Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes near Upper Hutt, Upper Hutt City, Wellington, New Zealand, past 30 days

Updated 25 Feb 2021 12:52 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Upper Hutt was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.5, 1 quake of magnitude 3.1, and 38 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 135 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 4.5 quake Porirua City, 26 km northeast of Wellington, New Zealand, 20 Feb 2021 6:15 pm (GMT +13)
Biggest quake today: 2.4 quake Tasman Sea, 34 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand, 25 Feb 2021 10:22 am (GMT +13)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 1.8 or higher (66 out of 175 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
25 Feb 2021 10:22 am (GMT +13) (24 Feb 2021 21:22:52 GMT)
2.4

7.1 km
(271 km)Tasman Sea, 34 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 7:39 am (GMT +13) (24 Feb 2021 18:39:52 GMT)
2.1

5 km
(266 km)Tasman Sea, 32 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 5:05 am (GMT +13) (24 Feb 2021 16:05:23 GMT)
1.9

4.6 km
(272 km)New Zealand MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 4:36 am (GMT +13) (24 Feb 2021 15:36:04 GMT)
1.8

4.6 km
(271 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
24 Feb 2021 4:18 am (GMT +13) (23 Feb 2021 15:18:35 GMT)
2.5

5 km
(269 km)Tasman Sea, 66 km southwest of Wellington, Nouvelle-Zélande MoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
23 Feb 2021 9:37 am (GMT +13) (22 Feb 2021 20:37:09 GMT)
1.8

15 km
(254 km)New Zealand MoreMap
23 Feb 2021 8:42 am (GMT +13) (22 Feb 2021 19:42:07 GMT)
2.3

19 km
(180 km)13 km northeast of Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 20 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
20 Feb 2021 10:03 pm (GMT +13) (20 Feb 2021 09:03:17 GMT)
2.1

10 km
(258 km)Tasman Sea, 29 km east of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 6:15 pm (GMT +13) (20 Feb 2021 05:15:06 GMT)
4.5

25 km
(208 km)Porirua City, 26 km northeast of Wellington, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 23 reports
MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 4:15 pm (GMT +13) (20 Feb 2021 03:15:39 GMT)
1.8

15 km
(146 km)New Zealand MoreMap
20 Feb 2021 2:40 pm (GMT +13) (20 Feb 2021 01:40:14 GMT)
1.9

46 km
(202 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 19 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
20 Feb 2021 12:24 am (GMT +13) (19 Feb 2021 11:24:20 GMT)
1.9

12 km
(266 km)New Zealand MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 2:56 pm (GMT +13) (19 Feb 2021 01:56:38 GMT)
2.0

12 km
(244 km)Tasman Sea, 28 km east of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
19 Feb 2021 12:47 pm (GMT +13) (18 Feb 2021 23:47:13 GMT)
2.0

49 km
(163 km)Tasman Sea, 67 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 3:25 pm (GMT +13) (18 Feb 2021 02:25:09 GMT)
2.0

12 km
(265 km)Tasman Sea, 57 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
18 Feb 2021 4:05 am (GMT +13) (17 Feb 2021 15:05:21 GMT)
1.8

19 km
(213 km)New Zealand MoreMap
18 Feb 2021 12:58 am (GMT +13) (17 Feb 2021 11:58:53 GMT)
2.0

5 km
(196 km)South Wairarapa District, 27 km northeast of Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 11:46 pm (GMT +13) (17 Feb 2021 10:46:23 GMT)
2.2

12 km
(165 km)Tasman Sea, 64 km north of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 8:51 pm (GMT +13) (17 Feb 2021 07:51:44 GMT)
3.1

13 km
(266 km)Tasman Sea, 36 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand MoreMap
17 Feb 2021 1:55 pm (GMT +13) (17 Feb 2021 00:55:32 GMT)
2.0

