Latest quakes in or near Stratford District, Taranaki, New Zealand, in the past 24 hours on Monday, August 15, 2022 - list, stats and map

Updated Aug 15, 2022 00:14 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 2 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 17 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
In the past 24 hours, Stratford District was shaken by 1 quake of magnitude 4.0, 2 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 6 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 17 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
A moderate magnitude 4.0 earthquake occurred in Hawke's Bay, New Zealand, 10 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 2.7 | 14 km E of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.0 | 66 km SW of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Stratford District, Taranaki, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours:23 quakes | 6 quakes M2+ | 2 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 7 days:185 quakes | 77 quakes M2+ | 8 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 30 days:657 quakes | 286 quakes M2+ | 26 quakes M3+ | 1 quake M4+
Past 90 days:1,835 quakes | 815 quakes M2+ | 84 quakes M3+ | 5 quakes M4+
Past 365 days:6,517 quakes | 2,818 quakes M2+ | 295 quakes M3+ | 16 quakes M4+ | 4 quakes M5+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (26 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Sunday, August 14, 2022 GMT (26 quakes)
Aug 15, 2022 11:43 am (GMT +12) (Aug 14, 2022 23:43 GMT)
2.7

172 km
14 km east of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 11:17 am (GMT +12) (Aug 14, 2022 23:17 GMT)
1.7

24 km
Hawke's Bay, 64 km northeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 11:07 am (GMT +12) (Aug 14, 2022 23:07 GMT)
3.0

14 km
81 km north of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 9:59 am (GMT +12) (Aug 14, 2022 21:59 GMT)
2.5

24 km
69 km southwest of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 9:04 am (GMT +12) (Aug 14, 2022 21:04 GMT)
1.6

7.6 km
15 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 6:04 am (GMT +12) (Aug 14, 2022 18:04 GMT)
1.0

16 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 6:00 am (GMT +12) (Aug 14, 2022 18:00 GMT)
0.8

10.7 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 5:41 am (GMT +12) (Aug 14, 2022 17:41 GMT)
1.6

5.4 km
19 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 4:14 am (GMT +12) (Aug 14, 2022 16:14 GMT)
1.1

16 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 3:36 am (GMT +12) (Aug 14, 2022 15:36 GMT)
0.8

13 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 3:35 am (GMT +12) (Aug 14, 2022 15:35 GMT)
1.7

5.6 km
15 km south of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 2:55 am (GMT +12) (Aug 14, 2022 14:55 GMT)
1.0

17 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 2:49 am (GMT +12) (Aug 14, 2022 14:49 GMT)
1.5

5 km
North Island, 18 km south of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 1:47 am (GMT +12) (Aug 14, 2022 13:47 GMT)
4.0

5.5 km
66 km southwest of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Aug 15, 2022 1:19 am (GMT +12) (Aug 14, 2022 13:19 GMT)
1.9

25 km
65 km east of New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 14, 2022 11:05 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 14, 2022 11:05 GMT)
2.1

90 km
16 km west of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 14, 2022 9:10 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 14, 2022 09:10 GMT)
1.7

19 km
80 km north of Whanganui, Wanganui District, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 14, 2022 8:32 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 14, 2022 08:32 GMT)
1.8

5 km
North Island, 19 km southwest of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 14, 2022 8:26 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 14, 2022 08:26 GMT)
1.6

112 km
28 km west of Taupo, Waikato, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 14, 2022 7:38 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 14, 2022 07:38 GMT)
2.0

145 km
25 km north of Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand MoreMap
Aug 14, 2022 7:25 pm (GMT +12) (Aug 14, 2022 07:25 GMT)
0.9

16 km
New Zealand MoreMap
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 6.9 x 1010 joules (19.2 megawatt hours, equivalent to 16.5 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
Look up quakes!

Stratford District Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Stratford District?

The last earthquake in Stratford District occurred 31 minutes ago: Minor mag. 2.7 earthquake - 14 km east of Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand, on Monday, Aug 15, 2022 at 11:43 am (GMT +12).

How many quakes were there in Stratford District today?

In the past 24 hours, Stratford District, Taranaki, New Zealand had 26 quakes up to magnitude 4.0.

What was the strongest quake in Stratford District today?

The strongest earthquake in Stratford District today occurred 10 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.0 earthquake - 66 km southwest of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand, on Monday, Aug 15, 2022 at 1:47 am (GMT +12).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings