Help Ukraine

Largest earthquakes in or near Oraş Vlãhiţa, Harghita, Romania, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated never
Felt a quake? Report it!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 4 quakes above magnitude 7
  • 1 quake between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 27 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 318 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
Since 1900, Oraş Vlãhiţa has had 4 quakes of magnitude 7.0 or above, 1 quake of magnitude 6.3, 27 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, and 318 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 4.1 | 58 km NW of Buzau, Municipiul Buzău, Romania -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.8 | 12 km W of Nereju, Vrancea, Romania -

Quakes in nearby regions

Bacău | Bistriţa-Năsăud | Braşov | Buzău | Comuna Acăţari | Comuna Agăş | Comuna Aita Mare | Comuna Albeşti | Comuna Alma | Comuna Aluniş | ...Show all... | Sibiu | Vrancea
...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Filter by age:
all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 4 or higher (350 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
May 11, 2022 6:46 pm (GMT +3) (May 11, 2022 15:46 GMT)
4.1

143 km
789 km (490 mi)58 km northwest of Buzau, Municipiul Buzău, Romania 2 reportsMoreMap
Mar 14, 2022 9:32 am (GMT +2) (Mar 14, 2022 07:32 GMT)
4.3

100 km
804 km (500 mi)49 km west of Focsani, Municipiul Focşani, Vrancea, Romania MoreMap
Mar 14, 2022 12:31 am (GMT +2) (Mar 13, 2022 22:31 GMT)
4.2

103 km
808 km (502 mi)36 km west of Focsani, Municipiul Focşani, Vrancea, Romania 1 reportMoreMap
Jan 16, 2022 3:43 pm (GMT +2) (Jan 16, 2022 13:43 GMT)
4.3

141 km
797 km (495 mi)Buzău, 141 km north of Bucharest, Municipiul Bucureşti, București, Romania 3 reportsMoreMap
Jan 8, 2022 1:02 am (GMT +2) (Jan 7, 2022 23:02 GMT)
4.0

121 km
787 km (489 mi)53 km northwest of Buzau, Municipiul Buzău, Romania MoreMap
Nov 30, 2021 6:20 pm (GMT +2) (Nov 30, 2021 16:20 GMT)
4.1

124 km
796 km (495 mi)37 km west of Focsani, Municipiul Focşani, Vrancea, Romania 2 reportsMoreMap
Sep 10, 2021 8:31 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 10, 2021 17:31 GMT)
4.1

137 km
791 km (492 mi)52 km northwest of Buzau, Municipiul Buzău, Romania MoreMap
Sep 1, 2021 1:32 pm (GMT +3) (Sep 1, 2021 10:32 GMT)
4.2

138 km
814 km (506 mi)68 km northwest of Buzau, Municipiul Buzău, Romania 8 reportsMoreMap
Aug 11, 2021 12:31 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 11, 2021 09:31 GMT)
4.2

142 km
785 km (488 mi)56 km northwest of Buzau, Municipiul Buzău, Romania 1 reportMoreMap
1 Aug 8:57 pm (GMT +3) (Aug 1, 2021 17:57 GMT)
4.1

8 km
915 km (569 mi)30 km northwest of Vaslui, Romania 8 reportsMoreMap
12 Jul 3:09 am (GMT +3) (Jul 12, 2021 00:09 GMT)
4.1

106 km
795 km (494 mi)52 km northwest of Buzau, Municipiul Buzău, Romania MoreMap
26 May 12:30 am (GMT +3) (May 25, 2021 21:30 GMT)
4.4

124 km
794 km (493 mi)55 km northwest of Buzau, Municipiul Buzău, Romania 86 reportsMoreMap
9 Apr 9:36 pm (GMT +3) (Apr 9, 2021 18:36 GMT)
4.4

66 km
814 km (506 mi)42 km northwest of Focsani, Municipiul Focşani, Vrancea, Romania 41 reportsMoreMap
Mar 7, 2021 11:52 am (GMT +2) (Mar 7, 2021 09:52 GMT)
4.1

145 km
798 km (496 mi)62 km northwest of Buzau, Municipiul Buzău, Romania 1 reportMoreMap
Feb 27, 2021 11:13 pm (GMT +2) (Feb 27, 2021 21:13 GMT)
4.1

133 km
796 km (495 mi)54 km northwest of Buzau, Municipiul Buzău, Romania 1 reportMoreMap
30 Oct 12:39 am (GMT +2) (Oct 29, 2020 22:39 GMT)
4.4

10 km
914 km (568 mi)42 km south of Iaşi, Zona Metropolitană Iași, Județul Iași, Romania 86 reportsMoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.9 x 1016 joules (13687 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1.2 x 107 tons of TNT or 736 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Oraş Vlãhiţa Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Oraş Vlãhiţa?

The last earthquake in Oraş Vlãhiţa occurred 8 days ago: Light mag. 4.1 earthquake - 58 km northwest of Buzau, Municipiul Buzău, Romania, on Wednesday, May 11, 2022 at 6:46 pm (GMT +3).

How many quakes were there in Oraş Vlãhiţa since 1900?

Since 1900, Oraş Vlãhiţa, Harghita, Romania had 350 quakes up to magnitude 7.8.

What was the strongest quake in Oraş Vlãhiţa since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Oraş Vlãhiţa since 1900 occurred 82 years ago: Major magnitude 7.8 earthquake - 12 km west of Nereju, Vrancea, Romania, on Sunday, Nov 10, 1940 at 1:39 am (GMT +0).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.