2 spots left on Iceland Geo Tour 16-30 July 2022

Latest quakes in or near Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand, in the past 24 hours on Saturday, July 2, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Jul 2, 2022 05:54 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 13 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Porirua had 1 quake of magnitude 3.3 and 6 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 13 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A weak magnitude 3.3 earthquake occurred in Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand, 15 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.4 | New Zealand -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.3 | 14 km SE of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours:20 quakes | 6 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 7 days:141 quakes | 53 quakes M2+ | 4 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:481 quakes | 192 quakes M2+ | 22 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:1,455 quakes | 566 quakes M2+ | 55 quakes M3+ | 6 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:5,883 quakes | 2,292 quakes M2+ | 234 quakes M3+ | 26 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (20 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, July 2, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Jul 2, 2022 4:53 pm (GMT +12) (Jul 2, 2022 04:53 GMT)
1.4

10.9 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 3:00 pm (GMT +12) (Jul 2, 2022 03:00 GMT)
1.1

14 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Friday, July 1, 2022 GMT (18 quakes)
Jul 2, 2022 11:22 am (GMT +12) (Jul 1, 2022 23:22 GMT)
2.2

176 km
Tasman Sea, 82 km south of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 11:18 am (GMT +12) (Jul 1, 2022 23:18 GMT)
1.5

13 km
23 km southeast of Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 11:17 am (GMT +12) (Jul 1, 2022 23:17 GMT)
2.5

12 km
22 km southeast of Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 10:57 am (GMT +12) (Jul 1, 2022 22:57 GMT)
1.9

13 km
South Pacific Ocean, 93 km east of Palmerston North, New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 9:58 am (GMT +12) (Jul 1, 2022 21:58 GMT)
1.9

3.6 km
Canterbury, 82 km south of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 8:36 am (GMT +12) (Jul 1, 2022 20:36 GMT)
1.5

12 km
23 km southeast of Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 6:01 am (GMT +12) (Jul 1, 2022 18:01 GMT)
2.1

19 km
Tasman Sea, 23 km north of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 5:38 am (GMT +12) (Jul 1, 2022 17:38 GMT)
1.8

15 km
90 km south of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 5:32 am (GMT +12) (Jul 1, 2022 17:32 GMT)
1.0

24 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 2, 2022 2:47 am (GMT +12) (Jul 1, 2022 14:47 GMT)
3.3

64 km
14 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 11:08 pm (GMT +12) (Jul 1, 2022 11:08 GMT)
1.6

20 km
29 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 10:20 pm (GMT +12) (Jul 1, 2022 10:20 GMT)
1.9

86 km
Tasman Sea, 92 km northeast of Nelson, New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 10:08 pm (GMT +12) (Jul 1, 2022 10:08 GMT)
1.3

14 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Jul 1, 2022 8:36 pm (GMT +12) (Jul 1, 2022 08:36 GMT)
1.2

5 km
Tasman Sea, 44 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 7.3 x 109 joules (2.03 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.75 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Porirua Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Porirua?

The last earthquake in Porirua occurred 1 hour and 1 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.4 earthquake - New Zealand on Saturday, Jul 2, 2022 at 4:53 pm (GMT +12).

How many quakes were there in Porirua today?

In the past 24 hours, Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand had 20 quakes up to magnitude 3.3.

What was the strongest quake in Porirua today?

The strongest earthquake in Porirua today occurred 15 hours ago: Weak mag. 3.3 earthquake - 14 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand, on Saturday, Jul 2, 2022 at 2:47 am (GMT +12).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jul 2, 2022 05:54 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.