Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near the North Sea in the past 7 days - list, stats and map

Updated: Dec 4, 2022 19:47 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 7 days:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 23 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 7 days, the North Sea had 4 quakes of magnitude 2.0 or above. There were also 23 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Strongest quake: Mag. 2.3 | 17 km E of Fulda, Kassel, Hesse, Germany -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near the North Sea (updated )

Past 24 hoursno confirmed quakes
Past 7 days25 quakes4 quakes M2+
Past 30 days62 quakes14 quakes M2+
Past 90 days167 quakes38 quakes M2+1 quake M3+
Past 365 days513 quakes115 quakes M2+6 quakes M3+1 quake M4+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Hide 2 unconfirmed quakes
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (29 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, December 4, 2022 GMT (3 quakes)
Dec 4, 2022 7:02 pm (GMT +0) (Dec 4, 2022 19:02 GMT)
?

n/a
Near Coventry, England, United Kingdom (preliminary) Early Alert!
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Dec 4, 2022 4:36 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 4, 2022 15:36 GMT)
0.9

3 km
The Netherlands More
Dec 4, 2022 8:31 am (GMT +1) (Dec 4, 2022 07:31 GMT)
0.6

3 km
The Netherlands More
Saturday, December 3, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Dec 3, 2022 11:47 am (GMT +1) (Dec 3, 2022 10:47 GMT)
1.6

12 km
Germany: Breitungen (Thüringen, DE) More
Friday, December 2, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Dec 2, 2022 4:16 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 15:16 GMT)
1.7
Norway: SKAGERRAK More
Dec 2, 2022 1:03 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 12:03 GMT)
1.9

3 km
Germany: Bergneustadt (Nordrhein-Westfalen, DE) More
Dec 2, 2022 12:17 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 11:17 GMT)
2.2

3 km
Germany: Naumburg (Hessen, DE) 1 reportMore
Dec 2, 2022 9:59 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 08:59 GMT)
1.8
HARDANGER NORWAY More
Dec 2, 2022 9:49 am (GMT +1) (Dec 2, 2022 08:49 GMT)
2.1

2 km
Germany: Brilon (Nordrhein-Westfalen, DE) More
Thursday, December 1, 2022 GMT (5 quakes)
Dec 1, 2022 4:44 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 1, 2022 15:44 GMT)
1.6
TELEMARK-BUSKERUD NORWAY More
Dec 1, 2022 3:14 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 1, 2022 14:14 GMT)
1.9
OPPLAND-HEDMARK NORWAY More
Dec 1, 2022 2:09 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 1, 2022 13:09 GMT)
1.6
SOGN-MOERE REGION NORWAY More
Dec 1, 2022 1:31 pm (GMT +1) (Dec 1, 2022 12:31 GMT)
1.1
OSLO REGION NORWAY More
Dec 1, 2022 11:01 am (GMT +1) (Dec 1, 2022 10:01 GMT)
1.8

8 km
Germany: Hofbieber (Hessen, DE) More
Wednesday, November 30, 2022 GMT (7 quakes)
Nov 30, 2022 10:42 pm (GMT +0) (Nov 30, 2022 22:42 GMT)
?

n/a
Near Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom (unconfirmed)
I FELT IT - 3 reports
More
Nov 30, 2022 5:39 pm (GMT +1) (Nov 30, 2022 16:39 GMT)
1.1
OPPLAND-HEDMARK NORWAY More
Nov 30, 2022 3:47 pm (GMT +1) (Nov 30, 2022 14:47 GMT)
1.5
AGDER NORWAY More
Nov 30, 2022 1:11 pm (GMT +1) (Nov 30, 2022 12:11 GMT)
1.6
TELEMARK-BUSKERUD NORWAY More
Nov 30, 2022 1:08 pm (GMT +1) (Nov 30, 2022 12:08 GMT)
1.4
OSLO REGION NORWAY More
Nov 30, 2022 11:38 am (GMT +1) (Nov 30, 2022 10:38 GMT)
2.3

5 km
Germany: Gersfeld (Hessen, DE) 1 reportMore
Nov 30, 2022 11:06 am (GMT +1) (Nov 30, 2022 10:06 GMT)
1.7

4 km
Germany: Aßlar (Hessen, DE) More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 9.1 x 108 joules (253 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.217 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Eskdalemuir Array, site EKR10, Scotland (EKR10/IM network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Eskdalemuir Array, site EKR10, Scotland: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

North Sea Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in or near the North Sea?

The last earthquake in or near the North Sea occurred 4 hours ago: Minor mag. 0.9 earthquake - The Netherlands on Sunday, Dec 4, 2022 at 4:36 pm (GMT +1).

How many quakes were there in or near the North Sea past week?

In the past 7 days, North Sea had 29 quakes up to magnitude 2.3.

What was the strongest quake in or near the North Sea past week?

The strongest earthquake in or near the North Sea past week occurred 4 days ago: Weak mag. 2.3 earthquake - 17 km east of Fulda, Kassel, Hesse, Germany, on Wednesday, Nov 30, 2022 at 11:38 am (GMT +1).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings