Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Alcalde Diaz, Panama, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 22, 2022 05:19 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 6
  • 10 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 66 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 119 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
Since 1900, Alcalde Diaz has had 4 quakes of magnitude 6.0 or above, 10 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 66 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, and 119 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 3.6 | Caribbean Sea, 74 km W of Colon, Panama -

Strongest quake: Mag. 6.4 | 14 km NW of Portobelo, Colon, Panama -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 3 or higher (199 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sep 14, 2022 8:33 am (GMT -5) (Sep 14, 2022 13:33 GMT)
3.6

10 km
224 km (139 mi)Caribbean Sea, 74 km west of Colon, Panama More
Aug 26, 2022 1:35 am (GMT -5) (Aug 26, 2022 06:35 GMT)
3.6

37 km
365 km (227 mi)Caribbean Sea, 75 km north of Panama More
Aug 22, 2022 1:30 am (GMT -5) (Aug 22, 2022 06:30 GMT)
3.0

61 km
421 km (262 mi)89 km east of Panama More
Aug 18, 2022 11:53 am (GMT -5) (Aug 18, 2022 16:53 GMT)
3.0

18 km
365 km (227 mi)24 km northwest of Contadora Island, Panama More
Aug 3, 2022 6:51 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 3, 2022 23:51 GMT)
3.3

10 km
401 km (249 mi)Caribbean Sea, 92 km northeast of Panama More
Aug 2, 2022 10:36 pm (GMT -5) (Aug 3, 2022 03:36 GMT)
3.7

44 km
361 km (224 mi)Colon, 47 km north of Juan Diaz, Panama More
Jul 30, 2022 3:22 pm (GMT -5) (Jul 30, 2022 20:22 GMT)
3.1

13 km
340 km (211 mi)50 km north of Panama More
Jul 29, 2022 10:56 pm (GMT -5) (Jul 30, 2022 03:56 GMT)
3.5

22 km
368 km (229 mi)Colon, 72 km north of Panama 1 reportMore
Jul 10, 2022 8:23 pm (GMT -5) (Jul 11, 2022 01:23 GMT)
3.8

13 km
356 km (221 mi)Colon, 42 km north of Juan Diaz, Panama 3 reportsMore
Jul 10, 2022 5:57 am (GMT -5) (Jul 10, 2022 10:57 GMT)
3.2

36 km
440 km (273 mi)Guna Yala, 93 km east of Tocumen, Panama More
Jun 26, 2022 8:25 am (GMT -5) (Jun 26, 2022 13:25 GMT)
3.7

17 km
449 km (279 mi)18 km southeast of Nargana, Caribbean Sea, Guna Yala, Panama More
Jun 16, 2022 2:12 am (GMT -5) (Jun 16, 2022 07:12 GMT)
3.5

17 km
270 km (168 mi)Caribbean Sea, 31 km west of Colon, Panama More
May 31, 2022 3:54 pm (GMT -5) (May 31, 2022 20:54 GMT)
3.2

35 km
361 km (224 mi)81 km north of Panama More
May 3, 2022 6:19 pm (GMT -5) (May 3, 2022 23:19 GMT)
3.4

36 km
359 km (223 mi)Colon, 39 km north of Juan Diaz, Panama More
Mar 6, 2022 9:57 am (GMT -5) (Mar 6, 2022 14:57 GMT)
3.8

5 km
456 km (283 mi)40 km southwest of San Ignacio de Tupile, Guna Yala, Panama More
Mar 3, 2022 2:37 am (GMT -5) (Mar 3, 2022 07:37 GMT)
5.0

35 km
456 km (283 mi)Caribbean Sea, 152 km northeast of Panama More
Jan 14, 2022 10:48 pm (GMT -5) (Jan 15, 2022 03:48 GMT)
3.7

10 km
442 km (275 mi)88 km southeast of Isla del Rey Island, Panama More
Dec 12, 2021 8:36 am (GMT -5) (Dec 12, 2021 13:36 GMT)
3.2

30 km
260 km (162 mi)Caribbean Sea, 55 km northwest of Colon, Panama More
Nov 22, 2021 2:45 am (GMT -5) (Nov 22, 2021 07:45 GMT)
3.1

10 km
368 km (229 mi)Caribbean Sea, 93 km north of Panama More
Oct 17, 2021 5:48 am (GMT -5) (Oct 17, 2021 10:48 GMT)
3.2

46 km
356 km (221 mi)Panama, Panama More
Sep 28, 2021 11:07 am (GMT -5) (Sep 28, 2021 16:07 GMT)
3.3

10 km
302 km (188 mi)Caribbean Sea, 13 km north of Colon, Panama More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.5 x 1014 joules (181 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1.6 x 105 tons of TNT or 9.7 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Isla Barro Colorado, Panama (BCIP/CU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Isla Barro Colorado, Panama: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Alcalde Diaz Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Alcalde Diaz?

The last earthquake in Alcalde Diaz occurred 11 days ago: Light mag. 3.6 earthquake - Caribbean Sea, 74 km west of Colon, Panama, on Wednesday, Sep 14, 2022 at 8:33 am (GMT -5).

How many quakes were there in Alcalde Diaz since 1900?

Since 1900, Alcalde Diaz, Panama had 199 quakes up to magnitude 6.4.

What was the strongest quake in Alcalde Diaz since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Alcalde Diaz since 1900 occurred 87 years ago: Very strong mag. 6.4 earthquake - 14 km northwest of Portobelo, Colon, Panama, on Saturday, November 30, 1935 at 03:39 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Sep 25, 2022 14:47 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings