Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes near Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Antofagasta, Chile, past 30 days

Updated 5 Mar 2021 23:06 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Taltal was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 6 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 5 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 4.4 quake South Pacific Ocean, 63 km northwest of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile, 16 Feb 2021 10:25 pm (GMT -5)
Most recent quake: 2.7 quake 58 km northwest of Diego de Almagro, Provincia de Chañaral, Atacama, Chile, 4 Mar 2021 6:23 am (GMT -3)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (13 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thu, 4 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 Mar 2021 6:23 am (GMT -3) (4 Mar 2021 09:23:11 GMT)
2.7

40 km
(181 km)58 km northwest of Diego de Almagro, Provincia de Chañaral, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
Wed, 3 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Mar 2021 8:36 pm (GMT -3) (3 Mar 2021 23:36:39 GMT)
3.7

34 km
(209 km)39 km southwest of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, 2 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
2 Mar 2021 1:05 pm (GMT -3) (2 Mar 2021 16:05:35 GMT)
3.5

40 km
(236 km)South Pacific Ocean, 180 km north of Copiapo, Atacama, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 2:08 am (GMT -3) (2 Mar 2021 05:08:52 GMT)
3.0

34 km
(219 km)South Pacific Ocean, 29 km west of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
24 Feb 2021 1:30 pm (GMT -5) (24 Feb 2021 18:30:35 GMT)
2.6

33 km
(236 km)South Pacific Ocean, 149 km south of Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Sat, 20 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
20 Feb 2021 4:30 am (GMT -3) (20 Feb 2021 07:30:28 GMT)
2.7

37 km
(200 km)Provincia de Antofagasta, 82 km northwest of Diego de Almagro, Provincia de Chañaral, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
Fri, 19 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Feb 2021 7:41 pm (GMT -3) (19 Feb 2021 22:41:20 GMT)
3.7

59 km
(171 km)138 km south of Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
16 Feb 2021 11:32 pm (GMT -5) (17 Feb 2021 04:32:41 GMT)
3.2

42 km
(246 km)South Pacific Ocean, 168 km south of Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
16 Feb 2021 10:25 pm (GMT -5) (17 Feb 2021 03:25:31 GMT)
4.4

42 km
(244 km)South Pacific Ocean, 63 km northwest of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
12 Feb 2021 6:36 am (GMT -5) (12 Feb 2021 11:36:36 GMT)
4.0

37 km
(253 km)South Pacific Ocean, 63 km west of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Sat, 6 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
6 Feb 2021 6:17 pm (GMT -5) (6 Feb 2021 23:17:02 GMT)
3.1

46 km
(231 km)South Pacific Ocean, 154 km south of Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 4 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
4 Feb 2021 2:38 am (GMT -3) (4 Feb 2021 05:38:11 GMT)
2.7

20 km
(178 km)14 km east of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
3 Feb 2021 11:46 pm (GMT -3) (4 Feb 2021 02:46:33 GMT)
2.9

57 km
(202 km)South Pacific Ocean, 39 km north of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.8 x 1011 joules (106 megawatt hours, equivalent to 91.6 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.