Latest quakes in or near Upala, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica, in the past 24 hours on Thursday, July 7, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Jul 7, 2022 07:59 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 24 hours, Upala had 3 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 3 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
A weak magnitude 3.3 earthquake occurred in North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica, 1 hour and 41 minutes ago.

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.3 | North Pacific Ocean, 61 km W of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Upala, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica (updated )

Past 24 hours:6 quakes | 3 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 7 days:25 quakes | 15 quakes M2+ | 10 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:131 quakes | 73 quakes M2+ | 53 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:461 quakes | 248 quakes M2+ | 167 quakes M3+ | 18 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:1,452 quakes | 715 quakes M2+ | 598 quakes M3+ | 69 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (7 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, July 7, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Jul 7, 2022 12:18 am (GMT -6) (Jul 7, 2022 06:18 GMT)
3.3

27 km
North Pacific Ocean, 61 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 8:49 pm (GMT -6) (Jul 7, 2022 02:49 GMT)
?

n/a
38 km north of Puntarenas, Costa Rica (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 8:09 pm (GMT -6) (Jul 7, 2022 02:09 GMT)
2.5

156 km
9.5 km east of Nicaragua, Departamento de Rivas, Nicaragua MoreMap
Wednesday, July 6, 2022 GMT (4 quakes)
Jul 6, 2022 4:40 pm (GMT -6) (Jul 6, 2022 22:40 GMT)
3.1

26 km
Provincia de San José, 33 km south of Cartago, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 12:20 pm (GMT -6) (Jul 6, 2022 18:20 GMT)
3.3

26 km
North Pacific Ocean, 75 km south of Managua, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 9:05 am (GMT -6) (Jul 6, 2022 15:05 GMT)
2.8

85 km
Provincia de Alajuela, 41 km northwest of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica MoreMap
Jul 6, 2022 2:08 am (GMT -6) (Jul 6, 2022 08:08 GMT)
2.2

9 km
21 km west of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.6 x 1010 joules (4.32 megawatt hours, equivalent to 3.72 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Upala Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Upala?

The last earthquake in Upala occurred 1 hour and 41 minutes ago: Weak mag. 3.3 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 61 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica, on Thursday, Jul 7, 2022 at 12:18 am (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Upala today?

In the past 24 hours, Upala, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica had 7 quakes up to magnitude 3.3.

What was the strongest quake in Upala today?

The strongest earthquake in Upala today occurred 1 hour and 41 minutes ago: Weak mag. 3.3 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 61 km west of Liberia, Provincia de Guanacaste, Costa Rica, on Thursday, Jul 7, 2022 at 12:18 am (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jul 7, 2022 07:59 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings