Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Los Osos, California, USA, in the past 48 hours on Thursday, October 6, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Oct 6, 2022 23:53 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 48 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 2
  • 12 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 48 hours, Los Osos had 1 quake of magnitude 2.0. There were also 12 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.

Strongest quake: Mag. 2.0 | 28km WSW of Lopez Point, CA -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Los Osos, California, USA (updated )

Past 24 hours3 quakes
Past 7 days34 quakes | 5 quakes M2+
Past 30 days148 quakes | 30 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+
Past 90 days469 quakes | 95 quakes M2+ | 5 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 365 days1,623 quakes | 386 quakes M2+ | 31 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Hide 3 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (16 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, October 6, 2022 GMT (6 quakes)
Oct 6, 2022 2:37 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 6, 2022 21:37 GMT)
1.9

12 km
16km NE of Ojai, CA More
Oct 6, 2022 2:37 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 6, 2022 21:37 GMT)
1.9

14 km
15km NE of Ojai, CA More
Oct 6, 2022 8:10 am (GMT -7) (Oct 6, 2022 15:10 GMT)
1.4

3.1 km
9km SSW of Tres Pinos, CA More
Oct 5, 2022 11:13 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 6, 2022 06:13 GMT)
0.9

4.8 km
16km NW of Parkfield, CA More
Oct 5, 2022 10:54 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 6, 2022 05:54 GMT)
0.6

4.5 km
16km NW of Parkfield, CA More
Oct 5, 2022 8:05 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 6, 2022 03:05 GMT)
?

n/a
6.3 mi west of Santa Barbara, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 GMT (10 quakes)
Oct 5, 2022 4:16 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 5, 2022 23:16 GMT)
?

n/a
8.3 mi northeast of Oxnard, Ventura County, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 30 reports
More
Oct 5, 2022 12:11 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 5, 2022 19:11 GMT)
0.8

0.5 km
2km E of Cayucos, CA More
Oct 5, 2022 10:42 am (GMT -7) (Oct 5, 2022 17:42 GMT)
1.7

7.5 km
2km SE of Huron, CA More
Oct 5, 2022 9:50 am (GMT -7) (Oct 5, 2022 16:50 GMT)
1.8

9.2 km
6km NW of Pine Mountain Club, CA More
Oct 5, 2022 8:12 am (GMT -7) (Oct 5, 2022 15:12 GMT)
0.8

8.9 km
10km SW of Ridgemark, CA More
Oct 5, 2022 7:34 am (GMT -7) (Oct 5, 2022 14:34 GMT)
1.3

6.4 km
15km SE of Pinnacles, CA More
Oct 5, 2022 7:23 am (GMT -7) (Oct 5, 2022 14:23 GMT)
?

n/a
North Pacific Ocean, 0.6 mi south of Ventura, California, USA (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Oct 5, 2022 5:04 am (GMT -7) (Oct 5, 2022 12:04 GMT)
1.7

5.7 km
2km N of Pinnacles, CA More
Oct 4, 2022 7:51 pm (GMT -8) (Oct 5, 2022 03:51 GMT)
2.0

10.2 km
28km WSW of Lopez Point, CA More
Oct 4, 2022 6:00 pm (GMT -7) (Oct 5, 2022 01:00 GMT)
1.2

7.3 km
22km NE of San Lucas, CA More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.5 x 108 joules (69.5 kilowatt hours) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Simmler (SMM/CI network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Simmler: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Los Osos Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Los Osos?

The last earthquake in Los Osos occurred 2 hours and 16 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.9 earthquake - 16km NE of Ojai, CA, on Thursday, Oct 6, 2022 at 2:37 pm (GMT -7).

How many quakes were there in Los Osos in the past 48 hours?

In the past 48 hours, Los Osos, California, USA had 16 quakes up to magnitude 2.0.

What was the strongest quake in Los Osos in the past 48 hours?

The strongest earthquake in Los Osos in the past 48 hours occurred 1 day 20 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.0 earthquake - 28km WSW of Lopez Point, CA, on Tuesday, Oct 4, 2022 at 7:51 pm (GMT -8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Oct 6, 2022 23:53 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings