Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Past earthquakes near Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Antofagasta, Chile, during the year 2020

Updated 13 Apr 2021 16:33 GMT -
During 2020, Taltal was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 9 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 35 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 34 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 5.7 quake South Pacific Ocean, 39 km southwest of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile, 21 Oct 2020 6:13 am (GMT -3)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (80 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Fri, 25 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
25 Dec 2020 2:19 pm (GMT -3) (25 Dec 2020 17:19:50 GMT)
3.1

48 km
(218 km)South Pacific Ocean, 72 km north of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Mon, 21 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
21 Dec 2020 2:41 pm (GMT -3) (21 Dec 2020 17:41:35 GMT)
3.4

38 km
(213 km)37 km southwest of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Sat, 19 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Dec 2020 22:39:04 GMT
4.3

10 km
(166 km)28 km east of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 17 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
17 Dec 2020 5:14 pm (GMT -3) (17 Dec 2020 20:14:27 GMT)
3.5

79 km
(151 km)65 km northeast of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Tue, 15 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
15 Dec 2020 4:43 am (GMT -3) (15 Dec 2020 07:43:25 GMT)
4.2

42 km
(228 km)South Pacific Ocean, 46 km southwest of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile 1 reportMoreMap
Wed, 2 Dec 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2 Dec 2020 12:38 pm (GMT -3) (2 Dec 2020 15:38:20 GMT)
3.9

20 km
(218 km)Antofagasta Province, 57 km south of Taltal (Antofagasta), Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Sun, 22 Nov 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
21 Nov 2020 10:12 pm (GMT -5) (22 Nov 2020 03:12:18 GMT)
3.4

20 km
(267 km)41 km northwest of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Tue, 10 Nov 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
10 Nov 2020 23:20:30 GMT
2.6

30 km
(238 km)49 km west of Taltal, Chile MoreMap
Mon, 9 Nov 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Nov 2020 23:02:38 GMT
2.5

26 km
(220 km)33 km northwest of Taltal, Chile MoreMap
Sat, 7 Nov 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7 Nov 2020 10:22 am (GMT -5) (7 Nov 2020 15:22:20 GMT)
3.7

32 km
(247 km)56 km west of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 5 Nov 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
5 Nov 2020 4:40 am (GMT -3) (5 Nov 2020 07:40:54 GMT)
4.5

63 km
(190 km)11 km south of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Tue, 3 Nov 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
2 Nov 2020 11:22 pm (GMT -3) (3 Nov 2020 02:22:33 GMT)
2.8

66 km
(186 km)57 km NNW of Diego de Almagro, Chile MoreMap
Mon, 2 Nov 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
1 Nov 2020 10:35 pm (GMT -5) (2 Nov 2020 03:35:40 GMT)
2.5

32 km
(230 km)39 km W of Taltal, Chile MoreMap
Sun, 1 Nov 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
31 Oct 2020 11:20 pm (GMT -3) (1 Nov 2020 02:20:14 GMT)
2.9

55 km
(171 km)65 km NNW of Diego de Almagro, Chile MoreMap
Fri, 23 Oct 2020 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
23 Oct 3:32 am (GMT -5) (23 Oct 2020 08:32:24 GMT)
3.7

25 km
(240 km)51 km west of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
23 Oct 1:52 am (GMT -3) (23 Oct 2020 04:52:58 GMT)
3.6

54 km
(207 km)22 km southwest of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
23 Oct 2020 04:26:33 GMT
2.8

30 km
(248 km)South Pacific Ocean, 68 km northwest of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
22 Oct 9:10 pm (GMT -5) (23 Oct 2020 02:10:49 GMT)
4.2

15 km
(232 km)43 km west of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
22 Oct 7:44 pm (GMT -5) (23 Oct 2020 00:44:41 GMT)
2.6

37 km
(241 km)South Pacific Ocean, 56 km southwest of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 22 Oct 2020 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
22 Oct 8:45 am (GMT -3) (22 Oct 2020 11:45:39 GMT)
3.8

44 km
(200 km)129 km south of Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
22 Oct 2020 07:19:14 GMT
2.7

31 km
(236 km)South Pacific Ocean, 43 km southwest of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
22 Oct 1:15 am (GMT -5) (22 Oct 2020 06:15:15 GMT)
3.5

30 km
(239 km)50 km west of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
21 Oct 8:51 pm (GMT -5) (22 Oct 2020 01:51:18 GMT)
2.7

30 km
(237 km)South Pacific Ocean, 49 km southwest of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
21 Oct 8:05 pm (GMT -5) (22 Oct 2020 01:05:15 GMT)
3.0

16 km
(238 km)South Pacific Ocean, 47 km west of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Wed, 21 Oct 2020 (GMT) (11 earthquakes)
21 Oct 4:20 pm (GMT -5) (21 Oct 2020 21:20:27 GMT)
2.7

37 km
(239 km)South Pacific Ocean, 53 km southwest of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
21 Oct 5:23 pm (GMT -3) (21 Oct 2020 20:23:51 GMT)
2.6

26 km
(232 km)South Pacific Ocean, 45 km southwest of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
21 Oct 3:12 pm (GMT -5) (21 Oct 2020 20:12:45 GMT)
3.0

24 km
(239 km)South Pacific Ocean, 50 km west of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
21 Oct 2020 16:09:52 GMT
3.0

28 km
(230 km)South Pacific Ocean, 42 km west of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
21 Oct 6:21 am (GMT -5) (21 Oct 2020 11:21:37 GMT)
3.0

28 km
(237 km)South Pacific Ocean, 48 km west of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
21 Oct 5:58 am (GMT -5) (21 Oct 2020 10:58:44 GMT)
3.8

24 km
(240 km)52 km west of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
21 Oct 5:52 am (GMT -5) (21 Oct 2020 10:52:56 GMT)
3.7

25 km
(237 km)47 km west of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
21 Oct 4:44 am (GMT -5) (21 Oct 2020 09:44:00 GMT)
3.4

35 km
(241 km)South Pacific Ocean, 53 km southwest of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
21 Oct 4:24 am (GMT -5) (21 Oct 2020 09:24:45 GMT)
3.4

22 km
(246 km)South Pacific Ocean, 58 km west of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
21 Oct 2020 6:13 am (GMT -3) (21 Oct 2020 09:13:07 GMT)
5.7

24 km
(225 km)South Pacific Ocean, 39 km southwest of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile 4 reportsMoreMap
21 Oct 3:51 am (GMT -5) (21 Oct 2020 08:51:48 GMT)
3.1

27 km
(236 km)South Pacific Ocean, 47 km west of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Tue, 20 Oct 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
20 Oct 1:58 am (GMT -5) (20 Oct 2020 06:58:30 GMT)
3.1

25 km
(242 km)South Pacific Ocean, 53 km west of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Fri, 16 Oct 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
16 Oct 5:03 pm (GMT -3) (16 Oct 2020 20:03:07 GMT)
3.4

24 km
(213 km)South Pacific Ocean, 26 km southwest of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Wed, 7 Oct 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7 Oct 12:55 am (GMT -3) (7 Oct 2020 03:55:33 GMT)
2.7

33 km
(206 km)30 km southwest of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Wed, 23 Sep 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
23 Sep 2020 23:09:23 GMT
4.2

40 km
(249 km)169 km south of Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 27 Aug 2020 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
27 Aug 2020 09:28:30 GMT
2.6

41 km
(147 km)47 km east of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
27 Aug 2020 00:06:36 GMT
2.7

32 km
(247 km)South Pacific Ocean, 74 km southwest of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Wed, 26 Aug 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
26 Aug 2020 15:41:09 GMT
3.0

30 km
(251 km)South Pacific Ocean, 62 km west of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Tue, 25 Aug 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
25 Aug 2020 21:48:28 GMT
2.8

42 km
(242 km)South Pacific Ocean, 53 km west of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Fri, 21 Aug 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
21 Aug 2020 21:10:11 GMT
4.1

32 km
(262 km)155 km southwest of Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Tue, 18 Aug 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
18 Aug 2020 06:24:58 GMT
2.5

77 km
(163 km)Antofagasta Province, 38 km southeast of Taltal (Antofagasta), Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 30 Jul 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
30 Jul 2020 13:16:07 GMT
3.6

18 km
(256 km)148 km southwest of Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Sun, 26 Jul 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
26 Jul 2020 19:23:57 GMT
3.0

34 km
(246 km)South Pacific Ocean, 55 km west of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Fri, 17 Jul 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
17 Jul 2020 01:56:10 GMT
3.0

46 km
(225 km)South Pacific Ocean, 52 km southwest of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Mon, 13 Jul 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
13 Jul 2020 16:51:44 GMT
4.6

55 km
(183 km)127 km south of Antofagasta, Chile 1 reportMoreMap
Fri, 3 Jul 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Jul 2020 04:58:08 GMT
4.0

46 km
(226 km)144 km south of Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Tue, 30 Jun 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
30 Jun 2020 03:52:23 GMT
2.6

