Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico - list, stats and map

Latest quake
See all
Mag. 3.5 earthquake Jalisco, Colima, Mexico -
Strongest past 30 daysMag. 5.1 North Pacific Ocean, Jalisco, Mexico - Feb 9, 2024 -
Updated: Mar 2, 2024 04:32 GMT -
Find all latest earthquakes in or near Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico, in our list below, updated every minute! Events are often reported within minutes. If you just felt a quake near Manzanillo, find out which quakes are happening right now!

Number of quakes per year

.
In the past 24 hours, Manzanillo has had 3 quakes of magnitude 3.0+, the largest largest being a 3.5 quake.

In the past 30 days, Manzanillo has had 58 quakes of magnitudes above 2 and up to 5.1 within up to 100 km (63 mi) distance:

  • 0 quakes above magnitude 5
  • 1 quake between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 56 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 1 quake between magnitude 2 and 3
Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
in sec
Showing all recent or significant quakes in the past 30 days, magnitude 0 or higher, within up to 300 km (186 mi) distance (121 quakes):
Date and TimeMag
Depth
Nearest VolcanoLocationDetailsMap
Mar 1, 04:28 pm (Mexico City)
Mar 1, 22:28 GMT

3.5

4.5 km
33 km (20 mi) to the NE Jalisco, 44 km west of Colima, Colima, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Mar 1, 04:24 pm (Mexico City)
Mar 1, 22:24 GMT

3.4

6.9 km
32 km (20 mi) to the NE Jalisco, 32 km northeast of Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Mar 1, 02:30 pm (Mexico City)
Mar 1, 20:30 GMT

3.2

49 km
64 km (40 mi) to the N 12 km southwest of Autlan de Navarro, Jalisco, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Mar 1, 08:25 pm (GMT +0)
Mar 1, 20:25 GMT

3.7

16 km
297 km (185 mi) to the SE North Pacific Ocean, 52 km south of Lazaro Cardenas, Michoacan, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Thursday, February 29, 2024 GMT (5 quakes)
Feb 29, 04:30 pm (Mexico City)
Feb 29, 22:30 GMT

3.8

7.1 km
159 km (99 mi) to the SE North Pacific Ocean, 60 km southeast of Aquila, Michoacan, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Feb 29, 03:50 pm (Mexico City)
Feb 29, 21:50 GMT

3.3

5.4 km
66 km (41 mi) to the W North Pacific Ocean, 42 km west of Cihuatlan, Jalisco, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Feb 29, 03:44 pm (Mexico City)
Feb 29, 21:44 GMT

3.8

4 km
29 km (18 mi) to the NE 29 km northeast of Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Feb 29, 03:54 am (Mexico City)
Feb 29, 09:54 GMT

3.4

17 km
150 km (93 mi) to the E 21 km southeast of Matamoros, Michoacan, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Feb 29, 03:29 am (Mexico City)
Feb 29, 09:29 GMT

3.4

38 km
46 km (28 mi) to the NW 24 km north of Cihuatlan, Jalisco, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Wednesday, February 28, 2024 GMT (3 quakes)
Feb 28, 01:27 pm (GMT -6)
Feb 28, 19:27 GMT

3.4

16 km
162 km (101 mi) to the NW North Pacific Ocean, 96 km southwest of Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico
I FELT IT
More
Feb 28, 03:13 am (Mexico City)
Feb 28, 09:13 GMT

3.9

10 km
30 km (19 mi) to the N Jalisco, 30 km north of Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Show more
About these data
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.1 x 1012 joules (1.41 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1217 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Manzanillo Quake-O-Meter

Has seismic activity increased or decreased?
Number of quakes: -
Number of quakes vs average
Seismic Activity: ? %
Seismic activity vs average
Below average
Normal range
Above average
Updated

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Morelia, Mich, MX (MOIG/MX network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Morelia, Mich, MX: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!

Earthquake statistics

Number of quakes per year

Note:
The apparent increase in the number of quakes since around 2010 is not because seismic activity has increased, but mostly due to three factors:
1) We only started to systematically collect seismic data for smaller quakes worldwide since 2010.
2) The number of seismic networks around the world and their sensitivity to detect smaller quakes has increased drastically in recent years.
3) Data availability through the internet has increased significantly as well. Many national agencies only started reporting earthquakes publicly in the past 10 years or so.

