Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Qinghai, China, in the past 30 days - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 28, 2022 00:33 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
There were 19 quakes of magnitude 4.0+ in or near Qinghai in the past 30 days.

Latest quake: Mag. 4.1 | 111 km NE of Chamdo, Tibet, China -

Strongest quake: Mag. 4.9 | 135 km N of Xining, Qinghai, China -

Recent quakes above magnitude 2.0 in or near Qinghai, China (updated )

Past 24 hoursno confirmed quakes
Past 30 days19 quakes | 0 quakes M2+ | 0 quakes M3+ | 19 quakes M4+
Past 90 days27 quakes | 0 quakes M2+ | 0 quakes M3+ | 24 quakes M4+ | 3 quakes M5+
Past 365 days318 quakes | 185 quakes M2+ | 10 quakes M3+ | 106 quakes M4+ | 16 quakes M5+ | 1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Qinghai, China | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (19 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Monday, September 12, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Sep 12, 2022 9:20 pm (GMT +8) (Sep 12, 2022 13:20 GMT)
4.9

10 km
135 km north of Xining, Qinghai, China More
Saturday, September 10, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Sep 10, 2022 10:01 am (GMT +8) (Sep 10, 2022 02:01 GMT)
4.2

10 km
127 km north of Xining, Qinghai, China More
Monday, September 5, 2022 GMT (15 quakes)
2022-09-05 12:30:07 IST (Sep 5, 2022 07:00 GMT)
4.3

40 km
Xizang, China More
2022-09-05 12:30:07 IST (Sep 5, 2022 07:00 GMT)
4.3

40 km
Xizang, China More
2022-09-05 12:30:07 IST (Sep 5, 2022 07:00 GMT)
4.3

40 km
Xizang, China More
2022-09-05 12:30:07 IST (Sep 5, 2022 07:00 GMT)
4.3

40 km
Xizang, China More
Sep 5, 2022 3:00 pm (GMT +8) (Sep 5, 2022 07:00 GMT)
4.0

10 km
101 km northeast of Nagqu Prefecture, Tibet, China More
2022-09-05 11:08:14 IST (Sep 5, 2022 05:38 GMT)
4.5

40 km
Xizang, China More
2022-09-05 11:08:14 IST (Sep 5, 2022 05:38 GMT)
4.5

40 km
Xizang, China More
2022-09-05 11:08:14 IST (Sep 5, 2022 05:38 GMT)
4.5

40 km
Xizang, China More
2022-09-05 11:08:14 IST (Sep 5, 2022 05:38 GMT)
4.5

40 km
Xizang, China More
Sep 5, 2022 1:38 pm (GMT +8) (Sep 5, 2022 05:38 GMT)
4.6

10 km
83 km northeast of Nagqu Prefecture, Tibet, China More
Sep 5, 2022 8:48 am (GMT +8) (Sep 5, 2022 00:48 GMT)
4.0

200 km
Tibet, China More
2022-09-05 06:18:52 IST (Sep 5, 2022 00:48 GMT)
4.0

200 km
China More
2022-09-05 06:18:52 IST (Sep 5, 2022 00:48 GMT)
4.0

200 km
China More
2022-09-05 06:18:52 IST (Sep 5, 2022 00:48 GMT)
4.0

200 km
China More
2022-09-05 06:18:52 IST (Sep 5, 2022 00:48 GMT)
4.0

200 km
China More
Wednesday, August 31, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Aug 31, 2022 1:58 pm (GMT +8) (Aug 31, 2022 05:58 GMT)
4.5

10 km
72 km southeast of Wuwei, Gansu, China More
Tuesday, September 20, 2022 GMT (1 quake)
Sep 20, 2022 6:23 pm (GMT +8) (Sep 20, 2022 10:23 GMT)
4.1

10 km
111 km northeast of Chamdo, Tibet, China More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 5 x 1012 joules (1.39 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1193 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Kakani, Nepal (KKN/NK network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Kakani, Nepal: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Qinghai Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Qinghai?

The last earthquake in Qinghai occurred 8 days ago: Moderate mag. 4.1 earthquake - 111 km northeast of Chamdo, Tibet, China, on Tuesday, Sep 20, 2022 at 6:23 pm (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in Qinghai past month?

In the past 30 days, Qinghai, China had 19 quakes up to magnitude 4.9.

What was the strongest quake in Qinghai past month?

The strongest earthquake in Qinghai past month occurred 2 weeks ago: Moderate mag. 4.9 earthquake - 135 km north of Xining, Qinghai, China, on Monday, Sep 12, 2022 at 9:20 pm (GMT +8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings