Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 18, 2021 14:23 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes near Matamata, Matamata-Piako District, Waikato, New Zealand: past 7 days

Updated Oct 18, 2021 14:23 GMT -
During the past 7 days, Matamata was shaken by 5 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 17 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 5 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 3.8 quake South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand, Oct 15, 2021 8:29 am (GMT +13)
Biggest quake today: 2.1 quake Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, Oct 18, 2021 8:22 pm (GMT +13)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (27 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, October 18, 2021 07:22 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 18, 2021 8:22 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 18, 2021 07:22 GMT)
2.1

4.6 km
4 km (2.5 mi)Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Sunday, October 17, 2021 12:27 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 18, 2021 1:27 am (GMT +13) (Oct 17, 2021 12:27 GMT)
2.7

148 km
18 km (11 mi)Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Oct 18, 2021 1:04 am (GMT +13) (Oct 17, 2021 12:04 GMT)
2.2

154 km
23 km (14 mi)South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand 1 reportMoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 3:33 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 17, 2021 02:33 GMT)
3.3

135 km
34 km (21 mi)South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Saturday, October 16, 2021 20:14 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Oct 17, 2021 9:14 am (GMT +13) (Oct 16, 2021 20:14 GMT)
2.5

105 km
6 km (3.7 mi)Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 6:01 am (GMT +13) (Oct 16, 2021 17:01 GMT)
3.0

169 km
45 km (28 mi)South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 4:33 am (GMT +13) (Oct 16, 2021 15:33 GMT)
2.3

141 km
22 km (14 mi)Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 17, 2021 1:35 am (GMT +13) (Oct 16, 2021 12:35 GMT)
2.5

143 km
12 km (7.5 mi)South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 10:26 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 16, 2021 09:26 GMT)
1.7

138 km
10 km (6.2 mi)Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Friday, October 15, 2021 19:32 GMT (8 earthquakes)
Oct 16, 2021 8:32 am (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 19:32 GMT)
2.7

168 km
20 km (12 mi)South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 6:56 am (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 17:56 GMT)
2.2

148 km
6 km (3.7 mi)Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 16, 2021 5:17 am (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 16:17 GMT)
1.6

133 km
22 km (14 mi)South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 9:26 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 08:26 GMT)
2.0

90 km
19 km (12 mi)Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 4:56 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 03:56 GMT)
1.7
81 km (50 mi)Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 4:48 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 03:48 GMT)
2.2

129 km
15 km (9.3 mi)Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 3:19 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 02:19 GMT)
2.1

160 km
42 km (26 mi)South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 1:34 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 15, 2021 00:34 GMT)
3.1

137 km
12 km (7.5 mi)South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Thursday, October 14, 2021 20:24 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Oct 15, 2021 9:24 am (GMT +13) (Oct 14, 2021 20:24 GMT)
2.2

4.1 km
5 km (3.1 mi)Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 8:29 am (GMT +13) (Oct 14, 2021 19:29 GMT)
3.8

182 km
29 km (18 mi)South Waikato District, Waikato, New Zealand
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 6:37 am (GMT +13) (Oct 14, 2021 17:37 GMT)
2.1

104 km
18 km (11 mi)Western Bay of Plenty District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 5:29 am (GMT +13) (Oct 14, 2021 16:29 GMT)
1.9

180 km
29 km (18 mi)South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 15, 2021 3:36 am (GMT +13) (Oct 14, 2021 14:36 GMT)
2.0

162 km
49 km (30 mi)South Pacific Ocean, New Zealand MoreMap
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 15:05 GMT (5 earthquakes)
Oct 13, 2021 4:05 am (GMT +13) (Oct 12, 2021 15:05 GMT)
2.6

194 km
36 km (22 mi)Tauranga City, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 13, 2021 12:23 am (GMT +13) (Oct 12, 2021 11:23 GMT)
1.9

92 km
12 km (7.5 mi)Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 12, 2021 11:53 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 12, 2021 10:53 GMT)
2.8

107 km
5 km (3.1 mi)Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 12, 2021 7:05 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 12, 2021 06:05 GMT)
2.5

119 km
13 km (8.1 mi)Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Oct 12, 2021 6:29 pm (GMT +13) (Oct 12, 2021 05:29 GMT)
3.0

128 km
12 km (7.5 mi)Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.9 x 1010 joules (13.7 megawatt hours, equivalent to 11.8 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.