Average number of earthquakes

Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 5,400 quakes on average per year in or near Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico:
  • Mag. 8 or higher: 0.02 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 62.5 years)
  • Mag. 7 or higher: 0.04 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 25 years)
  • Mag. 6 or higher: 0.12 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 8.3 years)
  • Mag. 5 or higher: 0.84 quakes per year (or 1 quake every 1.2 years)
  • Mag. 4 or higher: 17.1 quakes per year
  • Mag. 3 or higher: 512 quakes per year (or 43 quakes per month)
  • Mag. 2 or higher: 532 quakes per year (or 44 quakes per month)
Manzanillo has a very high level of seismic activity. Manzanillo has had at least 2 quakes above magnitude 8 since 1900, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 60 to 65 years.

Number of recent quakes in or near Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico, by magnitude

Past 24 hours
7 days
30 days
365 days
3 years
10 years
Table
Mag
 
Number of quakes (3 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
3 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (100%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (21 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
-
no quakes Mag 4 or higher
3+
21 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (100%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (58 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
-
no quakes Mag 5 or higher
4+
1 quake
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (1.72%)
3+
56 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (96.55%)
2+
1 quake
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (1.72%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (871 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
1 quake
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.11%)
4+
27 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (3.1%)
3+
809 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (92.88%)
2+
34 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (3.9%)
Mag
 
Number of quakes (2,945 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
2 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.07%)
4+
82 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (2.78%)
3+
2,749 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (93.34%)
2+
112 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (3.8%)
below M2
-
Mag
 
Number of quakes (5,416 in total as 100%)
7+
-
no quakes Mag 7 or higher
6+
-
no quakes Mag 6 or higher
5+
6 quakes
betw. Mag 5 - 6 (0.11%)
4+
166 quakes
betw. Mag 4 - 5 (3.06%)
3+
5,038 quakes
betw. Mag 3 - 4 (93.02%)
2+
206 quakes
betw. Mag 2 - 3 (3.8%)
below M2
-
Total number<M2M2+M3+M4+M5+M6+M7+
Past 24 hours3 quakesno data-3----
Past 7 days21 quakesno data-21----
Past 30 days58 quakesno data1561---
Past 365 days871 quakesno data34809271--
Past 3 years2,945 quakesno data1122,749822--
Past 10 years5,416 quakesno data2065,0381666--
Magnitude 2.0+, within up to 100 km (62 mi) distance, updated

Number of earthquakes over time

Past 90 days
30 days
7 days
24 hours
2023
2024 so far
Number of earthquakes over time: Past 90 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 30 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 7 days
Number of earthquakes over time: 24 hours
Number of earthquakes over time: 2023
Number of earthquakes over time: 2024 so far

Manzanillo Earthquake FAQ

How frequent are earthquakes in or near Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico?

Manzanillo has a very high level of seismic activity. Based on data from the past 10 years and our earthquake archive back to 1900, there are about 5,400 quakes on average per year in or near Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico. Manzanillo has had at least 2 quakes above magnitude 8 since 1900, which suggests that larger earthquakes of this size occur infrequently, probably on average approximately every 60 to 65 years.

When was the latest earthquake in Manzanillo?

The last earthquake in Manzanillo occurred 6 hours ago and had a magnitude of 3.5:

Mag. 3.5 earthquake Jalisco, Colima, Mexico -

A light magnitude 3.5 earthquake hit 44 km (28 mi) away from Colima, Colima,  Mexico, in the afternoon of Friday, Mar 1, 2024 at 4.28 pm local time (America/Mexico City GMT -6). The quake had a very shallow depth of 4.5 km (2.8 mi) and was not felt (or at least not reported so).

How many quakes were there in Manzanillo in the past 30 days?

In the past 30 days, Manzanillo has been shaken by 0 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 1 quake of magnitude 4.3, 56 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 1 quake of magnitude.

What was the strongest quake in Manzanillo in the past 30 days?

The strongest earthquake in Manzanillo in the past 30 days had a magnitude of 5.1 and occurred 3 weeks ago:

Mag. 5.1 earthquake North Pacific Ocean, Jalisco, Mexico - Feb 9, 2024 -

A strong magnitude 5.1 earthquake occurred under the sea near the coast of  Mexico in the early afternoon of Friday, Feb 9, 2024 at 2.41 pm local time (GMT -6). The quake had a very shallow depth of 16.1 km (10 mi) and was felt over a large region.

Embed or share standalone map

You can use the standalone version of our interactive earthquake map or embed it on your website:

Largest Quakes in or near Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico

Strongest in 10 years

Mag. 5.8 earthquake North Pacific Ocean, Colima, Mexico - Sep 8, 2023 -
The largest quake that occurred in or near Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico, during the past 10 years was a magnitude 5.8 earthquake that hit Jalisco,  Mexico, 25 weeks ago on Friday, Sep 8, 2023, at 10:37 am local time (America/Mexico City GMT -6).

