pm (Istanbul)
Mar 3, 12:17 GMT
0.9

20 km
266 km (165 mi) to the W 3.8 km north of Kozan, Adana, Turkey Info
Mar 3, 03:10 pm (Istanbul)
Mar 3, 12:10 GMT
1.2

16 km
277 km (172 mi) to the W 13 km west of Ceyhan, Adana, Turkey Info
Mar 3, 01:54 pm (Istanbul)
Mar 3, 10:54 GMT
0.8

14 km
267 km (166 mi) to the W 12 km north of Kozan, Adana, Turkey Info
Mar 3, 01:46 pm (Istanbul)
Mar 3, 10:46 GMT
2.2

5 km
111 km (69 mi) to the N Adıyaman, 28 km southeast of Malatya, Malatya, Turkey Info
Mar 3, 01:39 pm (Istanbul)
Mar 3, 10:39 GMT
2.0

7 km
136 km (85 mi) to the N 8.8 km southwest of Malatya, Malatya, Turkey Info
Mar 3, 01:18 pm (Istanbul)
Mar 3, 10:18 GMT
1.2

23 km
265 km (165 mi) to the W 3 km south of Kozan, Adana, Turkey Info
Mar 3, 01:15 pm (Istanbul)
Mar 3, 10:15 GMT
1.6

5 km
268 km (167 mi) to the W 20 km north of Kozan, Adana, Turkey Info
Mar 3, 01:11 pm (Istanbul)
Mar 3, 10:11 GMT
3.3

10.8 km
263 km (163 mi) to the W 17 km north of Kozan, Adana, Turkey
I FELT IT
Info
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.8 x 1010 joules (13.4 megawatt hours, equivalent to 11.5 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Sanliurfa Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Garni, Armenia (GNI/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Garni, Armenia: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 2,400 quakes on average per year in or near Sanliurfa, Şanlıurfa, Turkey:
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 0.2 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 5 years)
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 2.9 quakes per year
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 18.9 quakes per year
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 153 quakes per year (or 12.7 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 1 or higher: 240 quakes per year (or 20 quakes per month)
Sanliurfa has a moderate level of seismic activity. However, Sanliurfa has had at least 2 quakes above magnitude 5 since 2014, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 3 to 7 years.

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Sanliurfa Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in or near Sanliurfa, Şanlıurfa, Turkey?

Sanliurfa has a moderate level of seismic activity. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 2,400 quakes on average per year in or near Sanliurfa, Şanlıurfa, Turkey. However, Sanliurfa has had at least 2 quakes above magnitude 5 since 2014, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 3 to 7 years.

When was the latest earthquake in Sanliurfa?

The last earthquake in Sanliurfa occurred 25 minutes ago and had a magnitude of 1.5:

A light magnitude 1.5 earthquake hit 4.6 km (2.9 mi) away from Kırıkhan, Hatay,  Turkey, in the early afternoon of Sunday, Mar 3, 2024 at 3.47 pm local time (Europe/Istanbul GMT +3). The quake had a very shallow depth of 7 km (4.3 mi) and was too small to be felt by people.

How many quakes were there in Sanliurfa in the past 24 hours?

In the past 24 hours, Sanliurfa has had 0 quakes of magnitude 3.0+, the largest largest being a 3.7 quake.

What was the strongest quake in Sanliurfa in the past 24 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Sanliurfa in the past 24 hours had a magnitude of 3.7 and occurred 10 hours ago:

A moderate magnitude 3.7 earthquake hit 33 km (21 mi) away from Malatya, Malatya,  Turkey, in the early morning of Sunday, Mar 3, 2024 at 6.20 am local time (Europe/Istanbul GMT +3). The quake had a very shallow depth of 7 km (4.3 mi) and was not felt (or at least not reported so).

