Gunung Putri volcano

Lava dome 1538 m / 5046 ft
Indonesia, -7.14°S / 108.08°E
Current status: (probably) extinct (0 out of 5)

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: unspecified
Gunung Putri volcano eruptions: None during the past 10,000 years
Less than few million years ago (Pleistocene)

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Tuesday, December 7, 2021 11:38 GMT (3 earthquakes)
Dec 7, 2021 6:38 pm (GMT +7) (Dec 7, 2021 11:38 GMT)
2.6

15 km
41 km (25 mi)
10.5 km southwest of Paseh, West Java, Indonesia
Dec 7, 2021 6:32 pm (GMT +7) (Dec 7, 2021 11:32 GMT)
2.5

10 km
52 km (32 mi)
23 km southwest of Paseh, West Java, Indonesia
Dec 7, 2021 6:18 pm (GMT +7) (Dec 7, 2021 11:18 GMT)
2.9

10 km
53 km (33 mi)
23 km south of Banjaran, West Java, Indonesia
Saturday, December 4, 2021 07:00 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 4, 2021 2:00 pm (GMT +7) (Dec 4, 2021 07:00 GMT)
2.8

10 km
55 km (34 mi)
24 km south of Banjaran, West Java, Indonesia
Wednesday, December 1, 2021 00:10 GMT (1 earthquake)
Dec 1, 2021 7:10 am (GMT +7) (Dec 1, 2021 00:10 GMT)
3.0

10 km
46 km (29 mi)
19 km southwest of Paseh, West Java, Indonesia

Background

Gunung Putri is a peak in an area of eroded Quaternary volcanoes at the northern end of a chain extending north from Galunggung. The Kawah Karaha fumarole field about 1.4 km N of the summit covers an area of 250 x 80 m and contains a sulfur deposit. The Catalog of Active Volcanoes of the World (Neumann van Padang, 1951) reported an uncertain phreatic eruption in May 1861. Tripp et al. (2002) indicated based on drilling that the Kawah Karaha field is part of a geothermal system originating from an intrusive body below Telaga Bodas (Talagabodas).
---
Source: Smithsonian / GVP volcano information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8 | NASA FIRMS
Show more
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Follow us on facebookFollow us on InstagramFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel