Help Ukraine

Largest earthquakes in or near Champagnole, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated never
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 61 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 599 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
Since 1900, Champagnole has had 2 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 61 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, and 599 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 3.2 | 3.9 km W of Albertville, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France -

Strongest quake: Mag. 5.5 | Switzerland -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Filter by age:
all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 3 or higher (662 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Mar 12, 2022 8:19 pm (GMT +1) (Mar 12, 2022 19:19 GMT)
3.2

12 km
262 km (163 mi)3.9 km west of Albertville, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France 66 reportsMoreMap
Mar 12, 2022 6:21 pm (GMT +1) (Mar 12, 2022 17:21 GMT)
3.4

8.5 km
262 km (163 mi)4 km west of Albertville, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France 63 reportsMoreMap
Mar 12, 2022 6:03 pm (GMT +1) (Mar 12, 2022 17:03 GMT)
4.5

10 km
258 km (160 mi)9.3 km northwest of Albertville, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France 782 reportsMoreMap
Mar 12, 2022 6:03 pm (GMT +1) (Mar 12, 2022 17:03 GMT)
3.8

10 km
274 km (170 mi)7.9 km east of Albertville, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France 5 reportsMoreMap
Feb 25, 2022 2:10 pm (GMT +1) (Feb 25, 2022 13:10 GMT)
3.1

15 km
341 km (212 mi)12 km north of Sion, Valais, Switzerland MoreMap
Jan 4, 2022 1:38 am (GMT +1) (Jan 4, 2022 00:38 GMT)
3.2

4.3 km
340 km (211 mi)Jura, 62 km northwest of Berna, Bern-Mittelland District, Switzerland 82 reportsMoreMap
Dec 25, 2021 3:49 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 25, 2021 14:49 GMT)
3.6

5 km
340 km (211 mi)Jura, 31 km north of La Chaux de Fonds, Switzerland 175 reportsMoreMap
Dec 25, 2021 12:59 am (GMT +1) (Dec 24, 2021 23:59 GMT)
4.1

9.5 km
339 km (211 mi)15 km south of Montbeliard, France 1067 reportsMoreMap
Dec 11, 2021 12:08 am (GMT +1) (Dec 10, 2021 23:08 GMT)
3.2

25 km
335 km (208 mi)Basel-Landschaft, 20 km southeast of Basel, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland 796 reportsMoreMap
Nov 28, 2021 12:04 pm (GMT +1) (Nov 28, 2021 11:04 GMT)
3.8

5 km
291 km (181 mi)Grand Est, 47 km west of Vesoul, Haute-Saône, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France MoreMap
Nov 1, 2021 11:15 pm (GMT +1) (Nov 1, 2021 22:15 GMT)
3.1

14 km
313 km (194 mi)30 km northeast of Pontarlier, France 40 reportsMoreMap
Oct 5, 2021 7:39 am (GMT +2) (Oct 5, 2021 05:39 GMT)
4.1

1 km
352 km (219 mi)30 km northeast of Aosta, Aosta Valley, Italy 30 reportsMoreMap
Oct 4, 2021 6:09 am (GMT +2) (Oct 4, 2021 04:09 GMT)
3.0

1.4 km
352 km (219 mi)30 km southeast of Sion, Valais, Switzerland 3 reportsMoreMap
Sep 29, 2021 10:48 am (GMT +2) (Sep 29, 2021 08:48 GMT)
3.5

5 km
252 km (157 mi)Vaud, 16 km northwest of Annemasse, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France MoreMap
Mar 15, 2021 2:27 pm (GMT +1) (Mar 15, 2021 13:27 GMT)
3.2

4.8 km
363 km (226 mi)6.1 km southwest of Berna, Bern-Mittelland District, Switzerland 191 reportsMoreMap
Feb 9, 2021 10:37 am (GMT +1) (Feb 9, 2021 09:37 GMT)
3.0

10 km
194 km (121 mi)13 km east of Bourg-en-Bresse, Ain, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.3 x 1013 joules (9.11 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 7837 tons of TNT or 0.5 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Champagnole Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Champagnole?

The last earthquake in Champagnole occurred 10 weeks ago: Light mag. 3.2 earthquake - 3.9 km west of Albertville, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France, on Saturday, Mar 12, 2022 at 8:19 pm (GMT +1).

How many quakes were there in Champagnole since 1900?

Since 1900, Champagnole, Bourgogne-Franche-Comté, France had 662 quakes up to magnitude 5.5.

What was the strongest quake in Champagnole since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Champagnole since 1900 occurred 68 years ago: Strong mag. 5.5 earthquake - Switzerland on Wednesday, May 19, 1954 at 09:34 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 22, 2022 19:59 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.