20 km
(177 km)12 km northeast of Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 8:33 pm (GMT +13) (14 Feb 2021 07:33:15 GMT)
2.0

53 km
(155 km)Tasman Sea, 76 km north of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 8:30 pm (GMT +13) (14 Feb 2021 07:30:04 GMT)
2.2

25 km
(172 km)20 km northwest of Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 9:18 am (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 20:18:08 GMT)
2.1

18 km
(228 km)Lower Hutt City, 20 km east of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 5:32 am (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 16:32:57 GMT)
2.5

23 km
(156 km)17 km east of Levin, Horowhenua District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 5:06 am (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 16:06:19 GMT)
1.8

12 km
(255 km)New Zealand MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 4:44 am (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 15:44:25 GMT)
2.0

12 km
(255 km)Tasman Sea, 42 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 2:41 am (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 13:41:53 GMT)
2.0

31 km
(173 km)Tasman Sea, 57 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 1:31 am (GMT +13) (13 Feb 2021 12:31:07 GMT)
2.4

21 km
(154 km)38 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
12 Feb 2021 10:42 pm (GMT +13) (12 Feb 2021 09:42:59 GMT)
1.8

5 km
(247 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 11 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
12 Feb 2021 9:03 am (GMT +13) (11 Feb 2021 20:03:09 GMT)
2.0

8.5 km
(218 km)Tasman Sea, 21 km west of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 12:04 am (GMT +13) (11 Feb 2021 11:04:26 GMT)
2.0

13 km
(236 km)Tasman Sea, 7.4 km south of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
11 Feb 2021 7:15 am (GMT +13) (10 Feb 2021 18:15:43 GMT)
2.0

26 km
(167 km)Kapiti Coast District, Wellington, 18 km southwest of Levin, New Zealand MoreMap
10 Feb 2021 11:51 pm (GMT +13) (10 Feb 2021 10:51:55 GMT)
1.8

21 km
(210 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
9 Feb 2021 8:25 pm (GMT +13) (9 Feb 2021 07:25:21 GMT)
1.9

26 km
(213 km)New Zealand MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 6:14 pm (GMT +13) (9 Feb 2021 05:14:18 GMT)
2.6

28 km
(208 km)Porirua City, 14 km north of Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 5:45 pm (GMT +13) (9 Feb 2021 04:45:40 GMT)
1.8

21 km
(224 km)New Zealand MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 1:56 pm (GMT +13) (9 Feb 2021 00:56:46 GMT)
2.9

4.7 km
(182 km)Tasman Sea, 48 km north of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
9 Feb 2021 2:07 am (GMT +13) (8 Feb 2021 13:07:04 GMT)
1.8

20 km
(172 km)New Zealand MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 11:08 pm (GMT +13) (8 Feb 2021 10:08:23 GMT)
1.8

5 km
(272 km)New Zealand MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 2:29 pm (GMT +13) (8 Feb 2021 01:29:26 GMT)
2.7

8.7 km
(250 km)Tasman Sea, 29 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (6 earthquakes)
8 Feb 2021 11:25 am (GMT +13) (7 Feb 2021 22:25:48 GMT)
2.6

17 km
(178 km)Tasman Sea, 10.1 km north of Paraparaumu, New Zealand MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 4:10 am (GMT +13) (7 Feb 2021 15:10:32 GMT)
2.6

4.5 km
(270 km)Tasman Sea, 67 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 1:01 am (GMT +13) (7 Feb 2021 12:01:05 GMT)
2.4

25 km
(208 km)Porirua City, 15 km north of Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 11:52 pm (GMT +13) (7 Feb 2021 10:52:31 GMT)
1.9

29 km
(208 km)New Zealand MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 11:36 pm (GMT +13) (7 Feb 2021 10:36:35 GMT)
2.1

20 km
(233 km)South Wairarapa District, 22 km southeast of Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
7 Feb 2021 5:01 pm (GMT +13) (7 Feb 2021 04:01:51 GMT)
2.2