Strongest since 1900

Mag. 8.1 earthquake 1 km northwest of Jiquilpan, Jalisco, Mexico - Jun 3, 1932 -
92 years ago, Jalisco,  Mexico, was hit by a magnitude 8.1 quake on Friday, Jun 3, 1932, at 05:36 am local time (America/Mexico City GMT -5). This was the largest earthquake to have occurred in or near Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico, in more than 100 years (since 1900).
Below is a list and map of the largest quakes near Manzanillo (within 100 km/62 mi) in recent years and since 1900.
Date and TimeMag
Depth
###DIST_LABEL###LocationDetailsMap
Sep 8, 2023 16:37 GMT
Sep 8, 2023 10:37 am (Mexico City)
5.8

4.1 km
88 km (55 mi) to the W North Pacific Ocean, Jalisco, 88 km west of Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico 95 reportsMore
Apr 30, 2023 15:48 GMT
Apr 30, 2023 08:48 am (GMT -7)
4.7

17 km
76 km (47 mi) to the S North Pacific Ocean, 59 km southwest of Tecoman, Colima, Mexico 7 reportsMore
Feb 24, 2023 03:28 GMT
Feb 23, 2023 09:28 pm (Mexico City)
4.6

10 km
86 km (53 mi) to the SE North Pacific Ocean, Michoacan, 37 km southeast of Tecoman, Colima, Mexico 38 reportsMore
Dec 11, 2022 00:31 GMT
Dec 10, 2022 05:31 pm (GMT -7)
4.6

13 km
64 km (40 mi) to the SE North Pacific Ocean, 37 km southwest of Tecoman, Colima, Mexico 8 reportsMore
Sep 19, 2022 19:30 GMT
Sep 19, 2022 02:30 pm (Mexico City)
5.3

6 km
89 km (55 mi) to the SE North Pacific Ocean, Michoacan, 52 km south of Tecoman, Colima, Mexico 22 reportsMore
Jun 30, 2018 03:56 GMT
Jun 29, 2018 10:56 pm (Mexico City)
5.5

10 km
68 km (42 mi) to the W North Pacific Ocean, 29 km west of Melaque, Jalisco, Mexico 70 reportsMore
Feb 9, 2018 14:05 GMT
Feb 9, 2018 08:05 am (Mexico City)
5.5

26 km
24 km (15 mi) to the W North Pacific Ocean, 24 km west of Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico 37 reportsMore
Oct 23, 2016 22:59 GMT
Oct 23, 2016 05:59 pm (Mexico City)
5.5

10 km
28 km (18 mi) to the W North Pacific Ocean, 28 km west of Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico 24 reportsMore
Sep 2, 2015 20:25 GMT
Sep 2, 2015 02:25 pm (Mexico City)
4.7

89 km
49 km (30 mi) to the E 7.4 km north of Tecoman, Colima, Mexico 3 reportsMore
Nov 27, 2014 12:31 GMT
Nov 27, 2014 05:31 am (GMT -7)
5.0

29 km
93 km (58 mi) to the S North Pacific Ocean, 79 km southwest of Tecoman, Colima, Mexico 1 reportMore
Jan 22, 2003 02:06 GMT
Jan 21, 2003 08:06 pm (Mexico City)
7.6

24 km
46 km (29 mi) to the SE North Pacific Ocean, 29 km southwest of Tecoman, Colima, Mexico More
Oct 9, 1995 15:35 GMT
Oct 9, 1995 10:35 am (Mexico City)
8.0

33 km
16 km (9.9 mi) to the SE 16 km southeast of Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico More
Jun 22, 1932 12:59 GMT
Jun 22, 1932 07:59 am (Mexico City)
7.7

25 km
31 km (19 mi) to the NE Jalisco, 31 km northeast of Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico More
Jun 18, 1932 10:12 GMT
Jun 18, 1932 05:12 am (Mexico City)
7.8

15 km
57 km (35 mi) to the NE 25 km northwest of Ciudad de Villa de Alvarez, Colima, Mexico More
Jun 3, 1932 10:36 GMT
Jun 3, 1932 05:36 am (Mexico City)
8.1

15 km
95 km (59 mi) to the NE 1 km northwest of Jiquilpan, Jalisco, Mexico More

Map of largest quakes in or near Manzanillo, Colima, Mexico

[smaller] [bigger]
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

On this page:

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 297 465 123 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings