Look up quakes by region or country

Type place name, city, region or country to look up earthquakes:

Search!

Latest earthquakes in or near Sumatera Barat, Indonesia, past 30 days

Updated 15 Apr 2021 04:16 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Sumatera Barat was shaken by 7 quakes of magnitude 4.0 or above, 22 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 9 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 4.5 quake Indian Ocean, 146 km southwest of Padang, Sumatera Barat, Indonesia, 27 Mar 2021 5:18 pm (GMT +7)
Biggest quake today: 3.6 quake 52 km southeast of Padangsidempuan, North Sumatra, Indonesia, 14 April 2021 15:00 GMT
Most recent quake: 3.5 quake 52 km southeast of Padangsidempuan, North Sumatra, Indonesia, 14 April 2021 18:44 GMT
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (38 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Wed, 14 Apr 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
14 Apr 2021 18:44:03 GMT
3.5

10 km
(43 km)52 km southeast of Padangsidempuan, North Sumatra, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
14 Apr 2021 15:00:14 GMT
3.6

10 km
(44 km)52 km southeast of Padangsidempuan, North Sumatra, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
14 Apr 2021 06:18:00 GMT
3.6

10 km
(42 km)49 km southeast of Padangsidempuan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Tue, 13 Apr 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
13 Apr 2021 14:01:31 GMT
3.4

10 km
(113 km)Indian Ocean, 104 km west of Pariaman, Sumatera Barat, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
13 Apr 2021 11:14:33 GMT
3.2

36 km
(141 km)Indian Ocean, 66 km east of Nias Island, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
13 Apr 5:16 pm (GMT +7) (13 Apr 2021 10:16:17 GMT)
3.8

177 km
(61 km)78 km east of Sungai Penuh, Jambi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
13 Apr 2021 07:55:58 GMT
2.8

73 km
(44 km)Bengkulu, 92 km southeast of Sungai Penuh, Jambi, Indonesia MoreMap
Mon, 12 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
12 Apr 2021 08:43:42 GMT
3.4

60 km
(57 km)Bengkulu, 91 km south of Sungai Penuh, Jambi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sun, 11 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
11 Apr 1:52 pm (GMT +7) (11 Apr 2021 06:52:52 GMT)
4.0

21 km
(202 km)Indian Ocean, 80 km south of Nias Island, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
11 Apr 8:27 am (GMT +7) (11 Apr 2021 01:27:31 GMT)
3.9

12 km
(110 km)Indian Ocean, 79 km northwest of Bengkulu, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sat, 10 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
10 Apr 7:04 am (GMT +7) (10 Apr 2021 00:04:57 GMT)
4.4

35 km
(65 km)Indian Ocean, 84 km south of Sungai Penuh, Jambi, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Fri, 9 Apr 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
9 Apr 10:18 pm (GMT +7) (9 Apr 2021 15:18:52 GMT)
2.9

27 km
(110 km)Indian Ocean, 114 km southwest of Padangsidempuan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
9 Apr 9:56 pm (GMT +7) (9 Apr 2021 14:56:46 GMT)
3.3

10 km
Sorikmarapi (24 km)63 km southeast of Padangsidempuan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
9 Apr 8:23 pm (GMT +7) (9 Apr 2021 13:23:52 GMT)
2.5

14 km
Sorikmarapi (20 km)64 km southeast of Padangsidempuan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
9 Apr 2021 3:06 pm (GMT +7) (9 Apr 2021 08:06:06 GMT)
2.9

10 km
Sorikmarapi (19 km)66 km southeast of Padangsidempuan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
Thu, 8 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
9 Apr 2021 3:57 am (GMT +7) (8 Apr 2021 20:57:19 GMT)
3.7

22 km
Sorikmarapi (120 km)Indian Ocean, 143 km southwest of Padangsidempuan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Wed, 7 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
7 Apr 2021 10:50 pm (GMT +7) (7 Apr 2021 15:50:18 GMT)
4.1

10 km
Sorikmarapi (124 km)Indian Ocean, 125 km southwest of Padangsidempuan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
7 Apr 2021 7:26 pm (GMT +7) (7 Apr 2021 12:26:24 GMT)
3.0

10 km
Sorikmarapi (48 km)Sumatera Barat, 124 km south of Padangsidempuan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
Tue, 6 Apr 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
7 Apr 2021 12:05 am (GMT +7) (6 Apr 2021 17:05:24 GMT)
3.4

10 km
Talakmau (11 km)58 km northwest of Bukittinggi, Sumatera Barat, Indonesia MoreMap
6 Apr 2021 11:57:24 GMT
3.3

