Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Jan 27, 2022 14:13 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Past earthquakes near Jakarta, Indonesia: 2020 - list, stats and interactive map

Updated Jan 27, 2022 14:13 GMT -
During 2020, Jakarta was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.1, 12 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 41 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 31 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 4 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 5.1 quake 2.1 km north of Rangkasbitung, Banten, Indonesia, July, 7 2020 04:44 GMT
...Read More

Earthquake Catalog

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (89 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, December 3, 2020 05:41 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 3, 2020 12:41 pm (GMT +7) (Dec 3, 2020 05:41 GMT)
3.1

16 km
Indian Ocean, 6.6 km southwest of Pelabuhanratu, West Java, Indonesia MoreMap
Tuesday, December 1, 2020 23:46 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 2, 2020 6:46 am (GMT +7) (Dec 1, 2020 23:46 GMT)
3.0

172 km
15 km northwest of Pandeglang, Banten, Indonesia MoreMap
Dec 2, 2020 5:30 am (GMT +7) (Dec 1, 2020 22:30 GMT)
2.9

18 km
Indian Ocean, 48 km southwest of Labuan, Kabupaten Pandeglang, Banten, Indonesia MoreMap
Sunday, November 15, 2020 22:19 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 16, 2020 5:19 am (GMT +7) (Nov 15, 2020 22:19 GMT)
4.3

10 km
75 km south of Jakarta, Indonesia MoreMap
Saturday, November 7, 2020 10:36 GMT (1 earthquake)
Nov 7, 2020 5:36 pm (GMT +7) (Nov 7, 2020 10:36 GMT)
3.1

29 km
31 km WNW of Pelabuhanratu, Indonesia MoreMap
Wednesday, October 28, 2020 21:51 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 28, 2020 21:51 GMT
2.9

14 km
Lebak Regency, Banten, 0.8 km southeast of Sawarna, Indonesia MoreMap
Tuesday, October 27, 2020 00:33 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 27, 2020 00:33 GMT
3.8

10 km
104 km southwest of Jakarta, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
Sunday, October 25, 2020 01:22 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 25, 2020 01:22 GMT
2.9

10 km
Indian Ocean, 43 km west of Pelabuhanratu, West Java, Indonesia MoreMap
Saturday, October 24, 2020 07:22 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 24, 2020 07:22 GMT
2.7

10 km
Banten, 21 km west of Pelabuhanratu (West Java), Indonesia MoreMap
Friday, October 23, 2020 23:24 GMT (2 earthquakes)
24 Oct 6:24 am (GMT +7) (Oct 23, 2020 23:24 GMT)
2.9

10 km
Indian Ocean, 27 km west of Pelabuhanratu, West Java, Indonesia MoreMap
Oct 23, 2020 00:04 GMT
2.8

10 km
Banten, 28 km west of Pelabuhanratu (West Java), Indonesia MoreMap
Thursday, October 22, 2020 22:09 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 22, 2020 22:09 GMT
2.9

10 km
Indian Ocean, 33 km west of Pelabuhanratu, West Java, Indonesia MoreMap
Wednesday, October 21, 2020 23:50 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 22, 2020 6:50 am (GMT +7) (Oct 21, 2020 23:50 GMT)
4.4

10 km
104 km southwest of Jakarta, Indonesia 3 reportsMoreMap
22 Oct 12:38 am (GMT +7) (Oct 21, 2020 17:38 GMT)
3.6

10 km
109 km southwest of Jakarta, Indonesia 1 reportMoreMap
21 Oct 1:10 pm (GMT +7) (Oct 21, 2020 06:10 GMT)
3.2

10 km
Indian Ocean, 40 km west of Pelabuhanratu, West Java, Indonesia MoreMap
Wednesday, October 14, 2020 01:01 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 14, 2020 01:01 GMT
2.7

10 km
16 km east of Pelabuhanratu, West Java, Indonesia MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.8 x 1012 joules (1.89 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1629 tons of TNT or 0.1 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel