Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Osa, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica, in the past 24 hours on Tuesday, September 27, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated: Sep 27, 2022 18:21 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 3 quakes above magnitude 3
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
In the past 24 hours, Osa had 3 quakes of magnitude 3.0 or above and 5 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.8 | North Pacific Ocean, 69 km SW of San Isidro, Costa Rica -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 3.5 | Provincia de Puntarenas, 41 km S of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Osa, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica (updated )

Past 24 hours8 quakes | 5 quakes M2+ | 3 quakes M3+
Past 7 days36 quakes | 25 quakes M2+ | 10 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 30 days167 quakes | 97 quakes M2+ | 65 quakes M3+ | 4 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 90 days433 quakes | 237 quakes M2+ | 181 quakes M3+ | 12 quakes M4+ | 1 quake M5+
Past 365 days1,503 quakes | 656 quakes M2+ | 758 quakes M3+ | 76 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

Quakes in or near Osa, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica | Worldwide

...Read more
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (8 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tuesday, September 27, 2022 GMT (8 quakes)
Sep 27, 2022 9:13 am (GMT -6) (Sep 27, 2022 15:13 GMT)
2.8

22 km
North Pacific Ocean, 69 km southwest of San Isidro, Costa Rica More
Sep 27, 2022 6:29 am (GMT -6) (Sep 27, 2022 12:29 GMT)
2.6

5 km
Provincia de Guanacaste, 37 km north of Puntarenas, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Sep 27, 2022 5:19 am (GMT -6) (Sep 27, 2022 11:19 GMT)
2.4

42 km
Provincia de Puntarenas, 44 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica More
Sep 27, 2022 4:23 am (GMT -6) (Sep 27, 2022 10:23 GMT)
3.5

39 km
Provincia de Puntarenas, 41 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Sep 27, 2022 4:23 am (GMT -6) (Sep 27, 2022 10:23 GMT)
3.2

26 km
38 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Sep 27, 2022 2:39 am (GMT -6) (Sep 27, 2022 08:39 GMT)
2.7

12 km
9.7 km south of Golfito, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica More
Sep 27, 2022 12:32 am (GMT -6) (Sep 27, 2022 06:32 GMT)
3.0

28 km
North Pacific Ocean, 82 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica
I FELT IT
More
Sep 26, 2022 8:37 pm (GMT -6) (Sep 27, 2022 02:37 GMT)
2.8

23 km
North Pacific Ocean, 68 km southwest of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.1 x 1010 joules (5.74 megawatt hours, equivalent to 4.94 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Heredia, Costa Rica (HDC/G network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Heredia, Costa Rica: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Osa Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Osa?

The last earthquake in Osa occurred 3 hours ago: Weak mag. 2.8 earthquake - North Pacific Ocean, 69 km southwest of San Isidro, Costa Rica, on Tuesday, Sep 27, 2022 at 9:13 am (GMT -6).

How many quakes were there in Osa today?

In the past 24 hours, Osa, Provincia de Puntarenas, Costa Rica had 8 quakes up to magnitude 3.5.

What was the strongest quake in Osa today?

The strongest earthquake in Osa today occurred 8 hours ago: Weak mag. 3.5 earthquake - Provincia de Puntarenas, 41 km south of San Jose, San José, Costa Rica, on Tuesday, Sep 27, 2022 at 4:23 am (GMT -6).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings