Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Pulau Petojetsabu Island, Sumatra Barat, Indonesia, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 8, 2022 18:38 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 8
  • 3 quakes between magnitude 7 and 8
  • 45 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 389 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
Since 1900, Pulau Petojetsabu has had 1 quake of magnitude 8.4, 3 quakes between 7.0 and 8.0, 45 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, and 389 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 5.1 | Indian Ocean, 211 km W of Benkulu, Bengkulu, Indonesia -

Strongest quake: Mag. 8.4 | 122 km SW of Benkulu, Bengkulu, Indonesia -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
8.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
8.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 5 or higher (438 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Nov 24, 2022 9:11 am (GMT +7) (Nov 24, 2022 02:11 GMT)
5.1

10 km
256 km (159 mi)Indian Ocean, 211 km west of Benkulu, Bengkulu, Indonesia
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Nov 11, 2022 6:39 pm (GMT +7) (Nov 11, 2022 11:39 GMT)
5.0

10 km
202 km (126 mi)Indian Ocean, 192 km west of Benkulu, Bengkulu, Indonesia More
Sep 15, 2022 10:24 pm (GMT +7) (Sep 15, 2022 15:24 GMT)
5.1

25 km
175 km (109 mi)Indian Ocean, 153 km southwest of Padang, Sumatra Barat, Indonesia 1 reportMore
Sep 8, 2022 1:09 am (GMT +7) (Sep 7, 2022 18:09 GMT)
5.6

10 km
118 km (73 mi)Indian Ocean, 121 km northwest of Benkulu, Bengkulu, Indonesia 1 reportMore
Nov 17, 2021 10:30 am (GMT +7) (Nov 17, 2021 03:30 GMT)
5.1

18 km
116 km (72 mi)Indian Ocean, 84 km northwest of Benkulu, Bengkulu, Indonesia More
3 Aug 6:00 am (GMT +7) (Aug 2, 2021 23:00 GMT)
5.3

10 km
190 km (118 mi)Indian Ocean, 239 km west of Benkulu, Bengkulu, Indonesia More
Aug 3, 2021 5:48 am (GMT +7) (Aug 2, 2021 22:48 GMT)
5.9

21 km
196 km (122 mi)Indian Ocean, 248 km west of Benkulu, Bengkulu, Indonesia 2 reportsMore
5 May 8:24 am (GMT +7) (May 5, 2021 01:24 GMT)
5.8

34 km
171 km (106 mi)136 km southwest of Padang, Sumatra Barat, Indonesia 5 reportsMore
3 May 12:46 am (GMT +7) (May 2, 2021 17:46 GMT)
5.7

34 km
127 km (79 mi)Indian Ocean, 183 km southwest of Padang, Sumatra Barat, Indonesia 1 reportMore
Mar 8, 2021 7:56 pm (GMT +7) (Mar 8, 2021 12:56 GMT)
5.2

35 km
203 km (126 mi)Indian Ocean, 155 km southwest of Benkulu, Bengkulu, Indonesia 1 reportMore
Mar 5, 2021 2:32 pm (GMT +7) (Mar 5, 2021 07:32 GMT)
5.7

36 km
194 km (121 mi)165 km southwest of Padang, Sumatra Barat, Indonesia 5 reportsMore
Nov 18, 2020 11:42 am (GMT +7) (Nov 18, 2020 04:42 GMT)
5.3

55 km
107 km (66 mi)Indian Ocean, 94 km south of Padang, Sumatra Barat, Indonesia 11 reportsMore
Nov 17, 2020 8:44 am (GMT +7) (Nov 17, 2020 01:44 GMT)
5.9

10 km
257 km (160 mi)Indian Ocean, 233 km southwest of Padang, Sumatra Barat, Indonesia 15 reportsMore
21 Oct 9:35 pm (GMT +7) (Oct 21, 2020 14:35 GMT)
5.0

27 km
190 km (118 mi)267 km south of Padang, Sumatra Barat, Indonesia More
Oct 19, 2020 4:42 pm (GMT +7) (Oct 19, 2020 09:42 GMT)
5.3

12 km
194 km (121 mi)260 km south of Padang, Sumatra Barat, Indonesia More
19 Oct 3:14 pm (GMT +7) (Oct 19, 2020 08:14 GMT)
5.1

10 km
169 km (105 mi)267 km south of Padang, Sumatra Barat, Indonesia More
19 Oct 2:47 pm (GMT +7) (Oct 19, 2020 07:47 GMT)
5.5

17 km
178 km (111 mi)265 km south of Padang, Sumatra Barat, Indonesia More
19 Oct 2:31 pm (GMT +7) (Oct 19, 2020 07:31 GMT)
5.6

13 km
181 km (112 mi)268 km south of Padang, Sumatra Barat, Indonesia More
19 Oct 5:48 am (GMT +7) (Oct 18, 2020 22:48 GMT)
5.0

21 km
188 km (117 mi)266 km south of Padang, Sumatra Barat, Indonesia More
18 Oct 12:55 am (GMT +7) (Oct 17, 2020 17:55 GMT)
5.3

20 km
191 km (119 mi)262 km south of Padang, Sumatra Barat, Indonesia More
Oct 17, 2020 7:36 am (GMT +7) (Oct 17, 2020 00:36 GMT)
5.2

10 km
175 km (109 mi)261 km south of Padang, Sumatra Barat, Indonesia More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.2 x 1017 joules (88761 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 7.6 x 107 tons of TNT or 4773.2 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Ubin (UBIN/MS network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Ubin: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Pulau Petojetsabu Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Pulau Petojetsabu?

The last earthquake in Pulau Petojetsabu occurred 3 days ago: Strong mag. 5.1 earthquake - Indian Ocean, 211 km west of Benkulu, Bengkulu, Indonesia, on Thursday, Nov 24, 2022 at 9:11 am (GMT +7).

How many quakes were there in Pulau Petojetsabu since 1900?

Since 1900, Pulau Petojetsabu Island, Sumatra Barat, Indonesia had 438 quakes up to magnitude 8.4.

What was the strongest quake in Pulau Petojetsabu since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Pulau Petojetsabu since 1900 occurred 15 years ago: Major magnitude 8.4 earthquake - 122 km southwest of Benkulu, Bengkulu, Indonesia, on Wednesday, September 12, 2007 at 11:10 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings