Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Tocopilla, Antofagasta, Chile, in the past 24 hours on Saturday, May 28, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 28, 2022 12:55 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 4
  • 2 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 24 hours, Tocopilla was shaken by 2 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 2 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 4 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
A light magnitude 4.1 earthquake occurred in Tarapaca, Chile, 12 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.5 | Tarapaca, 101 km N of Tocopilla, Antofagasta, Chile -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.1 | Tarapaca, 123 km N of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Tocopilla, Antofagasta, Chile (updated )

Past 24 hours:8 quakes | 4 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+ | 2 quakes M4+
Past 7 days:50 quakes | 34 quakes M2+ | 13 quakes M3+ | 3 quakes M4+
Past 30 days:201 quakes | 123 quakes M2+ | 68 quakes M3+ | 9 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 90 days:601 quakes | 367 quakes M2+ | 208 quakes M3+ | 24 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+
Past 365 days:2,273 quakes | 1,477 quakes M2+ | 703 quakes M3+ | 88 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (8 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Saturday, May 28, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
May 28, 2022 4:17 am (GMT -4) (May 28, 2022 08:17 GMT)
2.5

19 km
Tarapaca, 101 km north of Tocopilla, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
May 28, 2022 4:01 am (GMT -4) (May 28, 2022 08:01 GMT)
2.2

105 km
Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
May 28, 2022 1:54 am (GMT -4) (May 28, 2022 05:54 GMT)
2.9

118 km
Tarapaca, Chile MoreMap
May 27, 2022 10:43 pm (GMT -4) (May 28, 2022 02:43 GMT)
2.6

130 km
53 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile MoreMap
May 27, 2022 9:05 pm (GMT -4) (May 28, 2022 01:05 GMT)
4.1

109 km
Tarapaca, 123 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 27, 2022 8:00 pm (GMT -4) (May 28, 2022 00:00 GMT)
4.1

127 km
Tarapaca, 122 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Friday, May 27, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
May 27, 2022 4:07 pm (GMT -4) (May 27, 2022 20:07 GMT)
3.5

116 km
112 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
May 27, 2022 9:21 am (GMT -4) (May 27, 2022 13:21 GMT)
3.2

120 km
185 km southeast of Iquique, Tarapaca, Chile
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2 x 1011 joules (54.4 megawatt hours, equivalent to 46.8 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Tocopilla Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Tocopilla?

The last earthquake in Tocopilla occurred 5 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.5 earthquake - Tarapaca, 101 km north of Tocopilla, Antofagasta, Chile, on Saturday, May 28, 2022 at 4:17 am (GMT -4).

How many quakes were there in Tocopilla today?

In the past 24 hours, Tocopilla, Antofagasta, Chile had 8 quakes up to magnitude 4.1.

What was the strongest quake in Tocopilla today?

The strongest earthquake in Tocopilla today occurred 12 hours ago: Light mag. 4.1 earthquake - Tarapaca, 123 km north of Calama, Provincia de El Loa, Antofagasta, Chile, on Friday, May 27, 2022 at 9:05 pm (GMT -4).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 28, 2022 12:55 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.