Largest earthquakes in or near Okinawa, Japan, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 13, 2022 23:38 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 7
  • 18 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 218 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
Since 1900, Okinawa has had 1 quake of magnitude 7.0, 18 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, and 218 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 5.1 | East China Sea, 143 km NW of Naha, Okinawa, Japan -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.0 | 77 km SE of Okinawa, Japan -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Filter by age:
all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 5 or higher (237 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Jul 25, 2022 10:44 pm (GMT +8) (Jul 25, 2022 14:44 GMT)
5.1

10 km
211 km (131 mi)East China Sea, 143 km northwest of Naha, Okinawa, Japan MoreMap
Jul 25, 2022 11:41 pm (GMT +9) (Jul 25, 2022 14:41 GMT)
5.1

10 km
216 km (134 mi)Nakagami, 4.6 km southwest of Okinawa, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
Jul 8, 2022 8:00 am (GMT +8) (Jul 8, 2022 00:00 GMT)
5.0

10 km
217 km (135 mi)East China Sea, 142 km northwest of Naha, Okinawa, Japan MoreMap
Jun 19, 2022 7:07 pm (GMT +9) (Jun 19, 2022 10:07 GMT)
5.1

10 km
213 km (132 mi)East China Sea, 134 km northwest of Naha, Okinawa, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
Jun 19, 2022 6:55 pm (GMT +9) (Jun 19, 2022 09:55 GMT)
5.5

10 km
210 km (130 mi)East China Sea, 127 km northwest of Naha, Okinawa, Japan 2 reportsMoreMap
Jun 3, 2022 4:03 pm (GMT +9) (Jun 3, 2022 07:03 GMT)
5.6

10 km
214 km (133 mi)East China Sea, 142 km northwest of Naha, Okinawa, Japan 7 reportsMoreMap
May 7, 2022 8:53 pm (GMT +9) (May 7, 2022 11:53 GMT)
5.5

10 km
213 km (132 mi)East China Sea, 137 km northwest of Naha, Okinawa, Japan 22 reportsMoreMap
May 6, 2022 10:21 pm (GMT +9) (May 6, 2022 13:21 GMT)
5.4

10 km
205 km (127 mi)East China Sea, 134 km northwest of Naha, Okinawa, Japan 9 reportsMoreMap
Apr 14, 2022 8:15 am (GMT +8) (Apr 14, 2022 00:15 GMT)
5.0

10 km
207 km (129 mi)East China Sea, 137 km northwest of Naha, Okinawa, Japan MoreMap
Apr 13, 2022 10:22 am (GMT +9) (Apr 13, 2022 01:22 GMT)
5.6

8 km
211 km (131 mi)East China Sea, 146 km northwest of Naha, Okinawa, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
Apr 6, 2022 12:12 pm (GMT +9) (Apr 6, 2022 03:12 GMT)
5.0

10 km
221 km (137 mi)East China Sea, 134 km northwest of Naha, Okinawa, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
Apr 3, 2022 6:00 pm (GMT +9) (Apr 3, 2022 09:00 GMT)
5.0

10 km
214 km (133 mi)East China Sea, 141 km northwest of Naha, Okinawa, Japan MoreMap
Mar 30, 2022 1:36 am (GMT +8) (Mar 29, 2022 17:36 GMT)
5.4

10 km
212 km (132 mi)East China Sea, 144 km northwest of Naha, Okinawa, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
Mar 27, 2022 12:38 am (GMT +9) (Mar 26, 2022 15:38 GMT)
5.4

10 km
208 km (129 mi)East China Sea, 134 km northwest of Naha, Okinawa, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
Mar 24, 2022 6:53 am (GMT +8) (Mar 23, 2022 22:53 GMT)
5.1

10 km
217 km (135 mi)East China Sea, 143 km northwest of Naha, Okinawa, Japan MoreMap
Mar 24, 2022 3:11 am (GMT +9) (Mar 23, 2022 18:11 GMT)
5.3

10 km
217 km (135 mi)East China Sea, 148 km northwest of Naha, Okinawa, Japan MoreMap
Mar 17, 2022 9:52 pm (GMT +9) (Mar 17, 2022 12:52 GMT)
5.2

10 km
206 km (128 mi)East China Sea, 142 km northwest of Naha, Okinawa, Japan 2 reportsMoreMap
Mar 17, 2022 8:33 pm (GMT +9) (Mar 17, 2022 11:33 GMT)
5.6

10 km
217 km (135 mi)East China Sea, 146 km northwest of Naha, Okinawa, Japan 10 reportsMoreMap
Feb 25, 2022 5:50 pm (GMT +9) (Feb 25, 2022 08:50 GMT)
5.3

10 km
215 km (134 mi)East China Sea, 135 km northwest of Naha, Okinawa, Japan 2 reportsMoreMap
Feb 24, 2022 4:53 am (GMT +9) (Feb 23, 2022 19:53 GMT)
5.1

10 km
205 km (127 mi)East China Sea, 143 km northwest of Naha, Okinawa, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
Feb 22, 2022 5:52 am (GMT +9) (Feb 21, 2022 20:52 GMT)
5.5

9.7 km
208 km (129 mi)East China Sea, 144 km northwest of Naha, Okinawa, Japan 5 reportsMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.5 x 1015 joules (2361 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 2 x 106 tons of TNT or 127 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Okinawa Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Okinawa?

The last earthquake in Okinawa occurred 3 weeks ago: Strong mag. 5.1 earthquake - East China Sea, 143 km northwest of Naha, Okinawa, Japan, on Monday, Jul 25, 2022 at 10:44 pm (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in Okinawa since 1900?

Since 1900, Okinawa, Japan had 237 quakes up to magnitude 7.0.

What was the strongest quake in Okinawa since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Okinawa since 1900 occurred 12 years ago: Major magnitude 7.0 earthquake - 77 km southeast of Okinawa, Japan, on Friday, February 26, 2010 at 20:31 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Aug 16, 2022 06:13 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings