Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 26, 2022 21:08 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes near Hamilton, Hamilton City, Waikato, New Zealand: past 7 days - list, stats and interactive map

Updated Jan 26, 2022 21:08 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Hamilton was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 3.2 and 8 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 7 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.2 quake South Waikato District, 81 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand, Jan 21, 2022 12:17 pm (GMT +13)
Biggest quake today: 2.3 quake South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand, Jan 26, 2022 11:34 am (GMT +13)
Most recent quake: 2.2 quake South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand, Jan 26, 2022 10:59 pm (GMT +13)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (16 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wednesday, January 26, 2022 09:59 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 26, 2022 10:59 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 26, 2022 09:59 GMT)
2.2

101 km
South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Tuesday, January 25, 2022 22:34 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Jan 26, 2022 11:34 am (GMT +13) (Jan 25, 2022 22:34 GMT)
2.3

148 km
South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Jan 26, 2022 8:42 am (GMT +13) (Jan 25, 2022 19:42 GMT)
1.7

126 km
South Waikato District, 84 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Jan 26, 2022 4:39 am (GMT +13) (Jan 25, 2022 15:39 GMT)
1.5

125 km
Otorohanga District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Monday, January 24, 2022 09:01 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 24, 2022 10:01 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 24, 2022 09:01 GMT)
1.7

40 km
South Waikato District, 94 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Sunday, January 23, 2022 20:15 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Jan 24, 2022 9:15 am (GMT +13) (Jan 23, 2022 20:15 GMT)
2.2

158 km
South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Jan 24, 2022 1:17 am (GMT +13) (Jan 23, 2022 12:17 GMT)
1.7

118 km
South Waikato District, 94 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Saturday, January 22, 2022 23:43 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Jan 23, 2022 12:43 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 22, 2022 23:43 GMT)
1.6

143 km
Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, 84 km southeast of Hamilton, New Zealand MoreMap
Jan 23, 2022 9:29 am (GMT +13) (Jan 22, 2022 20:29 GMT)
2.1

163 km
Taupo District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Jan 23, 2022 3:23 am (GMT +13) (Jan 22, 2022 14:23 GMT)
1.8

162 km
Western Bay of Plenty District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Jan 22, 2022 9:16 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 22, 2022 08:16 GMT)
1.9

147 km
South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Friday, January 21, 2022 02:22 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 21, 2022 3:22 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 21, 2022 02:22 GMT)
2.2

183 km
Western Bay of Plenty District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Thursday, January 20, 2022 23:17 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Jan 21, 2022 12:17 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 20, 2022 23:17 GMT)
3.2

143 km
South Waikato District, 81 km southeast of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Jan 21, 2022 12:15 pm (GMT +13) (Jan 20, 2022 23:15 GMT)
2.7

193 km
South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Jan 21, 2022 2:55 am (GMT +13) (Jan 20, 2022 13:55 GMT)
2.7

213 km
Waitomo District, 63 km southwest of Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Wednesday, January 19, 2022 21:50 GMT (1 earthquake)
Jan 20, 2022 10:50 am (GMT +13) (Jan 19, 2022 21:50 GMT)
2.7

135 km
Taupo District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.9 x 109 joules (1.92 megawatt hours, equivalent to 1.65 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel