Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Sep 24, 2021 19:29 GMT

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes near San Rafael, Escazú, Provincia de San José, Costa Rica: past 7 days

Updated Sep 24, 2021 19:29 GMT -
During the past 7 days, San Rafael was shaken by 6 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 6 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 3.7 quake Pococi, Provincia de Limon, 31 km northeast of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica, Sep 21, 2021 8:40 am (GMT -6)
Biggest quake today: 2.9 quake Leon Cortés Castro, 24 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica, Sep 23, 2021 6:37 pm (GMT -6)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (14 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Friday, September 24, 2021 00:37 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 23, 2021 6:37 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 24, 2021 00:37 GMT)
2.9

64 km
34 km (21 mi)Leon Cortés Castro, 24 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica MoreMap
Thursday, September 23, 2021 03:06 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Sep 22, 2021 9:06 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 23, 2021 03:06 GMT)
?

n/a
64 km (40 mi)14 km northeast of San Isidro, Costa Rica (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Sep 22, 2021 8:20 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 23, 2021 02:20 GMT)
3.3

4 km
19 km (12 mi)Sarapiqui, Provincia de Heredia, 33 km northeast of San Jose, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sep 22, 2021 7:42 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 23, 2021 01:42 GMT)
2.8

17 km
16 km (9.9 mi)Sarapiqui, Provincia de Heredia, 33 km north of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica MoreMap
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 23:19 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Sep 22, 2021 5:19 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 22, 2021 23:19 GMT)
3.4

4 km
20 km (12 mi)Sarapiqui, Provincia de Heredia, 34 km northeast of San Jose, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sep 22, 2021 2:51 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 22, 2021 20:51 GMT)
3.4

31 km
50 km (31 mi)Tarrazu, 34 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sep 22, 2021 12:58 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 22, 2021 18:58 GMT)
3.6

6 km
19 km (12 mi)Pococi, Provincia de Limon, 32 km northeast of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sep 22, 2021 12:58 am (GMT -6) (Sep 22, 2021 06:58 GMT)
2.6

4 km
19 km (12 mi)Pococi, Provincia de Limon, 32 km northeast of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tuesday, September 21, 2021 14:40 GMT (4 earthquakes)
Sep 21, 2021 8:40 am (GMT -6) (Sep 21, 2021 14:40 GMT)
3.7

4 km
19 km (12 mi)Pococi, Provincia de Limon, 31 km northeast of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 2 reports
MoreMap
Sep 21, 2021 6:09 am (GMT -6) (Sep 21, 2021 12:09 GMT)
2.9

33 km
78 km (48 mi)7.7 km south of San Isidro, Pérez Zeledon, Provincia de San José, Costa Rica MoreMap
Sep 21, 2021 2:57 am (GMT -6) (Sep 21, 2021 08:57 GMT)
2.7

12 km
33 km (21 mi)Leon Cortés Castro, 23 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica MoreMap
Sep 21, 2021 2:12 am (GMT -6) (Sep 21, 2021 08:12 GMT)
2.2

13 km
33 km (21 mi)Leon Cortés Castro, 24 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica MoreMap
Sunday, September 19, 2021 01:26 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 18, 2021 7:26 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 19, 2021 01:26 GMT)
?

n/a
8 km (5 mi)28 km northwest of Ciudad Quesada, San Carlos, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Saturday, September 18, 2021 15:24 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 18, 2021 9:24 am (GMT -6) (Sep 18, 2021 15:24 GMT)
3.2

4 km
55 km (34 mi)15 km north of San Isidro, Pérez Zeledon, Provincia de San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.9 x 1010 joules (19.1 megawatt hours, equivalent to 16.5 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.