Look up quakes by region or country

Updated: Dec 7, 2021 09:44 GMT -

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Earthquakes Today: latest quakes in or around the Banda Sea, Indonesia: past 7 days

Updated Dec 7, 2021 09:45 GMT -
During the past 7 days, the Banda Sea region was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 5.2, 9 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 20 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 17 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 5.2 quake Banda Sea, 277 km southwest of Tual, Maluku, Indonesia, Dec 4, 2021 4:25 pm (GMT +9)
Most recent quake: 4.4 quake Banda Sea, 245 km northeast of Delhi, Aveiro, Municipio de Dili, Timor-Leste, Dec 6, 2021 12:02 pm (GMT +9)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (48 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, December 6, 2021 03:02 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Dec 6, 2021 12:02 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 6, 2021 03:02 GMT)
4.4

10 km
Banda Sea, 245 km northeast of Delhi, Aveiro, Municipio de Dili, Timor-Leste
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 6, 2021 10:21 am (GMT +8) (Dec 6, 2021 02:21 GMT)
3.3

170 km
Flores Sea, 36 km north of Labuan Bajo, East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sunday, December 5, 2021 14:03 GMT (9 earthquakes)
Dec 5, 2021 11:03 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 5, 2021 14:03 GMT)
3.0

10 km
Ceram Sea, 124 km northeast of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 5:29 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 5, 2021 09:29 GMT)
3.5

10 km
34 km west of Poso, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 2:59 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 5, 2021 05:59 GMT)
2.5

14 km
102 km northeast of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 1:51 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 5, 2021 05:51 GMT)
3.7

64 km
Savu Sea, 98 km northwest of Kefamenanu, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 2:19 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 5, 2021 05:19 GMT)
3.9

10 km
68 km east of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 2:09 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 5, 2021 05:09 GMT)
3.3

40 km
Seram, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 10:59 am (GMT +8) (Dec 5, 2021 02:59 GMT)
3.1

10 km
35 km west of Poso, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 9:42 am (GMT +8) (Dec 5, 2021 01:42 GMT)
3.1

10 km
25 km west of Poso, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 9:33 am (GMT +8) (Dec 5, 2021 01:33 GMT)
2.8

10 km
56 km north of Palu, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia MoreMap
Saturday, December 4, 2021 19:12 GMT (16 earthquakes)
Dec 5, 2021 3:12 am (GMT +8) (Dec 4, 2021 19:12 GMT)
1.9

119 km
25 km north of Ruteng, Kabupaten Manggarai, East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia MoreMap
Dec 5, 2021 3:11 am (GMT +8) (Dec 4, 2021 19:11 GMT)
2.2

14 km
35 km west of Poso, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 11:33 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 4, 2021 15:33 GMT)
2.5

10 km
30 km west of Poso, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 10:21 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 4, 2021 14:21 GMT)
3.5

10 km
37 km west of Poso, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 10:32 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 4, 2021 13:32 GMT)
3.2

10 km
37 km northwest of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 10:22 pm (GMT +9) (Dec 4, 2021 13:22 GMT)
3.3

15 km
40 km northwest of Amahai, Maluku, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 7:06 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 4, 2021 11:06 GMT)
2.6

27 km
67 km southeast of Palu, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 7:06 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 4, 2021 11:06 GMT)
2.5

10 km
33 km west of Poso, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 5:15 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 4, 2021 09:15 GMT)
2.8

10 km
Gulf of Tomini, 69 km northeast of Poso, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia MoreMap
Dec 4, 2021 3:32 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 4, 2021 07:32 GMT)
3.1

22 km
Flores Sea, 76 km north of Maumere, East Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5.7 x 1012 joules (1.59 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1365 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
to
Look up quakes!

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.