35 km
(216 km)69 km northwest of Diego de Almagro, Provincia de Chañaral, Atacama, Chile MoreMap
Mon, 29 Jun 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
29 Jun 2020 14:07:45 GMT
2.7

34 km
(214 km)South Pacific Ocean, 56 km north of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Sat, 20 Jun 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
20 Jun 2020 08:12:32 GMT
3.5

102 km
(147 km)132 km south of Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Sun, 14 Jun 2020 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
14 Jun 2020 17:20:27 GMT
3.4

39 km
(223 km)South Pacific Ocean, 44 km southwest of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
14 Jun 2020 13:34:20 GMT
2.9

41 km
(219 km)South Pacific Ocean, 57 km north of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
14 Jun 2020 04:16:09 GMT
2.6

47 km
(235 km)South Pacific Ocean, 56 km southwest of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Sun, 7 Jun 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7 Jun 2020 01:03:06 GMT
2.5

72 km
(111 km)51 km east of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Sat, 6 Jun 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
6 Jun 2020 21:40:44 GMT
3.4

20 km
(208 km)South Pacific Ocean, 76 km southwest of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Fri, 29 May 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
29 May 2020 22:31:27 GMT
2.9

37 km
(194 km)South Pacific Ocean, 45 km southwest of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Tue, 26 May 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
26 May 2020 03:22:16 GMT
3.2

23 km
(154 km)52 km north of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Mon, 25 May 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
25 May 2020 01:46:12 GMT
2.8

36 km
(218 km)South Pacific Ocean, 57 km west of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 21 May 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
21 May 2020 14:22:39 GMT
3.1

25 km
(211 km)South Pacific Ocean, 68 km southwest of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Wed, 13 May 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
13 May 2020 08:32:12 GMT
3.6

25 km
(188 km)30 km northwest of Taltal, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Wed, 6 May 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
6 May 2020 12:11:44 GMT
2.8

30 km
(213 km)South Pacific Ocean, 52 km west of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 30 Apr 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
30 Apr 2020 12:02:24 GMT
3.2

48 km
(202 km)South Pacific Ocean, 44 km southwest of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 2 Apr 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
01/04/2020 23:30:39 (2 Apr 2020 02:30:39 GMT)
4.8

40 km
(239 km)180 km north of Copiapó, Copiapo, Atacama, Chile 4 reportsMoreMap
Sat, 21 Mar 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
21 Mar 2020 04:53:36 GMT
2.7

31 km
(209 km)South Pacific Ocean, 64 km northwest of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 19 Mar 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Mar 2020 08:45:18 GMT
2.9

53 km
(188 km)South Pacific Ocean, 65 km north of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Wed, 18 Mar 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
18 Mar 2020 02:22:12 GMT
2.6

68 km
(163 km)47 km south of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Sun, 15 Mar 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
15 Mar 2020 01:32:42 GMT
2.5

37 km
(204 km)South Pacific Ocean, 43 km west of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 27 Feb 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
27 Feb 2020 16:03:28 GMT
2.8

51 km
(185 km)13 km southeast of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Wed, 26 Feb 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
26 Feb 2020 10:19:52 GMT
2.8

71 km
(135 km)66 km northeast of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Tue, 11 Feb 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
11 Feb 2020 13:50:03 GMT
5.2

54 km
(211 km)South Pacific Ocean, 70 km north of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile 5 reportsMoreMap
Tue, 4 Feb 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
4 Feb 2020 18:33:19 GMT
2.9

65 km
(170 km)41 km northwest of Diego de Almagro, Provincia de Chañaral, Atacama, Чили MoreMap
Fri, 31 Jan 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
31 Jan 2020 13:03:36 GMT
3.4

44 km
(238 km)South Pacific Ocean, 80 km southwest of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Sun, 26 Jan 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
26 Jan 2020 21:45:59 GMT
3.8

80 km
(126 km)194 km south of Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Thu, 23 Jan 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
23 Jan 2020 19:51:18 GMT
2.6

43 km
(156 km)70 km northeast of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Wed, 22 Jan 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
22 Jan 2020 00:13:59 GMT
2.8

32 km
(227 km)South Pacific Ocean, 71 km southwest of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Wed, 15 Jan 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
15 Jan 2020 03:01:31 GMT
2.7

31 km
(210 km)South Pacific Ocean, 32 km southwest of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Wed, 1 Jan 2020 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
1 Jan 2020 00:11:23 GMT
3.5

53 km
(196 km)26 km south of Taltal, Provincia de Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.9 x 1013 joules (8.15 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 7016 tons of TNT or 0.4 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.