28 km
(157 km)Tasman Sea, 36 km northwest of Kapiti Island, New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 6 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
6 Feb 2021 3:04 pm (GMT +13) (6 Feb 2021 02:04:32 GMT)
1.9

4.9 km
(180 km)New Zealand MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 2:51 pm (GMT +13) (6 Feb 2021 01:51:26 GMT)
2.0

20 km
(222 km)South Wairarapa District, 20 km southeast of Upper Hutt, Wellington, Nuova Zelanda MoreMap
Fri, 5 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
5 Feb 2021 10:29 pm (GMT +13) (5 Feb 2021 09:29:58 GMT)
1.8

5 km
(267 km)Tasman Sea, 58 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 4 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 Feb 2021 5:51 pm (GMT +13) (4 Feb 2021 04:51:12 GMT)
2.1

12 km
(267 km)Tasman Sea, 61 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Wed, 3 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
4 Feb 2021 9:52 am (GMT +13) (3 Feb 2021 20:52:33 GMT)
2.4

33 km
(227 km)Tasman Sea, 16 km south of Arapawa Island, New Zealand MoreMap
4 Feb 2021 12:38 am (GMT +13) (3 Feb 2021 11:38:10 GMT)
2.0

2 km
(168 km)Tasman Sea, 22 km north of Paraparaumu, New Zealand MoreMap
3 Feb 2021 11:28 pm (GMT +13) (3 Feb 2021 10:28:44 GMT)
2.0

8.4 km
(267 km)Tasman Sea, 59 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 2 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
3 Feb 2021 1:44 am (GMT +13) (2 Feb 2021 12:44:56 GMT)
2.2

12 km
(247 km)Tasman Sea, 34 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
2 Feb 2021 9:45 pm (GMT +13) (2 Feb 2021 08:45:11 GMT)
1.9

24 km
(185 km)New Zealand MoreMap
2 Feb 2021 8:35 pm (GMT +13) (2 Feb 2021 07:35:11 GMT)
1.8

24 km
(145 km)New Zealand MoreMap
2 Feb 2021 3:53 pm (GMT +13) (2 Feb 2021 02:53:38 GMT)
1.8

28 km
(190 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Mon, 1 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
2 Feb 2021 10:41 am (GMT +13) (1 Feb 2021 21:41:21 GMT)
2.2

24 km
(240 km)Tasman Sea, 30 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
2 Feb 2021 10:30 am (GMT +13) (1 Feb 2021 21:30:10 GMT)
1.9

12 km
(238 km)Tasman Sea, 32 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
1 Feb 2021 9:00 pm (GMT +13) (1 Feb 2021 08:00:50 GMT)
2.2

5 km
(184 km)Tasman Sea, 16 km west of Kapiti Island, New Zealand MoreMap
1 Feb 2021 2:36 pm (GMT +13) (1 Feb 2021 01:36:15 GMT)
1.8

20 km
(188 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Sun, 31 Jan 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
31 Jan 2021 4:24 pm (GMT +13) (31 Jan 2021 03:24:29 GMT)
2.2

32 km
(231 km)5.2 km southwest of Wellington, New Zealand MoreMap
31 Jan 2021 3:30 pm (GMT +13) (31 Jan 2021 02:30:03 GMT)
1.9

5 km
(153 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Sat, 30 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
31 Jan 2021 4:18 am (GMT +13) (30 Jan 2021 15:18:37 GMT)
1.8

24 km
(184 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Thu, 28 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
29 Jan 2021 7:30 am (GMT +13) (28 Jan 2021 18:30:55 GMT)
1.9

5 km
(194 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Tue, 26 Jan 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
27 Jan 2021 7:00 am (GMT +13) (26 Jan 2021 18:00:35 GMT)
1.8

5 km
(178 km)New Zealand MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.7 x 1011 joules (102 megawatt hours, equivalent to 87.6 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.