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Sanliurfa, Şanlıurfa, Turkey

Strongest in 10 years

Mag. 5.5 earthquake 6.5 km north of Samsat, Adıyaman, Turkey - Mar 2, 2017 -
The largest quake that occurred in or near Sanliurfa, Şanlıurfa, Turkey, during the past 10 years was a magnitude 5.5 earthquake that hit Adıyaman,  Turkey, 7 years ago on Thursday, Mar 2, 2017, at 02:07 pm local time (Europe/Istanbul GMT +3).

Strongest since 1900

118 years ago, Şanlıurfa,  Turkey, was hit by a magnitude 5.6 quake on Monday, Dec 4, 1905, at 03:20 pm local time (Europe/Istanbul GMT +3). This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near Sanliurfa, Şanlıurfa, Turkey, in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes near Sanliurfa (within 100 km/62 mi) in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Mar 11, 2023 11:32 GMT
Mar 11, 2023 02:32 pm (Istanbul)
4.3

15 km
100 km (62 mi) to the N 44 km northeast of Antigiaman, Adıyaman, Turkey 1 reportInfo
Mar 9, 2023 18:55 GMT
Mar 9, 2023 09:55 pm (Istanbul)
4.3

10 km
98 km (61 mi) to the N 31 km northeast of Antigiaman, Adıyaman, Turkey 5 reportsInfo
Feb 9, 2023 03:52 GMT
Feb 9, 2023 06:52 am (Istanbul)
4.5

15 km
96 km (60 mi) to the N 36 km northeast of Antigiaman, Adıyaman, Turkey Info
Feb 7, 2023 10:18 GMT
Feb 7, 2023 01:18 pm (Istanbul)
5.4

10 km
95 km (59 mi) to the N 36 km northeast of Antigiaman, Adıyaman, Turkey 3 reportsInfo
Feb 6, 2023 07:41 GMT
Feb 6, 2023 10:41 am (Istanbul)
4.6

10 km
99 km (62 mi) to the NW 20 km northwest of Antigiaman, Adıyaman, Turkey 1 reportInfo
Feb 6, 2023 05:55 GMT
Feb 6, 2023 08:55 am (Istanbul)
4.5

17 km
97 km (60 mi) to the N 29 km northeast of Antigiaman, Adıyaman, Turkey Info
Feb 6, 2023 05:22 GMT
Feb 6, 2023 08:22 am (Istanbul)
4.4

10 km
99 km (62 mi) to the NW 29 km west of Antigiaman, Adıyaman, Turkey Info
Feb 6, 2023 02:06 GMT
Feb 6, 2023 05:06 am (Istanbul)
4.9

15 km
94 km (58 mi) to the NW 13 km northwest of Antigiaman, Adıyaman, Turkey Info
Apr 24, 2018 00:34 GMT
Apr 24, 2018 03:34 am (Istanbul)
4.6

10 km
55 km (34 mi) to the NW 7.2 km northeast of Samsat, Adıyaman, Turkey 21 reportsInfo
Mar 2, 2017 11:07 GMT
Mar 2, 2017 02:07 pm (Istanbul)
5.5

10 km
59 km (37 mi) to the NW 6.5 km north of Samsat, Adıyaman, Turkey 6 reportsInfo
Sep 3, 2008 02:22 GMT
Sep 3, 2008 05:22 am (Istanbul)
5.0

5.7 km
46 km (28 mi) to the NW 8.7 km south of Samsat, Adıyaman, Turkey Info
May 9, 1950 09:20 GMT
May 9, 1950 12:20 pm (Istanbul)
5.4

15 km
100 km (62 mi) to the N 8.6 km west of Sincik, Adıyaman, Turkey Info
Dec 4, 1905 12:20 GMT
Dec 4, 1905 03:20 pm (Istanbul)
5.6

15 km
6.3 km (3.9 mi) to the NE 6.3 km northeast of Sanliurfa, Şanlıurfa, Turkey Info

Map of largest quakes in or near Sanliurfa, Şanlıurfa, Turkey

[smaller] [bigger]

Quakes in nearby regions

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings