Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Jeju City, Jeju-do, South Korea, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 22, 2022 18:06 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 7 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
Since 1900, Jeju City has had 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 7 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 3 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.3 | Yellow Sea, 130 km W of Jeju City, Jeju-do, South Korea -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.6 | East China Sea, 69 km SW of Jeju City, Jeju-do, South Korea -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 2.1 or higher (12 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Nov 20, 2022 1:01 am (GMT +9) (Nov 19, 2022 16:01 GMT)
3.3

10 km
138 km (86 mi)Yellow Sea, 130 km west of Jeju City, Jeju-do, South Korea More
Aug 3, 2022 7:55 am (GMT +9) (Aug 2, 2022 22:55 GMT)
3.1

10 km
109 km (68 mi)Japan Sea, 114 km east of Jeju City, Jeju-do, South Korea More
Jul 16, 2022 1:53 pm (GMT +9) (Jul 16, 2022 04:53 GMT)
2.6

19 km
126 km (78 mi)Japan Sea, Japan More
Dec 17, 2021 6:22 am (GMT +9) (Dec 16, 2021 21:22 GMT)
3.2

10 km
43 km (27 mi)East China Sea, 39 km southwest of Seogwipo, Jeju-do, South Korea More
Dec 14, 2021 5:19 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 14, 2021 08:19 GMT)
4.6

10 km
60 km (37 mi)East China Sea, 69 km southwest of Jeju City, Jeju-do, South Korea 34 reportsMore
May 3, 2020 1:07 pm (GMT +0) (May 3, 2020 13:07 GMT)
3.1

10 km
144 km (89 mi)17 km south of Mokpo, Jeollanam-do, South Korea More
Sep 22, 2019 02:07 GMT
3.3

10 km
154 km (96 mi)Yellow Sea, 114 km southwest of Sinan, Jeollanam-do, South Korea More
Wed, 11 Sep 2013 13:00:29 JST (Sep 11, 2013 04:00 GMT)
4.1

42 km
123 km (76 mi)Yellow Sea, 479 km south of Seoul, South Korea More
Sun, 28 Apr 2013 03:39:13 JST (Apr 27, 2013 18:39 GMT)
3.2

19 km
77 km (48 mi)Japan Sea, 80 km northeast of Seogwipo, Jeju-do, South Korea More
Tue, 19 Mar 2013 00:05:56 JST (Mar 18, 2013 15:05 GMT)
2.2

8 km
97 km (60 mi)Japan Sea, 93 km northwest of Fukuechō, Gotō Shi, Nagasaki, Japan More
Mon, 18 Mar 2013 19:07:43 JST (Mar 18, 2013 10:07 GMT)
2.1

11 km
87 km (54 mi)Japan Sea, 84 km northwest of Fukuechō, Gotō Shi, Nagasaki, Japan More
May 31, 2008 12:59 GMT
3.8

10 km
42 km south of Ross Island, Jeollanam-do, South Korea More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.5 x 1011 joules (180 megawatt hours, equivalent to 155 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Tsushima Kamiagata (JTU/JP network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Tsushima Kamiagata: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Jeju City Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Jeju City?

The last earthquake in Jeju City occurred 11 weeks ago: Light mag. 3.3 earthquake - Yellow Sea, 130 km west of Jeju City, Jeju-do, South Korea, on Sunday, Nov 20, 2022 at 1:01 am (GMT +9).

How many quakes were there in Jeju City since 1900?

Since 1900, Jeju City, Jeju-do, South Korea had 12 quakes up to magnitude 4.6.

What was the strongest quake in Jeju City since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Jeju City since 1900 occurred 1 year 8 weeks ago: Moderate mag. 4.6 earthquake - East China Sea, 69 km southwest of Jeju City, Jeju-do, South Korea, on Tuesday, Dec 14, 2021 at 5:19 pm (GMT +9).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Feb 6, 2023 08:31 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings