Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Asker, Viken, Norway, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Nov 14, 2022 21:01 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 10 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 119 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
Since 1900, Asker has had 10 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 119 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 2.7 | 6.1 km NW of Åmål, Provincia de Västra Götaland, Sweden -

Strongest quake: Mag. 3.8 | Karlsøya, 5.7 km SE of Fredrikstad, Viken, Norway -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
2.0+
3.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 2 or higher (129 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Oct 6, 2022 4:34 am (GMT +2) (Oct 6, 2022 02:34 GMT)
2.7
1014 km (630 mi)SWEDEN 6 reportsMore
Sep 3, 2022 1:29 am (GMT +2) (Sep 2, 2022 23:29 GMT)
2.1
1100 km (684 mi)TELEMARK-BUSKERUD NORWAY More
Jul 4, 2022 6:46 pm (GMT +2) (Jul 4, 2022 16:46 GMT)
2.4
1074 km (667 mi)TELEMARK-BUSKERUD NORWAY More
Jul 4, 2022 5:36 am (GMT +2) (Jul 4, 2022 03:36 GMT)
2.3

15 km
1049 km (652 mi)SOUTHERN NORWAY More
Mar 12, 2022 4:50 am (GMT +1) (Mar 12, 2022 03:50 GMT)
2.6
1015 km (631 mi)VAERMLAND REGION SWEDEN 1 reportMore
Mar 12, 2022 4:45 am (GMT +1) (Mar 12, 2022 03:45 GMT)
3.0
1028 km (639 mi)VAERMLAND REGION SWEDEN More
Jan 30, 2022 7:47 am (GMT +1) (Jan 30, 2022 06:47 GMT)
2.0
1073 km (667 mi)TELEMARK-BUSKERUD NORWAY More
Jan 17, 2022 12:03 am (GMT +1) (Jan 16, 2022 23:03 GMT)
2.3
1074 km (667 mi)TELEMARK-BUSKERUD NORWAY More
Jan 3, 2022 3:21 am (GMT +1) (Jan 3, 2022 02:21 GMT)
2.6
1051 km (653 mi)TELEMARK-BUSKERUD NORWAY More
Nov 26, 2021 2:01 pm (GMT +1) (Nov 26, 2021 13:01 GMT)
2.0
916 km (569 mi)AGDER NORWAY More
Sep 4, 2021 4:18 am (GMT +2) (Sep 4, 2021 02:18 GMT)
2.4
1051 km (653 mi)TELEMARK-BUSKERUD NORWAY More
Jul 10, 2021 05:54 GMT
2.4
1133 km (704 mi)OSLO REGION NORWAY More
Jul 9, 2021 01:11 GMT
2.4
1135 km (705 mi)OSLO REGION NORWAY More
Jun 6, 2021 16:13 GMT
2.2
1112 km (691 mi)TELEMARK-BUSKERUD NORWAY More
Jun 5, 2021 11:53 GMT
2.2
1029 km (639 mi)TELEMARK-BUSKERUD NORWAY More
May 24, 2021 18:02 GMT
2.5
1074 km (667 mi)SOUTHERN NORWAY More
Jan 17, 2021 03:04 GMT
2.5
971 km (603 mi)SWEDEN More
Jul 26, 2020 06:17 GMT
3.0
1238 km (769 mi)Sweden (Norway) 1 reportMore
Jun 15, 2020 12:00 GMT
2.3
1210 km (752 mi)Southern Norway More
Nov 29, 2019 12:24 GMT
2.1
1136 km (706 mi)Southern Norway 1 reportMore
Sep 1, 2019 21:24 GMT
2.0
1113 km (692 mi)Southern Norway More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.1 x 1011 joules (31.5 megawatt hours, equivalent to 27.1 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Kongsberg, Norway (KONO/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Kongsberg, Norway: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Asker Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Asker?

The last earthquake in Asker occurred 8 weeks ago: Light mag. 2.7 earthquake - 6.1 km northwest of Åmål, Provincia de Västra Götaland, Sweden, on Thursday, Oct 6, 2022 at 4:34 am (GMT +2).

How many quakes were there in Asker since 1900?

Since 1900, Asker, Viken, Norway had 129 quakes up to magnitude 3.8.

What was the strongest quake in Asker since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Asker since 1900 occurred 31 years ago: Light mag. 3.8 earthquake - Karlsøya, 5.7 km southeast of Fredrikstad, Viken, Norway, on Wednesday, February 19, 1992 at 06:39 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Nov 29, 2022 12:35 GMT -

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings