Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Gardiner, Montana, USA, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 18, 2022 23:06 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 7
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 18 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 97 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Since 1900, Gardiner has had 1 quake of magnitude 7.3, 6 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, 18 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 97 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 4.2 | 47 mi W of Cody, Park County, Wyoming, USA -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.3 | 6.4 mi NW of West Yellowstone, Gallatin County, Montana, USA -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 4 or higher (122 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
May 11, 2022 7:32 am (GMT -6) (May 11, 2022 13:32 GMT)
4.2

14 km
61 km (38 mi)47 mi west of Cody, Park County, Wyoming, USA 21 reportsMore
2019-08-15 17:02:37 -07:00 (Aug 16, 2019 00:02 GMT)
4.2

7.6 km
170 km (106 mi)3 mi northwest of Manhattan, Gallatin County, Montana, USA 54 reportsMore
2019-08-05 21:27:04 -07:00 (Aug 6, 2019 04:27 GMT)
4.1

5 km
171 km (106 mi)2.6 mi northwest of Manhattan, Gallatin County, Montana, USA 124 reportsMore
2019-07-13 18:52:46 -07:00 (Jul 14, 2019 01:52 GMT)
4.0

6 km
170 km (106 mi)2.5 mi northwest of Manhattan, Gallatin County, Montana, USA 170 reportsMore
2019-04-09 11:08:46 -07:00 (Apr 9, 2019 18:08 GMT)
4.4

11 km
134 km (83 mi)6.2 mi northeast of Lima, Beaverhead County, Montana, USA 8 reportsMore
2017-06-15 17:48:46 -07:00 (Jun 16, 2017 00:48 GMT)
4.4

9.3 km
49 km (30 mi)8.9 mi north of West Yellowstone, Gallatin County, Montana, USA 2 reportsMore
2016-09-03 17:44:13 -06:00 (Sep 3, 2016 23:44 GMT)
4.0

8 km
184 km (114 mi)10.1 mi south of Whitehall, Jefferson County, Montana, USA 4 reportsMore
2016-06-14 08:35:28 -06:00 (Jun 14, 2016 14:35 GMT)
4.0

9.7 km
93 km (58 mi)33 mi west of West Yellowstone, Gallatin County, Montana, USA 1 reportMore
2016-06-13 06:14:39 -06:00 (Jun 13, 2016 12:14 GMT)
4.3

10 km
93 km (58 mi)- 52km W of West Yellowstone, Montana 2 reportsMore
Sunday, March 30, 2014 06:34:39 (Mar 30, 2014 12:34 GMT)
4.8

6.8 km
38 km (24 mi)37km ENE of West Yellowstone, Montana 2 reportsMore
Apr 5, 2011 07:05 GMT
4.4

12 km
western Montana (USA) More
Oct 24, 2010 17:43 GMT
4.4

5 km
Wyoming (USA) More
Aug 5, 2010 14:59 GMT
4.2

5 km
Wyoming (USA) More
Mar 6, 2009 11:29 GMT
4.0

12 km
western Montana (USA) More
Mar 25, 2008 11:59 GMT
4.2

3.9 km
Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming (USA) More
May 8, 2007 15:46 GMT
4.4

14 km
western Montana (USA) More
Jun 18, 2006 00:05 GMT
4.1

12 km
western Montana (USA) More
Feb 5, 2006 03:25 GMT
4.4

14 km
western Montana (USA) More
Jan 18, 2006 09:47 GMT
4.0

8.7 km
western Montana (USA) More
Jul 27, 2005 15:51 GMT
4.0

5 km
western Montana (USA) More
Jul 26, 2005 04:08 GMT
5.6

13 km
western Montana (USA) More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8 x 1015 joules (2214 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1.9 x 106 tons of TNT or 119.1 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Bozeman, Montana, USA (BOZ/US network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Bozeman, Montana, USA: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Gardiner Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Gardiner?

The last earthquake in Gardiner occurred 21 weeks ago: Moderate mag. 4.2 earthquake - 47 mi west of Cody, Park County, Wyoming, USA, on Wednesday, May 11, 2022 at 7:32 am (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Gardiner since 1900?

Since 1900, Gardiner, Montana, USA had 122 quakes up to magnitude 7.3.

What was the strongest quake in Gardiner since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Gardiner since 1900 occurred 63 years ago: Major magnitude 7.3 earthquake - 6.4 mi northwest of West Yellowstone, Gallatin County, Montana, USA, on Tuesday, August 18, 1959 at 06:37 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 3, 2022 23:38 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings