Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 May 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
 
News

No news in this list.

 

Ragang volcano

stratovolcano 2815 m / 9,235 ft
Mindanao, Philippines, 7.7°N / 124.5°E
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)

Ragang is an active stratovolcano 40 km SE of Marawi city, Mindanao Island, Philippines. It is Mindanao's most active volcanoes and belongs to the Central Mindanao Arc. Most of its historic eruptions were small explosive eruptions from the summit crater.
The volcano has a deep summit crater with a prominent 3 km long lava flow extending to the SE.
The last confirmed eruption of Ragang volcano was in 1873.
(Source: GVP volcano information)

[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: explosive
Ragang volcano eruptions: 1916 (?), 1915 (?), 1873, 1871, 1865, 1858, 1856, 1840, 1834, 1765

Last earthquakes nearby

TimeMag. / DepthDistanceLocation
Fri, 27 Nov 2020 (GMT)
27 Nov 7.47 pm (GMT +8) (27 Nov 2020 11:47:00 GMT)
2.1

8 km - More
14 km7.3 km northwest of Wao, Lanao del Sur, Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao, Philippines
27 November 2020 - 07:47 PM (PST) (27 Nov 2020 11:47:00 GMT)
2.6

4 km - More
16 km9.4 km northwest of Wao, Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao, Philippines
Tue, 24 Nov 2020 (GMT)
25 November 2020 - 02:22 AM (PST) (24 Nov 2020 18:22:00 GMT)
2.7

4 km - More
29 km5.6 km northeast of Malinao, Province of Cotabato, Soccsksargen, Philippines


Latest satellite images


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
 

More on VolcanoDiscovery

 
Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.