Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Largest earthquakes in or near Fuyun County, Xinjiang, China, on record since 1900 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jan 9, 2023 02:51 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes since 1900:

  • 2 quakes above magnitude 7
  • 2 quakes between magnitude 6 and 7
  • 6 quakes between magnitude 5 and 6
  • 80 quakes between magnitude 4 and 5
  • 69 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 1 quake below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
Since 1900, Fuyun County has had 2 quakes of magnitude 7.0 or above, 2 quakes between 6.0 and 7.0, 6 quakes between 5.0 and 6.0, 80 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 69 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 5 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. See all quakes in the past 24 hours!

Latest quake: Mag. 3.7 | 211 km N of Urumaci, Xinjiang, China -

Strongest quake: Mag. 7.9 | 177 km SE of yaltay, Xinjiang, China -

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Filter by age:

all
1y
3y
5y
10y
30y
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
6.0+
7.0+
Showing quakes since 1900, magnitude 1.9 or higher (165 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Dec 25, 2022 2:49 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 25, 2022 06:49 GMT)
3.7

10 km
304 km (189 mi)211 km north of Urumaci, Xinjiang, China More
Dec 16, 2022 2:07 am (GMT +7) (Dec 15, 2022 19:07 GMT)
2.2

10 km
555 km (345 mi)Bayan-Ölgiy Aymag, Mongolia, 89 km northeast of Kürti, China More
Dec 16, 2022 2:07 am (GMT +7) (Dec 15, 2022 19:07 GMT)
4.1

10 km
441 km (274 mi)157 km south of Khovd, Jargalant, Hovd, Mongolia More
Dec 13, 2022 7:37 pm (GMT +8) (Dec 13, 2022 11:37 GMT)
4.0

10 km
529 km (329 mi)34 km southwest of yaltay, Xinjiang, China More
Dec 11, 2022 3:37 am (GMT +8) (Dec 10, 2022 19:37 GMT)
4.6

10 km
555 km (345 mi)12 km east of yaltay, Xinjiang, China More
Dec 10, 2022 11:31 am (GMT +8) (Dec 10, 2022 03:31 GMT)
2.9

10 km
536 km (333 mi)26 km southwest of yaltay, Xinjiang, China More
Dec 8, 2022 6:51 am (GMT +8) (Dec 7, 2022 22:51 GMT)
4.3

10 km
555 km (345 mi)12 km east of yaltay, Xinjiang, China More
Dec 7, 2022 8:49 am (GMT +7) (Dec 7, 2022 01:49 GMT)
4.5

10 km
442 km (275 mi)164 km south of Khovd, Jargalant, Hovd, Mongolia More
Dec 3, 2022 1:25 am (GMT +8) (Dec 2, 2022 17:25 GMT)
3.4

10 km
451 km (280 mi)47 km southwest of Kürti, Altay Diqu, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 24, 2022 11:16 am (GMT +8) (Nov 24, 2022 03:16 GMT)
4.4

10 km
615 km (382 mi)70 km northwest of yaltay, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 21, 2022 3:02 pm (GMT +8) (Nov 21, 2022 07:02 GMT)
4.2

10 km
394 km (245 mi)14 km northeast of Qahurt, Altay Diqu, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 20, 2022 6:32 am (GMT +8) (Nov 19, 2022 22:32 GMT)
4.2

10 km
568 km (353 mi)11 km northwest of yaltay, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 19, 2022 5:22 pm (GMT +7) (Nov 19, 2022 10:22 GMT)
4.1

10 km
608 km (378 mi)80 km southwest of Ölgii, Ulgii, Bayan-Ölgiy Aymag, Mongolia More
Nov 18, 2022 4:17 am (GMT +7) (Nov 17, 2022 21:17 GMT)
3.8

10 km
598 km (372 mi)82 km south of Ölgii, Ulgii, Bayan-Ölgiy Aymag, Mongolia More
Nov 17, 2022 11:37 pm (GMT +7) (Nov 17, 2022 16:37 GMT)
3.9

10 km
360 km (224 mi)Hovd, Mongolia, 209 km southeast of Kürti, Altay Diqu, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 15, 2022 3:28 pm (GMT +8) (Nov 15, 2022 07:28 GMT)
4.1

10 km
497 km (309 mi)75 km southeast of yaltay, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 7, 2022 6:48 am (GMT +7) (Nov 6, 2022 23:48 GMT)
4.2

10 km
595 km (370 mi)71 km northeast of yaltay, Xinjiang, China More
Nov 6, 2022 6:22 am (GMT +8) (Nov 5, 2022 22:22 GMT)
3.4

10 km
470 km (292 mi)88 km south of yaltay, Xinjiang, China 1 reportMore
Nov 4, 2022 1:01 am (GMT +8) (Nov 3, 2022 17:01 GMT)
4.3

10 km
448 km (278 mi)30 km south of Kürti, Altay Diqu, Xinjiang, China More
Oct 24, 2022 4:26 pm (GMT +8) (Oct 24, 2022 08:26 GMT)
3.5

10 km
304 km (189 mi)211 km north of Urumaci, Xinjiang, China More
Oct 18, 2022 1:45 pm (GMT +8) (Oct 18, 2022 05:45 GMT)
3.5

10 km
309 km (192 mi)204 km north of Urumaci, Xinjiang, China More
Show more
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 4.8 x 1016 joules (13346 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 1.1 x 107 tons of TNT or 717.7 atomic bombs!) | about seismic energy

Latest seismic signals

Seismic station: Makanchi, Kazakhstan (MAKZ/IU network) | Show on map | Station Info
Seismic station Makanchi, Kazakhstan: seismogram of vertical movement last 60 minutes (source: IRIS/BUD)
Seismogram (vertical component) last 60 minutes. Source: IRIS query builder webtool
Show more

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Fuyun County Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Fuyun County?

The last earthquake in Fuyun County occurred 5 weeks ago: Light mag. 3.7 earthquake - 211 km north of Urumaci, Xinjiang, China, on Sunday, Dec 25, 2022 at 2:49 pm (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in Fuyun County since 1900?

Since 1900, Fuyun County, Xinjiang, China had 165 quakes up to magnitude 7.9.

What was the strongest quake in Fuyun County since 1900?

The strongest earthquake in Fuyun County since 1900 occurred 92 years ago: Major magnitude 7.9 earthquake - 177 km southeast of yaltay, Xinjiang, China, on Monday, August 10, 1931 at 21:18 GMT.

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings