Help Ukraine

Largest earthquakes in or near Esenyurt, Stambul, Turkey, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated Mar 10, 2021 17:59 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 7
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 29 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 212 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Since 1900, Esenyurt has had 3 quakes of magnitude 7.0 or above, 6 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, 29 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 212 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 4.4 | 18 km E of Mustafakemalpaşa, Bursa, Turkey -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.6 | 4.3 km E of Derince, Kocaeli, Turkey -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Filter by age:
all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 4 or higher (250 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Mar 22, 2022 5:10 pm (GMT +3) (Mar 22, 2022 14:10 GMT)
4.4

10 km
162 km (101 mi)18 km east of Mustafakemalpaşa, Bursa, Turkey 7 reportsMoreMap
Feb 20, 2022 11:20 pm (GMT +3) (Feb 20, 2022 20:20 GMT)
4.4

10 km
256 km (159 mi)Sea of Marmara, 25 km southwest of Rodoscuk, Tekirdağ, Turkey 2 reportsMoreMap
Feb 6, 2022 3:07 pm (GMT +3) (Feb 6, 2022 12:07 GMT)
4.1

11 km
218 km (135 mi)29 km southwest of Yalova, Turkey 4 reportsMoreMap
Oct 7, 2021 1:06 am (GMT +3) (Oct 6, 2021 22:06 GMT)
4.3

5 km
162 km (101 mi)18 km east of Mustafakemalpaşa, Bursa, Turkey MoreMap
19 Jun 3:07 pm (GMT +3) (Jun 19, 2021 12:07 GMT)
4.1

5 km
350 km (217 mi)2.6 km west of Sultanbeyli, Stambul, Turkey 300 reportsMoreMap
11 Jun 4:47 am (GMT +3) (Jun 11, 2021 01:47 GMT)
4.3

5 km
166 km (103 mi)Canakkale, 54 km west of Balikesir, Balıkesir, Turkey 1 reportMoreMap
Dec 11, 2020 5:37 pm (GMT +3) (Dec 11, 2020 14:37 GMT)
4.0

12 km
155 km (96 mi)Bursa, 10.3 km north of Susurluk (Balıkesir), Turkey 41 reportsMoreMap
24 Sep 4:38 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 24, 2020 13:38 GMT)
4.2

12 km
247 km (153 mi)73 km west of Istanbul, İstanbul, Turkey 842 reportsMoreMap
Sep 8, 2020 21:57 GMT
4.2

10 km
249 km (155 mi)134 km west of Istanbul, İstanbul, Turkey 299 reportsMoreMap
Mar 8, 2020 04:21 GMT
4.3

2 km
241 km (150 mi)44 km southeast of Istanbul, İstanbul, Turkey 284 reportsMoreMap
Jan 11, 2020 13:37 GMT
4.8

10 km
252 km (157 mi)57 km west of Istanbul, İstanbul, Turkey 1085 reportsMoreMap
Oct 10, 2019 16:52 GMT
4.4

5 km
242 km (150 mi)Sea of Marmara, 5 km northwest of Yalova, Turkey 626 reportsMoreMap
Sep 28, 2019 11:03 GMT
4.0

12 km
250 km (155 mi)Sea of Marmara, 23 km south of Silivri, Stambul, Turkey 168 reportsMoreMap
Sep 26, 2019 20:20 GMT
4.3

8 km
251 km (156 mi)Sea of Marmara, 24 km south of Silivri, Stambul, Turkey 413 reportsMoreMap
Sep 26, 2019 11:26 GMT
4.2

13 km
248 km (154 mi)Sea of Marmara, 24 km south of Silivri, Stambul, Turkey 22 reportsMoreMap
Sep 26, 2019 10:59 GMT
5.7

11 km
250 km (155 mi)Sea of Marmara, 22 km south of Silivri, Stambul, Turkey 964 reportsMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.6 x 1016 joules (7331 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 6.3 x 106 tons of TNT or 394.3 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Esenyurt Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Esenyurt?

The last earthquake in Esenyurt occurred 8 weeks ago: Moderate mag. 4.4 earthquake - 18 km east of Mustafakemalpaşa, Bursa, Turkey, on Tuesday, Mar 22, 2022 at 5:10 pm (GMT +3).

How many quakes were there in Esenyurt since 1900?

Since 1900, Esenyurt, Stambul, Turkey had 250 quakes up to magnitude 7.6.

What was the strongest quake in Esenyurt since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Esenyurt since 1900 occurred 23 years ago: Major magnitude 7.6 earthquake - 4.3 km east of Derince, Kocaeli, Turkey, on Tuesday, August 17, 1999 at 00:01 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 19, 2022 00:08 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.