Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Qinghai, China, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Aug 6, 2022 06:59 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 11 quakes above magnitude 7
  • 40 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 331 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
Since 1900, Qinghai has had 11 quakes of magnitude 7.0 or above, 40 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, and 331 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 5.3 | Qinghai, 125 km SW of Zhangye, Gansu, China -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.9 | 103 km W of Laojunmiao, Gansu, China -

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Qinghai, China | Worldwide

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 5 or higher (382 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Aug 15, 2022 4:30 pm (GMT +8) (Aug 15, 2022 08:30 GMT)
5.3

10 km
721 km (448 mi)Qinghai, 125 km southwest of Zhangye, Gansu, China More
Aug 15, 2022 5:10 am (GMT +8) (Aug 14, 2022 21:10 GMT)
5.0

10 km
286 km (178 mi)Qinghai, China More
Aug 14, 2022 4:20 pm (GMT +8) (Aug 14, 2022 08:20 GMT)
5.5

10 km
317 km (197 mi)200 km north of Nagqu Prefecture, Tibet, China More
Jun 10, 2022 1:28 am (GMT +8) (Jun 9, 2022 17:28 GMT)
5.9

16 km
859 km (534 mi)281 km northwest of Chengdu, Sichuan, China 3 reportsMore
Jun 10, 2022 12:03 am (GMT +8) (Jun 9, 2022 16:03 GMT)
5.6

9.5 km
855 km (531 mi)281 km northwest of Chengdu, Sichuan, China 3 reportsMore
Apr 15, 2022 9:26 am (GMT +8) (Apr 15, 2022 01:26 GMT)
5.5

13 km
574 km (357 mi)Qinghai, 151 km south of Laojunmiao, Gansu, China More
Mar 26, 2022 2:50 am (GMT +8) (Mar 25, 2022 18:50 GMT)
5.0

10 km
581 km (361 mi)Qinghai, 145 km south of Laojunmiao, Gansu, China More
Mar 26, 2022 12:28 am (GMT +8) (Mar 25, 2022 16:28 GMT)
5.0

10 km
580 km (360 mi)Qinghai, 147 km south of Laojunmiao, Gansu, China More
Mar 26, 2022 12:21 am (GMT +8) (Mar 25, 2022 16:21 GMT)
5.7

10 km
579 km (360 mi)Qinghai, 148 km south of Laojunmiao, Gansu, China More
Mar 17, 2022 8:26 am (GMT +8) (Mar 17, 2022 00:26 GMT)
5.1

10 km
620 km (385 mi)Qinghai, 98 km south of Laojunmiao, Gansu, China More
Jan 23, 2022 10:21 am (GMT +8) (Jan 23, 2022 02:21 GMT)
5.6

10 km
584 km (363 mi)152 Km S of Laojunmiao, China More
Jan 12, 2022 9:01 pm (GMT +8) (Jan 12, 2022 13:01 GMT)
5.0

10 km
898 km (558 mi)101 Km WSW of Wuwei, China More
Jan 12, 2022 6:20 pm (GMT +8) (Jan 12, 2022 10:20 GMT)
5.3

10 km
889 km (552 mi)110 Km WSW of Wuwei, China More
Jan 8, 2022 2:09 am (GMT +8) (Jan 7, 2022 18:09 GMT)
5.1

10 km
865 km (537 mi)135 km northwest of Xining, Qinghai, China More
Jan 8, 2022 1:45 am (GMT +8) (Jan 7, 2022 17:45 GMT)
6.6

13 km
880 km (547 mi)139 km north of Xining, Qinghai, China 1 reportMore
Dec 30, 2021 5:30 am (GMT +8) (Dec 29, 2021 21:30 GMT)
5.0

10 km
295 km (183 mi)Northern Qinghai, China More
Dec 19, 2021 7:54 am (GMT +8) (Dec 18, 2021 23:54 GMT)
5.5

10 km
352 km (219 mi)Northern Qinghai, China More
Aug 26, 2021 7:38 am (GMT +8) (Aug 25, 2021 23:38 GMT)
5.6

10 km
475 km (295 mi)Qinghai, 220 km southwest of Laojunmiao, Gansu, China 2 reportsMore
Aug 13, 2021 12:21 pm (GMT +8) (Aug 13, 2021 04:21 GMT)
5.5

10 km
540 km (336 mi)Qinghai, China More
8 Jul 9:23 pm (GMT +8) (Jul 8, 2021 13:23 GMT)
5.0

10 km
590 km (367 mi)Qinghai, China More
16 Jun 4:48 pm (GMT +8) (Jun 16, 2021 08:48 GMT)
5.5

10 km
319 km (198 mi)Qinghai, China More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.8 x 1017 joules (49117 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 4.2 x 107 tons of TNT or 2641.3 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Kakani, Nepal (KKN/NK network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Kakani, Nepal: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Qinghai Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Qinghai?

The last earthquake in Qinghai occurred 6 weeks ago: Strong mag. 5.3 earthquake - Qinghai, 125 km southwest of Zhangye, Gansu, China, on Monday, Aug 15, 2022 at 4:30 pm (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in Qinghai since 1900?

Since 1900, Qinghai, China had 382 quakes up to magnitude 7.9.

What was the strongest quake in Qinghai since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Qinghai since 1900 occurred 90 years ago: Major magnitude 7.9 earthquake - 103 km west of Laojunmiao, Gansu, China, on Sunday, December 25, 1932 at 02:04 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings