Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 23, 2021 17:18 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes near San Diego, La Unión, Provincia de Cartago, Costa Rica: past 7 days

Updated Oct 23, 2021 17:18 GMT -
During the past 7 days, San Diego was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.2, 2 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 7 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 3 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 5.2 quake North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica, Oct 19, 2021 12:32 pm (GMT -6)
Most recent quake: 2.9 quake Dota, 48 km southeast of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica, Oct 21, 2021 3:34 am (GMT -6)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (14 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, October 21, 2021 16:46 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Oct 21, 2021 10:46 am (GMT -6) (Oct 21, 2021 16:46 GMT)
?

n/a
70 km (43 mi)Garabito, 38 km southeast of Puntarenas, Costa Rica (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Oct 21, 2021 3:34 am (GMT -6) (Oct 21, 2021 09:34 GMT)
2.9

8 km
50 km (31 mi)Dota, 48 km southeast of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 20, 2021 10:57 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 21, 2021 04:57 GMT)
4.2

1 km
103 km (64 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Wednesday, October 20, 2021 14:02 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 20, 2021 8:02 am (GMT -6) (Oct 20, 2021 14:02 GMT)
3.8

15 km
100 km (62 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tuesday, October 19, 2021 23:11 GMT (7 earthquakes)
Oct 19, 2021 5:11 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 23:11 GMT)
2.6

49 km
20 km (12 mi)San Ramon, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 12:32 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 18:32 GMT)
5.2

22 km
98 km (61 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 8:59 am (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 14:59 GMT)
3.4

17 km
95 km (59 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 8:55 am (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 14:55 GMT)
3.2

101 km
19 km (12 mi)Pococi, Provincia de Limon, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 4:08 am (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 10:08 GMT)
3.5

15 km
96 km (60 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 3:03 am (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 09:03 GMT)
3.4

17 km
94 km (58 mi)North Pacific Ocean, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Oct 19, 2021 12:32 am (GMT -6) (Oct 19, 2021 06:32 GMT)
4.7

19 km
83 km (52 mi)Parrita, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT - 24 reports
MoreMap
Monday, October 18, 2021 16:29 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 18, 2021 10:29 am (GMT -6) (Oct 18, 2021 16:29 GMT)
3.0

12 km
42 km (26 mi)Turrialba, Provincia de Cartago, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sunday, October 17, 2021 03:22 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 16, 2021 9:22 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 17, 2021 03:22 GMT)
3.5

77 km
15 km (9.3 mi)Poas, Provincia de Alajuela, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Saturday, October 16, 2021 20:05 GMT (1 earthquake)
Oct 16, 2021 2:05 pm (GMT -6) (Oct 16, 2021 20:05 GMT)
2.9

8 km
38 km (24 mi)Puriscal, Provincia de San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.9 x 1012 joules (1.36 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1170 tons of TNT) More info
Show more

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.