Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Poros volcano

Updated: Oct 4, 2022 06:12 GMT -
Fissure vent 80 m / 262 ft
Saronic Gulf, Greece, 37.48°N / 23.43°E
Current status: (probably) extinct (0 out of 5)

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: unspecified
Poros volcano eruptions: None during the past 10,000 years
Less than 2.58 million years ago (Pleistocene)

Latest nearby earthquakes

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Wednesday, September 21, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Sep 21, 2022 10:10 am (GMT +3) (Sep 21, 2022 07:10 GMT)
1.6

19 km
8.1 km (5 mi)
Aegean Sea, 70 km south of Athens, Nomarchia Athinas, Attica, Greece
Sep 21, 2022 7:37 am (GMT +3) (Sep 21, 2022 04:37 GMT)
1.6

16 km
26 km (16 mi)
Peloponnese, 34 km southwest of Nisi Agkistri Island, Attica, Greece
Sep 21, 2022 3:47 am (GMT +3) (Sep 21, 2022 00:47 GMT)
1.5

15 km
12 km (7.5 mi)
Peloponnese, 31 km south of Nisi Agkistri Island, Attica, Greece
Tuesday, September 20, 2022 GMT (2 quakes)
Sep 20, 2022 8:58 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 20, 2022 17:58 GMT)
1.7

22 km
14 km (8.7 mi)
Aegean Sea, 75 km southwest of Athens, Nomarchia Athinas, Attica, Greece
Sep 20, 2022 2:50 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 20, 2022 11:50 GMT)
2.0

16 km
22 km (14 mi)
Aegean Sea, 58 km southwest of Athens, Nomarchia Athinas, Attica, Greece

Background

Poros consists of a small Pliocene to Pleistocene lava volcano erupted from fissures (IAVCEI, Keller 1982).
---
Smithsonian / GVP volcano information

Poros Photos




See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8 | NASA FIRMS
The island Poros ("Sphairia") is the former volcano. (c) Tobias Schorr
The island Poros ("Sphairia") is the former volcano. (c) Tobias Schorr
The sea between Peloponnese and Poros island. (c) Tobias Schorr
The sea between Peloponnese and Poros island. (c) Tobias Schorr
A fishing boat at Poros. (c) Tobias Schorr
A fishing boat at Poros. (c) Tobias Schorr
News

No news in this list.

Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings