Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Chalchuapa, Santa Ana, El Salvador, in the past 24 hours on Friday, January 27, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 05:24 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 8 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 6 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Chalchuapa had 3 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 8 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 6 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A light magnitude 3.3 earthquake occurred in Departamento de Jalapa, Guatemala, 2 hours and 44 minutes ago.

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.3 | 4.2 km S of Jalapa, Departamento de Jalapa, Guatemala -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Chalchuapa, Santa Ana, El Salvador (updated )

Past 24 hours17 quakes8 quakes M2+3 quakes M3+
Past 7 days230 quakes98 quakes M2+29 quakes M3+2 quakes M4+
Past 30 days732 quakes410 quakes M2+121 quakes M3+9 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+
Past 90 days1,141 quakes619 quakes M2+271 quakes M3+33 quakes M4+6 quakes M5+
Past 365 days2,712 quakes1,447 quakes M2+823 quakes M3+119 quakes M4+8 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (17 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, January 27, 2023 GMT (2 quakes)
Jan 26, 2023 8:41 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 27, 2023 02:41 GMT)
3.3

3 km
4.2 km south of Jalapa, Departamento de Jalapa, Guatemala
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jan 26, 2023 8:04 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 27, 2023 02:04 GMT)
1.7

9 km
15 Km Al Norte De Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Thursday, January 26, 2023 GMT (15 quakes)
Jan 26, 2023 2:07 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 20:07 GMT)
3.2

30 km
North Pacific Ocean, 70 km southwest of San Salvador, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 9:29 am (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 15:29 GMT)
2.9

6 km
25 km southeast of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 9:12 am (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 15:12 GMT)
2.3

5 km
25 km southeast of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala More
Jan 26, 2023 8:59 am (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 14:59 GMT)
3.2

29 km
North Pacific Ocean, 39 km southwest of Acajutla, El Salvador
I FELT IT
More
Jan 26, 2023 7:22 am (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 13:22 GMT)
1.6

8 km
17 Km Al Norte De Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Jan 26, 2023 7:04 am (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 13:04 GMT)
2.0

6 km
22 km south of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala More
Jan 26, 2023 5:16 am (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 11:16 GMT)
1.8

10 km
8.5 km north of Ahuachapan, Ahuachapán, Departamento de Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Jan 26, 2023 4:01 am (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 10:01 GMT)
1.8

10 km
9.1 km north of Ahuachapan, Ahuachapán, Departamento de Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Jan 26, 2023 3:48 am (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 09:48 GMT)
1.8

7 km
24 km south of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala More
Jan 26, 2023 3:45 am (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 09:45 GMT)
2.3

5 km
23 km south of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala More
Jan 26, 2023 3:32 am (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 09:32 GMT)
2.5

6 km
23 km south of Jutiapa, Departamento de Jutiapa, Guatemala More
Jan 26, 2023 12:46 am (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 06:46 GMT)
1.7

10 km
13 Km Al Norte De Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Jan 26, 2023 12:18 am (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 06:18 GMT)
2.1

5 km
Guatemala, 15 km north of Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Jan 26, 2023 12:08 am (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 06:08 GMT)
2.4

5 km
Guatemala, 15 km north of Ahuachapan, El Salvador More
Jan 25, 2023 11:48 pm (GMT -6) (Jan 26, 2023 05:48 GMT)
2.5

42 km
North Pacific Ocean, 45 km south of Sonsonate, El Salvador More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.7 x 1010 joules (4.62 megawatt hours, equivalent to 3.97 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Montecristo, El Salvador (SNET/SV network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Montecristo, El Salvador: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Chalchuapa Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Chalchuapa?

The last earthquake in Chalchuapa occurred 2 hours and 44 minutes ago: Light mag. 3.3 earthquake - 4.2 km south of Jalapa, Departamento de Jalapa, Guatemala, on Thursday, Jan 26, 2023 at 8:41 pm (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Chalchuapa today?

In the past 24 hours, Chalchuapa, Santa Ana, El Salvador had 17 quakes up to magnitude 3.3.

What was the strongest quake in Chalchuapa today?

The strongest earthquake in Chalchuapa today occurred 2 hours and 44 minutes ago: Light mag. 3.3 earthquake - 4.2 km south of Jalapa, Departamento de Jalapa, Guatemala, on Thursday, Jan 26, 2023 at 8:41 pm (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 27, 2023 05:24 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings