Help Ukraine

Latest quakes in or near Somotillo, Chinandega, Nicaragua, in the past 24 hours on Tuesday, May 17, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated May 17, 2022 21:37 GMT -
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 3
  • 4 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 5 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Somotillo had 1 quake of magnitude 3.7 and 4 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 5 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A weak magnitude 3.7 earthquake occurred in Chinandega, Nicaragua, 18 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.1 | 6 Km Al Noroeste De Volcán Rota, Nicaragua -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.7 | 10.9 km SE of Chinandega, Nicaragua -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Somotillo, Chinandega, Nicaragua (updated )

Past 24 hours:10 quakes | 4 quakes M2+ | 1 quake M3+
Past 7 days:71 quakes | 45 quakes M2+ | 10 quakes M3+
Past 30 days:232 quakes | 124 quakes M2+ | 56 quakes M3+ | 10 quakes M4+
Past 90 days:616 quakes | 306 quakes M2+ | 132 quakes M3+ | 18 quakes M4+ | 2 quakes M5+
Past 365 days:1,988 quakes | 977 quakes M2+ | 605 quakes M3+ | 89 quakes M4+ | 10 quakes M5+ | 2 quakes M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
Hide 1 unconfirmed quake
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (11 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, May 17, 2022 GMT (9 quakes)
May 17, 2022 11:24 am (GMT -6) (May 17, 2022 17:24 GMT)
1.1

4 km
6 Km Al Noroeste De Volcán Rota, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 17, 2022 11:13 am (GMT -6) (May 17, 2022 17:13 GMT)
2.0

5 km
20 km northeast of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 17, 2022 10:51 am (GMT -6) (May 17, 2022 16:51 GMT)
1.2

5 km
6 Km Al Noroeste De Volcán Rota, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 17, 2022 1:03 am (GMT -6) (May 17, 2022 07:03 GMT)
1.4

10 km
20 Km Al Noreste De Jinotega, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 17, 2022 12:12 am (GMT -6) (May 17, 2022 06:12 GMT)
2.9

3 km
14 km southeast of Managua, Nicaragua
I FELT IT - 3 reports
MoreMap
May 16, 2022 11:57 pm (GMT -6) (May 17, 2022 05:57 GMT)
2.9

24 km
North Pacific Ocean, 76 km southwest of Leon, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 16, 2022 10:50 pm (GMT -6) (May 17, 2022 04:50 GMT)
1.9

7 km
13 km southeast of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 16, 2022 10:36 pm (GMT -6) (May 17, 2022 04:36 GMT)
2.4

29 km
North Pacific Ocean, 74 km west of Chinandega, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 16, 2022 9:56 pm (GMT -6) (May 17, 2022 03:56 GMT)
3.7

41 km
10.9 km southeast of Chinandega, Nicaragua
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Monday, May 16, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
May 16, 2022 5:21 pm (GMT -6) (May 16, 2022 23:21 GMT)
1.9

6 km
14 km southeast of Managua, Nicaragua MoreMap
May 16, 2022 4:52 pm (GMT -6) (May 16, 2022 22:52 GMT)
?

n/a
4.8 km west of Managua, Nicaragua (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.6 x 1010 joules (7.12 megawatt hours, equivalent to 6.13 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Somotillo Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Somotillo?

The last earthquake in Somotillo occurred 4 hours ago: Minor mag. 1.1 earthquake - 6 Km Al Noroeste De Volcán Rota, Nicaragua, on Tuesday, May 17, 2022 at 11:24 am (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Somotillo today?

In the past 24 hours, Somotillo, Chinandega, Nicaragua had 11 quakes up to magnitude 3.7.

What was the strongest quake in Somotillo today?

The strongest earthquake in Somotillo today occurred 18 hours ago: Weak mag. 3.7 earthquake - 10.9 km southeast of Chinandega, Nicaragua, on Monday, May 16, 2022 at 9:56 pm (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: May 17, 2022 21:37 GMT - Refresh

Search!

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.