37 km
Sorikmarapi (80 km)Indian Ocean, 123 km south of Padangsidempuan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
6 Apr 2021 3:47 pm (GMT +7) (6 Apr 2021 08:47:20 GMT)
2.8

10 km
(48 km)Indian Ocean, 21 km southwest of Padang, Sumatera Barat, Indonesia MoreMap
Sun, 4 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
5 Apr 2021 1:00 am (GMT +7) (4 Apr 2021 18:00:58 GMT)
3.6

150 km
(59 km)Jambi, 138 km north of Bengkulu, Indonesia MoreMap
Sat, 3 Apr 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Apr 2021 12:36 pm (GMT +7) (3 Apr 2021 05:36:27 GMT)
4.3

38 km
(81 km)Indian Ocean, 65 km south of Sibolga, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
Fri, 2 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
3 Apr 2021 1:29 am (GMT +7) (2 Apr 2021 18:29:02 GMT)
3.2

49 km
(72 km)Indian Ocean, 66 km southwest of Sungai Penuh, Jambi, Indonesia MoreMap
2 Apr 2021 10:07 am (GMT +7) (2 Apr 2021 03:07:35 GMT)
3.2

29 km
(112 km)Indian Ocean, 75 km west of Bengkulu, Indonesia MoreMap
Thu, 1 Apr 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
1 Apr 2021 8:11 pm (GMT +7) (1 Apr 2021 13:11:38 GMT)
3.9

10 km
(145 km)Indian Ocean, 45 km east of Nias Island, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
1 Apr 2021 11:24 am (GMT +7) (1 Apr 2021 04:24:16 GMT)
3.8

29 km
(122 km)Indian Ocean, 94 km west of Pariaman, Sumatera Barat, Indonesia MoreMap
Wed, 31 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
1 Apr 2021 2:15 am (GMT +7) (31 Mar 2021 19:15:44 GMT)
3.6

33 km
(103 km)Indian Ocean, 72 km west of Padang, Sumatera Barat, Indonesia MoreMap
Sun, 28 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Mar 2021 19:35:19 GMT
4.1

75 km
(51 km)Indian Ocean, 53 km south of Padang, Sumatera Barat, Indonesia MoreMap
Sat, 27 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
28 Mar 2021 12:57 am (GMT +7) (27 Mar 2021 17:57:26 GMT)
2.7

25 km
(106 km)Indian Ocean, 67 km west of Bengkulu, Indonesia MoreMap
28 Mar 2021 12:19 am (GMT +7) (27 Mar 2021 17:19:37 GMT)
2.1

77 km
(30 km)70 km south of Sungai Penuh, Jambi, Indonesia MoreMap
27 Mar 2021 5:18 pm (GMT +7) (27 Mar 2021 10:18:06 GMT)
4.5

16 km
(171 km)Indian Ocean, 146 km southwest of Padang, Sumatera Barat, Indonesia MoreMap
Thu, 25 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
26 Mar 2021 4:48 am (GMT +7) (25 Mar 2021 21:48:33 GMT)
2.9

24 km
(72 km)Indian Ocean, 70 km west of Sungai Penuh, Jambi, Indonesia MoreMap
25 Mar 2021 10:00 pm (GMT +7) (25 Mar 2021 15:00:05 GMT)
3.0

10 km
(59 km)Indian Ocean, 25 km southwest of Padang, Sumatera Barat, Indonesia MoreMap
Tue, 23 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
23 Mar 2021 4:13 pm (GMT +7) (23 Mar 2021 09:13:07 GMT)
3.7

164 km
Sorikmarapi (57 km)85 km southeast of Padangsidempuan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
Sun, 21 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
21 Mar 2021 7:17 pm (GMT +7) (21 Mar 2021 12:17:19 GMT)
4.0

181 km
Sorikmarapi (55 km)64 km southeast of Padangsidempuan, Sumatera Utara, Indonesia MoreMap
Fri, 19 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
20 Mar 2021 6:57 am (GMT +7) (19 Mar 2021 23:57:59 GMT)
3.5

10 km
(166 km)Indian Ocean, 139 km west of Padang, Sumatera Barat, Indonesia MoreMap
19 Mar 2021 8:40 am (GMT +7) (19 Mar 2021 01:40:37 GMT)
2.3

10 km
Talakmau (18 km)67 km northwest of Bukittinggi, Sumatera Barat, Indonesia MoreMap
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.4 x 1012 joules (397 megawatt hours, equivalent to 342 tons of TNT) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Fran├žais | Deutsch
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel