Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Isla Vista, California, USA, in the past 24 hours on Thursday, February 2, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Feb 2, 2023 22:17 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 2
  • 3 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Isla Vista had 1 quake of magnitude 2.9. There were also 3 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A light magnitude 2.9 earthquake was felt in California, USA, 22 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.4 | 2km NW of Maywood, CA -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.9 | 7.4 mi SE of Santa Clarita, Los Angeles County, California, USA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Isla Vista, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours4 quakes1 quake M2+
Past 7 days39 quakes3 quakes M2+
Past 30 days111 quakes17 quakes M2+1 quake M3+1 quake M4+
Past 90 days378 quakes46 quakes M2+2 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 365 days1,654 quakes221 quakes M2+27 quakes M3+3 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (6 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, February 2, 2023 GMT (6 quakes)
Feb 2, 2023 1:38 pm (GMT -8) (Feb 2, 2023 21:38 GMT)
1.4

0.9 km
2km NW of Maywood, CA More
Feb 2, 2023 6:55 am (GMT -8) (Feb 2, 2023 14:55 GMT)
?

n/a
9.1 mi north of Atascadero, San Luis Obispo County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Feb 2, 2023 2:44 am (GMT -8) (Feb 2, 2023 10:44 GMT)
?

n/a
26 mi east of Oxnard, Ventura County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Feb 1, 2023 10:18 pm (GMT -8) (Feb 2, 2023 06:18 GMT)
1.2

11 km
3km WNW of Lebec, CA More
Feb 1, 2023 7:40 pm (GMT -8) (Feb 2, 2023 03:40 GMT)
1.2

5.2 km
13km WNW of Mojave, CA More
Feb 1, 2023 4:11 pm (GMT -8) (Feb 2, 2023 00:11 GMT)
2.9

2.5 km
7.4 mi southeast of Santa Clarita, Los Angeles County, California, USA
I FELT IT - 17 reports
More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.4 x 109 joules (397 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.341 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Santa Barbara (SBC/CI network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Santa Barbara: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Isla Vista Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Isla Vista?

The last earthquake in Isla Vista occurred 39 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.4 earthquake - 2km NW of Maywood, CA, on Thursday, Feb 2, 2023 at 1:38 pm (GMT -8).

How many quakes were there in Isla Vista today?

In the past 24 hours, Isla Vista, California, USA had 6 quakes up to magnitude 2.9.

What was the strongest quake in Isla Vista today?

The strongest earthquake in Isla Vista today occurred 22 hours ago: Light mag. 2.9 earthquake - 7.4 mi southeast of Santa Clarita, Los Angeles County, California, USA, on Wednesday, Feb 1, 2023 at 4:11 pm (GMT -8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Feb 2, 2023 22:17 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings