Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Santiago de los Caballeros de Merida, Mérida, Venezuela, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 21, 2022 12:38 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 6
  • 41 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 156 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Since 1900, Santiago de los Caballeros de Merida has had 4 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 41 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 156 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 4.4 | 15 km E of El Vigia, Municipio Alberto Adriani, Mérida, Venezuela -

Strongest quake: Mag. 6.4 | Lara, Venezuela -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 4 or higher (201 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Aug 13, 2022 3:10 am (GMT -4) (Aug 13, 2022 07:10 GMT)
4.4

10 km
502 km (312 mi)15 km east of El Vigia, Municipio Alberto Adriani, Mérida, Venezuela 12 reportsMore
Jun 8, 2022 12:39 am (GMT -4) (Jun 8, 2022 04:39 GMT)
4.5

10 km
510 km (317 mi)28 km west of Santiago de los Caballeros de Merida, Venezuela 56 reportsMore
Mar 1, 2022 1:28 pm (GMT -4) (Mar 1, 2022 17:28 GMT)
4.5

15 km
548 km (341 mi)18 km northeast of Santiago de los Caballeros de Merida, Venezuela 1 reportMore
Mar 1, 2022 3:59 am (GMT -4) (Mar 1, 2022 07:59 GMT)
4.2

18 km
577 km (359 mi)51 km northeast of Santiago de los Caballeros de Merida, Venezuela 4 reportsMore
16 Jul 5:26 am (GMT -4) (Jul 16, 2021 09:26 GMT)
4.0

6.2 km
624 km (388 mi)22 km west of Barinitas, Municipio Bolivar, Barinas, Venezuela 9 reportsMore
3 Jun 1:17 pm (GMT -4) (Jun 3, 2021 17:17 GMT)
5.0

10 km
726 km (451 mi)29 km southeast of Carora, Municipio Torres, Lara, Venezuela 13 reportsMore
Mar 22, 2021 10:48 pm (GMT -4) (Mar 23, 2021 02:48 GMT)
4.7

27 km
398 km (247 mi)Apure, 55 km southeast of San Cristobal, Tachira, Venezuela 12 reportsMore
Feb 22, 2021 6:34 am (GMT -4) (Feb 22, 2021 10:34 GMT)
4.0

1.5 km
644 km (400 mi)33 km north of Valera, Trujillo, Venezuela 1 reportMore
Dec 19, 2020 2:48 am (GMT -4) (Dec 19, 2020 06:48 GMT)
4.4

5 km
592 km (368 mi)20 km west of Barinitas, Bolívar, Barinas, Venezuela 3 reportsMore
Nov 10, 2020 7:02 am (GMT -4) (Nov 10, 2020 11:02 GMT)
4.2

5 km
744 km (462 mi)47 km west of Barquisimeto, Lara, Venezuela More
Jul 13, 2020 08:42 GMT
4.3

9.5 km
691 km (429 mi)31 km northwest of Guanare, Portuguesa, Venezuela 4 reportsMore
Jul 12, 2020 15:08 GMT
5.0

10 km
706 km (439 mi)Portuguesa, 32 km south of Tocuyo, Municipio Moran, Lara, Venezuela 65 reportsMore
Sep 16, 2019 01:00 GMT
4.2

6.2 km
449 km (279 mi)Tachira, 78 km southwest of Mucumpiz, Mérida, Venezuela More
Jul 22, 2019 10:00 GMT
4.4

5 km
518 km (322 mi)27 Km Al Noreste De El Vigia (Venezuela) More
May 21, 2019 19:52 GMT
4.0

2.5 km
595 km (370 mi)Caribbean Sea, 57 km southwest of Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela More
May 4, 2019 17:49 GMT
4.0

1.3 km
598 km (372 mi)20 km west of Barinitas, Municipio Bolivar, Barinas, Venezuela More
Feb 7, 2019 14:33 GMT
4.0

5 km
663 km (412 mi)29 km west of Guanare, Portuguesa, Venezuela More
Jan 19, 2019 16:48 GMT
4.0

6.7 km
606 km (377 mi)23 km southwest of Valera, Trujillo, Venezuela More
Nov 28, 2018 15:00 GMT
4.7

10 km
638 km (396 mi)9.9 km south of Trujillo, Venezuela 2 reportsMore
Nov 24, 2018 20:41 GMT
5.0

10 km
661 km (411 mi)27 km east of Trujillo, Venezuela 13 reportsMore
Nov 17, 2018 20:13 GMT
4.0

110 km
469 km (291 mi)21 km southwest of El Vigia, Municipio Alberto Adriani, Mérida, Venezuela More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 8.2 x 1014 joules (227 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 2 x 105 tons of TNT or 12.2 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Santo Domingo, Venezuela (SDV/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Santo Domingo, Venezuela: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Santiago de los Caballeros de Merida Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Santiago de los Caballeros de Merida?

The last earthquake in Santiago de los Caballeros de Merida occurred 6 weeks ago: Moderate mag. 4.4 earthquake - 15 km east of El Vigia, Municipio Alberto Adriani, Mérida, Venezuela, on Saturday, Aug 13, 2022 at 3:10 am (GMT -4).

How many quakes were there in Santiago de los Caballeros de Merida since 1900?

Since 1900, Santiago de los Caballeros de Merida, Mérida, Venezuela had 201 quakes up to magnitude 6.4.

What was the strongest quake in Santiago de los Caballeros de Merida since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Santiago de los Caballeros de Merida since 1900 occurred 72 years ago: Very strong mag. 6.4 earthquake - Lara, Venezuela, on Thursday, August 3, 1950 at 22:18 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Sep 24, 2022 17:25 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings